Notices
Walkera Helis - Dragonfly, etc.. Discuss Walkera Dragonfly Helis and any Walkera products in this forum

My 22E diary

Old 07-18-2007, 05:56 PM
rabfan

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My 22E diary

Like many new scale pilots I bought a 22E hoping it would allow me a cheap introduction to the hobby. Once it arrived I charged up the battery and got to work. I went slowly to try and get a feel for the machine and the controls. Things were going ok on ground runs although I felt the RTF setting seemed a bit wierd. Ground runs of course got boring and I wanted a taste of real airtime!
Well being a halicopter pilot I understand the mechanics and physics behind flying helicopters so I felt pretty confident that I'd pick it up quickly and figure out the handling qualities of this model. After all I am a commercial Helicopter pilot with almost 3000 hours of precision long line time so I figured "I can fly this thing right?" WRONG.....

Even though I took it easy I've since learned that this thing is nothing like a real helicopter as far as response time/quality and of course perspective. The major difference being that I'm used to sitting in the machine and work in an environment where if the helicopter takes off without you in it, things go wrong. Suffice to say things did go wrong.
I was able to slow the inevitable damage process by chopping the throttle whenever things got out of hand. Never the less reaction time has it's limits. With growing confidence I would attempt to bring the 22e into a 2 foot hover. It would begin a spin and drift ever insistently to the left whereupon I would cut the throttle and bring it back to my landing pad. Several blade strikes later and this was the result;

It's actually not as bad as it looks. I broke the tailboom off by trying to bend it back, and the blades are like that because I wanted to see how they were made. Basically only the boom and one blade grip have been damaged. well, and 2 sets of blades........