WildHare R/C Support Disscuss WildHare RC products in this forum. Please note, answers may be provided by Tom Fawcett (owner of WildHare RC) or by the general membership.

Wing Bolt Problem

Reply
Old 08-22-2005, 08:06 PM
  #1
AU flyer
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Trussville, AL
Posts: 128
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Wing Bolt Problem

Yesterday I must have crosstreaded the bolt which holds on the wing on my 28% Edge. When I tried to put the bolt in today, the blindnut was stripped out and would not hold the bolt. At this point I can either replace the blindnut, which does not seem like an easy task, or drill a new hole and thread it for a 1/4" nylon bolt. If I do this I will probably do both wings. I would do a little reinforcing in the area where I drill the new hole.

Does anyone else have any other suggestions.

Thanks
AU flyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2005, 09:45 PM
  #2
Ken Bryant
 
Ken Bryant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 1,385
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wing Bolt Problem

Actually I don't think it would be to hard to replce the blind nut. Just remove a section of the rib and swap the nut then epoxy it back in with a little fiberglass reinforcment. The only thing I would do is swap the blind nuts for a SAE thread instead of metric.
Ken Bryant is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2005, 10:37 PM
  #3
rctom
 
rctom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Flower Mound (near Dallas), TX
Posts: 6,189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wing Bolt Problem

Noooo! Don't cut out the rib.

You can tunnel in from the bottom, just behind the root rib. Cut out about 1/4" x 1/2" of sheeting right under the blind nut, and use a screwdriver or something to dig out the foam. Then you can get to the blind nut and replace it.

To fix it just cover the hole with ultracote. No need to replace the sheeting, there is absolutely no stress in that location because the wing tube is supporting everything a foot farther out.

TF
rctom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 06:26 AM
  #4
Ken Bryant
 
Ken Bryant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 1,385
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wing Bolt Problem

Well, ther you have it a far better idea from the guy that makes these things. Great advise as always Tom!
Ken Bryant is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 03:44 PM
  #5
RCNUTKNOY
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 99
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wing Bolt Problem

If the T nut is still in place securly, you can simply tap the threads out to the next size larger and use a larger diameter socket head screw. This has worked for me for over a year.

Just a thought.

John
RCNUTKNOY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 11:13 PM
  #6
AU flyer
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Trussville, AL
Posts: 128
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wing Bolt Problem

I thought about tapping it out to the next larger size but did not want two different size screws on the two wings. I went ahead and cut it out as Tom suggested and it worked fine. Took about 15 minutes. I had hesitated to do this originally because I hated to start cutting on it...you know, the old first scratch on the new car issue. Anyway, it looks fine now.

Thanks for your comments.
AU flyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 09:25 AM
  #7
tr911
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: LeedsAl.
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wing Bolt Problem

I recently purchased a airplane that one of the blind nuts had fell out of the wing. It was the one used to bolt the wing to the fuselage. So, I took a piece of nylon cord, about 200lb test, and a 1/2" flat washer. I dropped the nylon cord through the hole into the wing where the blind nut is suppose to fit. I fished the cord out through one of the vent holes and placed the blind nut on it with the teeth in the direction they needed to be. I then tied the 1/2' flat washer to my cord. I eased the cord up until the blind nut was snug to the wing panel. I made sure it was lined up with the hole and pulled it just hard enough to get the blind nut to stick into the wood. I then eased the string and washer back out and put the wing bolt in and tightened it up to pull the blind nut into the wood. After that I carefully let some thin ca run down to the blind nut to make sure it did not come loose again. Walla, job done and ready to go.
tr911 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 09:12 PM
  #8
rctom
 
rctom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Flower Mound (near Dallas), TX
Posts: 6,189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wing Bolt Problem

Great idea. When that happens to me I cut a small square of 1/4" lite ply and install a blind nut into it, then I glue it in place while securing it with the wing retainer bolt. Your string idea would have made it a little easier.
rctom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:20 PM.