WildHare R/C Support Disscuss WildHare RC products in this forum. Please note, answers may be provided by Tom Fawcett (owner of WildHare RC) or by the general membership.

WH Edge 73"

Reply
Old 10-30-2005, 01:45 PM
  #1
car147
Thread Starter
 
car147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Aviemore, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 113
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default WH Edge 73"

Thinking of going for a Saito 180, any issues with using one? (Would really like to keep it F/S if poss)

Also what servo's would be recommended for 3D etc.... i usually use Hitecs 5945's on aileron/Elev and JR8611 on rudder on the 30%, whats the ideal combo on this aircraft?

Hope Pro-build still have them in stock[]
car147 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2005, 02:17 PM
  #2
ben beyer
 
ben beyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bryan TX
Posts: 2,372
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WH Edge 73"

Those servos should be plenty. I have 5625MG's on elevator and aileron and a 5945MG on rudder. I'm running mine on 6V to. If you want to keep it four stroke, the Saito 180 will do. However, you could put a small gasser in it to. Another F/S option is a YS 140 or 160. Check out the build thread. I beleive it's called "1.20 Edge Reveiw, The Beginnings."
ben beyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2005, 02:22 PM
  #3
rctom
 
rctom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Flower Mound (near Dallas), TX
Posts: 6,189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WH Edge 73"

What you mentioned will work well. I wish there was a lower cost servo choice, it's overkill to use 5945s and 8611s, but there's no savings to use a quality servo with less torque so you might as well just go for it with the good ones.

TF
rctom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2005, 03:03 PM
  #4
car147
Thread Starter
 
car147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Aviemore, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 113
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WH Edge 73"

Cheer's guys.
car147 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2005, 03:24 PM
  #5
car147
Thread Starter
 
car147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Aviemore, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 113
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WH Edge 73"

Tom .

I have 5945's on the ailerons of my ultimate, would it be ok to change these out to 5625's on the Ulti ailerons and use the 5945's for the edge?

Just trying to save a few bucks....
car147 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2005, 03:27 PM
  #6
ben beyer
 
ben beyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bryan TX
Posts: 2,372
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WH Edge 73"

Yeah, there's another guy using 5625's on his ailerons for his ultimate. Or you could just use them on the Edge. I ran mine on 4.8V batteries before I decided to use Li-ions.
ben beyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2005, 04:13 PM
  #7
car147
Thread Starter
 
car147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Aviemore, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 113
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WH Edge 73"

Thanks Ben.
car147 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2005, 05:49 PM
  #8
ben beyer
 
ben beyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bryan TX
Posts: 2,372
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WH Edge 73"

No problem. Feel free to contact me with any questions or just post them on here.
ben beyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2005, 07:46 PM
  #9
rctom
 
rctom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Flower Mound (near Dallas), TX
Posts: 6,189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WH Edge 73"

Yes, 5625s would work fine on the Ultimate's ailerons.

TF
rctom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2005, 10:18 AM
  #10
car147
Thread Starter
 
car147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Aviemore, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 113
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WH Edge 73"

whooo Hoooo

Pro-build still had one, now it's on it's way..... plus a Saito180 ...Looking forward to flying this plane.
car147 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2005, 05:35 PM
  #11
morterango469
 
morterango469's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WH Edge 73"

I am running 5625's on ail and elev and a 5645 on the rudder. I am using a 2200mah lipo with a 6v regulator and a saito 1.80 with a slimline 4 stroke pitts muffler. I really don't know how much more power you need beyond a 1.80 it has nearly unlimited vertical at 3/4 throttle, unlimited at full. It will hover at under half throttle and fly around easily at 1/4. Most aerobatics only need about half throttle. This airframe does not need a giant gas engine, if that is what you are wanting to use I would suggest the 28%.
morterango469 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2005, 07:42 PM
  #12
car147
Thread Starter
 
car147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Aviemore, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 113
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WH Edge 73"


Decided on the Saito, all ordered and just waiting on it arriving.


