Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 8 of 8

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Trussville, AL
    Posts
    128
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Wing Bolt Problem

    Yesterday I must have crosstreaded the bolt which holds on the wing on my 28% Edge. When I tried to put the bolt in today, the blindnut was stripped out and would not hold the bolt. At this point I can either replace the blindnut, which does not seem like an easy task, or drill a new hole and thread it for a 1/4" nylon bolt. If I do this I will probably do both wings. I would do a little reinforcing in the area where I drill the new hole.

    Does anyone else have any other suggestions.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Ken Bryant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Surprise, AZ
    Posts
    1,385
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Wing Bolt Problem

    Actually I don't think it would be to hard to replce the blind nut. Just remove a section of the rib and swap the nut then epoxy it back in with a little fiberglass reinforcment. The only thing I would do is swap the blind nuts for a SAE thread instead of metric.
    Ken

  3. #3
    rctom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Flower Mound (near Dallas), TX
    Posts
    6,186
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Wing Bolt Problem

    Noooo! Don't cut out the rib.

    You can tunnel in from the bottom, just behind the root rib. Cut out about 1/4" x 1/2" of sheeting right under the blind nut, and use a screwdriver or something to dig out the foam. Then you can get to the blind nut and replace it.

    To fix it just cover the hole with ultracote. No need to replace the sheeting, there is absolutely no stress in that location because the wing tube is supporting everything a foot farther out.

    TF

  4. #4
    Ken Bryant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Surprise, AZ
    Posts
    1,385
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Wing Bolt Problem

    Well, ther you have it a far better idea from the guy that makes these things. Great advise as always Tom!
    Ken

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    99
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Wing Bolt Problem

    If the T nut is still in place securly, you can simply tap the threads out to the next size larger and use a larger diameter socket head screw. This has worked for me for over a year.

    Just a thought.

    John

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Trussville, AL
    Posts
    128
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Wing Bolt Problem

    I thought about tapping it out to the next larger size but did not want two different size screws on the two wings. I went ahead and cut it out as Tom suggested and it worked fine. Took about 15 minutes. I had hesitated to do this originally because I hated to start cutting on it...you know, the old first scratch on the new car issue. Anyway, it looks fine now.

    Thanks for your comments.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    LeedsAl.
    Posts
    3
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Wing Bolt Problem

    I recently purchased a airplane that one of the blind nuts had fell out of the wing. It was the one used to bolt the wing to the fuselage. So, I took a piece of nylon cord, about 200lb test, and a 1/2" flat washer. I dropped the nylon cord through the hole into the wing where the blind nut is suppose to fit. I fished the cord out through one of the vent holes and placed the blind nut on it with the teeth in the direction they needed to be. I then tied the 1/2' flat washer to my cord. I eased the cord up until the blind nut was snug to the wing panel. I made sure it was lined up with the hole and pulled it just hard enough to get the blind nut to stick into the wood. I then eased the string and washer back out and put the wing bolt in and tightened it up to pull the blind nut into the wood. After that I carefully let some thin ca run down to the blind nut to make sure it did not come loose again. Walla, job done and ready to go.

  8. #8
    rctom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Flower Mound (near Dallas), TX
    Posts
    6,186
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Wing Bolt Problem

    Great idea. When that happens to me I cut a small square of 1/4" lite ply and install a blind nut into it, then I glue it in place while securing it with the wing retainer bolt. Your string idea would have made it a little easier.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:44 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.