VPP - Variable Pitch Prop 4D flying Discuss VPP - Variable Pitch Prop 4D flying in this forum

New V-pitch prop from Great Planes...

Reply
Old 02-07-2006, 10:13 AM
  #1
ibcleeby
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Iowa City, IA
Posts: 6
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default New V-pitch prop from Great Planes...

Maybe this is old news, but I couldn't find any discussion on it. Great Planes is coming out with a variable pitch system based on it's Rimfire brushless motor:

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...5&I=LXLXB1&P=K

I stumbled across this by accident, but it caught my eye because I'm curious about variable pitch flying. What you you think? It appears to be able to handle larger planes than most of the current systems out there.
----------------------------------------------------------

Great Planes Variable Pitch Prop w/Rimfire 22M-1000 BL for small high performance flat foam airplanes up to 12 ounces (340g)including all ElectriFly FlatOuts.

FEATURES: Revolutionary variable pitch prop system allows pilot to go beyond
hovering and torque rolls. Apply reverse-thrust for slow
downlines, direction-changing aerobatic maneuvers and floor dives
Advanced push-pull design for nearly instantaneous throttle response-
virtually no prop spool-up or spool-down time
Constructed of highly durable steel, aluminum and ABS materials
Aluminum motor case, stainless steel motor shaft
Twin prop blades constructed of fiber reinforced nylon, symmetrical
airfoils
Rotor factory installed onto motor
Magnet motor wires with a maximum 320° F (160°C) temperature rating
Neodymium rare earth motor magnets for high output torque, one of the
_ highest temperature ratings in R/C at 302° F (150°C) which won't
break down like lower quality magnets

REQUIRES: Electronic Speed Control: 12A minimum continuous current rating,
governor function HIGHLY recommended. ElectriFly BL-12VP Brushless
ESC (GPMM2075) perfectly matched for this system
Extra proportional channel on radio
Servo with at least 17 oz-in torque for pitch control
Mounting of blades and linkage adjustments

SPECS: Variable Pitch Prop;
Mechanical Design: push-pull system
Blades (2): symmetrical design, fiber-reinforced nylon
Rotor Materials: ABS plastic and aluminum
Control Rod Material: Steel
Control Rod Dimensions: 0.04" x 6.02" (1mm x 153mm)
Ball Bearings: Five, shielded

ibcleeby is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 11:22 AM
  #2
WGRoper
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cartersville, GA
Posts: 101
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New V-pitch prop from Great Planes...

Well the price is right. It's hard to tell from the pic, but it looks good. I just ordered the PPS-4D and a Yak-54 from OMP. I've got a GP Reflection that I might try the GP unit on as soon as it's available.
WGRoper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 01:20 PM
  #3
Mato
 
Mato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Buenos Aires, ARGENTINA
Posts: 204
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New V-pitch prop from Great Planes...

Hi, here is a direct link to the Great Plane site.



http://www.electrifly.com/miscproducts/gpmg4501.html
Mato is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 03:08 PM
  #4
scoth
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Ottawa, ON, CANADA
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New V-pitch prop from Great Planes...

I have one of these systems on order, has anyone installed this system on a 'flatout' yet? I have a reflection, but I'm slapping together a turmoil for this system. If someone here has done this allready, I'd like some advice before I glue together the fuse.

Thanks!
scoth is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 10:10 PM
  #5
scoth
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Ottawa, ON, CANADA
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New V-pitch prop from Great Planes...

found a pdf file on the great planes site: it has step by step instructions on installing the system. Looks very complete. I'll have the plane together in the next couple of days, I hope the equipment gets here soon!

Next question: Has anyone tried to use this without a heli radio? I'm going to try using it with my 6exa. I plan on connecting the speed controler (throttle) to my flap switch; leaving my throttle for pitch. Does anyone know of a reason this can't work?!? I'll simply set the throttle once, and fly on pitch for the duration of the flight.

scoth is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2006, 10:03 PM
  #6
alenys
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New V-pitch prop from Great Planes...

Hi Scoth,

the reason you cannot use on throttle setting is when you reduce pitch and get close to zero (mid stick) the RPM's will be too high causing damage. This can be very dangerous I strongly suggest you do not set the throttle to a fixed position. In my experience 50-25 percent throttle seems to be adequate @ zero pitch.

Please see the new Mamo-Models system this is the best system available soon through Horizon Hobby.

http://www.horizonhobby.com/Search/D...erm=mao&CatId=

Angelo.
alenys is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 04:17 AM
  #7
scoth
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Ottawa, ON, CANADA
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New V-pitch prop from Great Planes...

Thanks for the reply, alenys;

I see. Wait a sec, no I don't!

I'm sure you're correct, but I don't understand why. Why is it dangerous to run a brushless motor at full throttle with no load? What damage will occur? I already have the Great Planes Rimfire motor and VPP system on a plane, and will probably fly it tomorrow for the first time. I ran it a bit today, and it seemed happy spinning at full throttle. If this won't work, I'll have to consider purchasing a heli radio; (not a big stretch, as I've been contemplating it for a few months).
scoth is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 04:56 PM
  #8
scoth
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Ottawa, ON, CANADA
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New V-pitch prop from Great Planes...

at second thought, a better question might be, what rpm should I govern the rimfire motor at? I can't seem to find this info. I'm going to try and govern it using the pheonix 25 speed controler.
scoth is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 11:16 PM
  #9
frogdude
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: gasville, AR
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New V-pitch prop from Great Planes...