Thanks
car147 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005, 02:39 PM
  #13
grind2tenths
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Walnut Cove, NC
Posts: 102
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WH Edge 73"

I have glanced over some of the threads on this plane and I haven't seen any comments on using a YS 120 ac in one. I trashed my DP ultimate a few weeks back and am in the process of building a wing half and cabanes. I was thinking of scoffing the engine and servos out of it to put in this neat looking plane. Here is what I am thinking of for a set up. YS 120 AC on 30% Pro heli fuel. 16/8 CF prop. CG mounted tank. HS 81 throttle servo. DS 811's on Elev. and Ail. 4721 on rudder. all being powered with a 1650 NMH 6V pack. I am trying to learn the fine art of T-rolling. That's what happened to the Ulty (bounced it off a hanger) The all up weight of the Edge is !!.5 lbs. The ultimate weighed 12.2 empty and woud climb like a homesick angel. Let me know if anyone has tried anything like this. I know everyone has used the OS 160 but I don't have one. Only the YS.
grind2tenths is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005, 02:55 PM
  #14
ben beyer
 
ben beyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bryan TX
Posts: 2,372
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WH Edge 73"

Go for it. The YS should be awesome. For a while I was thinking of getting another one with a small gasser or a YS 140. But the one I have now is paid for so... If you got it, go for it. Might want to try a 17x6 or 18x6 prop though.
ben beyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005, 03:10 PM
  #15
grind2tenths
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Walnut Cove, NC
Posts: 102
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WH Edge 73"

Do you think my servo selection will be ok? I have some 8411's but they are slated fo a 1/3 scale build this winter. I have a 17/6 APC that I was going to try on the Ulty
grind2tenths is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005, 06:14 PM
  #16
ben beyer
 
ben beyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bryan TX
Posts: 2,372
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WH Edge 73"

The recommended torque of servos for the elevators and ailerons is 70 oz/in and 130 oz/in for rudder. So if they have that, use them. I don't know JR servos except for the 8411 and 8611. I like Hitec so I stick with those.
ben beyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005, 08:26 PM
  #17
car147
Thread Starter
 
car147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Aviemore, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 113
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WH Edge 73"

Went for the HS5625mg's on the aileron, elev. and a JR 8611 for the rudder.
car147 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 12:45 PM
  #18
car147
Thread Starter
 
car147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Aviemore, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 113
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WH Edge 73"

Hi

Just to say the Edge arrived today, and this is one nice looking plane, very light and well constructed. gonna love flying this one.
servo's arrived as well , just need the engine now, (Saito 180) seems to be some problem with Macgregor in the Uk getting one to my engine supplier[>:]

Looks like she's gonna be a real floater.... nice job Tom.
car147 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 08:31 PM
  #19
LeVap
 
LeVap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mayflower AR
Posts: 33
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WH Edge 73"

Hi I'm looking for a new airplane for my saito 1.50 and want to know how would that engine perform with
WH Edge or any other 11lbs plane.I want to fly 3D.

LeVap
LeVap is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 09:08 PM
  #20
scottfl78
 
scottfl78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: FORT WORTH, TX
Posts: 1,386
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WH Edge 73"

Quote:
ORIGINAL: LeVap

Hi I'm looking for a new airplane for my saito 1.50 and want to know how would that engine perform with
WH Edge or any other 11lbs plane.I want to fly 3D.

LeVap
Hey LeVap, I see you found the Wildhare forum.. Between Tom, and the 73" Edge threads you ought to get your answer..
scottfl78 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 09:33 PM
  #21
ben beyer
 
ben beyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bryan TX
Posts: 2,372
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WH Edge 73"

It would probably be pretty good as long as you used 30% nitro. Your elevation will also be factor in the equation.
ben beyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2005, 07:47 AM
  #22
rctom
 
rctom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Flower Mound (near Dallas), TX
Posts: 6,189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: WH Edge 73"

I have flown a Saito-1.50 pn a 13lb+ airplane and it did well although it was not a 3d type plane. I have heard the 1.80 is outstanding, I doubt there is much difference with a 1.50. And I was only using 10% fuel, I doubt anything stronger will be needed but it's nice to know you have the option.

TF
rctom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:00 PM.