Anyone care to guess what it would take to run 2 vprops for a twin motor set up ? [>:] also I cant seem to find the prop size so from tip to tip how long is it ?
frogdude is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2006, 07:29 PM
  #10
scoth
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Ottawa, ON, CANADA
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New V-pitch prop from Great Planes...

two extra servos on the airframe. it would be easier if you could mount 1 motor in line with the other (one pushing, one pulling) then you could accompish this with only one servo, of cours, this rules out most models... You would of course need two speed controls. The great planes vpitch system includes blades that end up being 10 inches tip to tip, once installed. The blades themselves are about 4 1/4 inches.
scoth is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2007, 04:07 PM
  #11
jaybird11
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: pinellas park, FL
Posts: 54
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New V-pitch prop from Great Planes...

I have one on my turmoil.first the reason you need a heli radio is you want to mix the thro with say flaps and put the servo for the v pitch on that .now with flap on the mid of thro is 0 as you go up the moter goes up as so does the pitch more thro more pitch ,comeback to mid now as you bring the thro down engine speeds up and pitch in opt direction goes up.only need that one to -60 or -70 %on pitch.you dont want to try changing the prop dirc at full speed on no foamy I think 35% is ideal to keep you flying.without the thro to change the speed you really cant do much see as the thro and prop change together you canhover ect stop the plane back up etc. my spectrum is the trick i can fly with 40 other spectrums at one time and not get hit or1,000 on 72 cant beat it if your going to buy one go 2.4 ,buy a up to date one the others will be out dated soon.jaybird
jaybird11 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 02:35 AM
  #12
Flyn Bryn
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Diego , CA
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New V-pitch prop from Great Planes...

J-bird. I know it's been a few months since you replied on this blog, but I'm in some need of knowledge with the setup of my V-pitch on my DX7 Spectrum. I have not found a straight forward example of this and if you get this would you be willing to email or reply additional helpful info on this setup?

Appreciate any help bro.

Bryan

flyn_bryn@sbcglobal.net
Flyn Bryn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 12:37 PM
  #13
smh20502
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 195
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New V-pitch prop from Great Planes...

I'm going to put a vp on my Extra 260 with a DX 7. any help would be great. step by step wold be great since I don't completely understand mixing yet.
smh20502 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 10:39 AM
  #14
Flyn Bryn
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Diego , CA
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New V-pitch prop from Great Planes...

Did you get any help or find any good refferences for this setup yet?

I'm in the same boat too, as I have a GP V-Pitch with a DX7 TX.

Let me know if you get any help and would be willing to share! I need to get it figured out too! I started with using Airplane mode for the programming, but I'm now thinking that I need to use Heli mode for the Throttle/Pitch mix programming as I can't find it in Airplane mode on the DX7.

Any help, let's stick together!

Flyn_Bryn![X(]
Flyn Bryn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 01:13 AM
  #15
hellblastervolly
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 231
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New V-pitch prop from Great Planes...

Hi Flyn_Bryn.

You need heli mode to fly in V-Pitch, check your radio manual and look if it can be us for heli and follow it but I think the DX7 come in two choices ( Air or Heli ) now if you have th DX7 DSM you are in luck, this one can do both. I had this sistem on my RCU Bipe.

Fernando
hellblastervolly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 01:28 AM
  #16
flyboy_87
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Long Beach, MS
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New V-pitch prop from Great Planes...

I bought an E-flite Cap 232 from this guy and it has the EF V-pitch prop system on it and im waiting on a battery to be able to fly it.but i need a battery and I dont know what size Lipo to get. can anyone help me out? thanks
flyboy_87 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 11:46 PM
  #17
hellblastervolly
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 231
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New V-pitch prop from Great Planes...

What motor?

Fernando
hellblastervolly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 11:40 PM
  #18
flyboy_87
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Long Beach, MS
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New V-pitch prop from Great Planes...

its the motor that comes with the electrifly vp system. its a rimfire brushless motor.
flyboy_87 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 10:19 PM
  #19
hellblastervolly
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 231
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New V-pitch prop from Great Planes...

Yes, I have the same. The motor is to small fo the Cap. But for the motor you can use a 3 cell lipo from a 700 to 900 with enogh time to enjoy some 4D.

Fernando
hellblastervolly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 10:54 PM
  #20
flyboy_87
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Long Beach, MS
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New V-pitch prop from Great Planes...

I didnt think it was big enough to power the plane myself but he had it on there so i figured it might work
flyboy_87 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 11:56 AM
  #21
hellblastervolly
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 231
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New V-pitch prop from Great Planes...

He may just wanted to get rid of the motor and sold it or gave it away with the plane.

Fernando
hellblastervolly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 07:25 PM
  #22
flyboy_87
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Long Beach, MS
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New V-pitch prop from Great Planes...

yeah...but have you heard of anyone putting a vpp on an e-flite enticement? my local hobby shop is selling them for 40 dollars right now and i was thinking of buying one and put that motor on it.
flyboy_87 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:30 AM.