Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 64 of 75 FirstFirst ... 1454626364656674 ... LastLast
Results 1,576 to 1,600 of 1856

  1. #1576

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    tulsa, OK
    Posts
    773
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New Wild Hare Sukhoi ready to fly

    Your gonna like the way she flys. Mine came in at 26lbs 9 onces with a DA100 on stock pipes and it just seems to float around. Really a fun airplane to fly.

  2. #1577

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Harrisburg, PA
    Posts
    203

    RE: New Wild Hare Sukhoi ready to fly

    Thats lite I used a BME 115 on MTW75h cans and put only what It took to fly and I still can in at 26 1/2 but this does include 6oz of lead
    on the engine box to get the CG just on the front side of the wing tube. They must have used a heavy tree on the one I got or my scale is off. How is the rite way to way a plane. On my smaller ones I just hang them from the prop. But this one I used a string on the formers under the hatch the layed the hatch cross to way it all together.

    The plane is like me just a little over weight.

    Thanks Mike B

  3. #1578
    Dangerous Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    gainesville, TX
    Posts
    1,818
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New Wild Hare Sukhoi ready to fly


    ORIGINAL: mbinkley

    Thats lite I used a BME 115 on MTW75h cans and put only what It took to fly and I still can in at 26 1/2 but this does include 6oz of lead
    on the engine box to get the CG just on the front side of the wing tube. They must have used a heavy tree on the one I got or my scale is off. How is the rite way to way a plane. On my smaller ones I just hang them from the prop. But this one I used a string on the formers under the hatch the layed the hatch cross to way it all together.

    The plane is like me just a little over weight.

    Thanks Mike B
    I place the wing tube into the wings. Then I place a old 2' x 1' peace of ply on the sacle and TARE, then just lay the wing/tube assemply on top. I balence the fuse on its nosecone and get it as stable as possible and read the scale, then add the two together. My wings and tube was 6lbs exactly the fuse was 19lbs 13 oz. TTL 25lb 13oz
    when inverted down=up and up=$$

  4. #1579

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    tulsa, OK
    Posts
    773
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New Wild Hare Sukhoi ready to fly

    My 26lbs 9 was without wheel pants, no pilot figure, a really light Esprit fiberglass spinner and 3 2800 LiIon batteries instead of the 4800's that some are using and no choke servo. That was also with a wood Bunny prop which is a bit liter than with a carbon Prop. It really doesn't matter though -- you will think you are flying a much lighter plane.

  5. #1580
    Dangerous Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    gainesville, TX
    Posts
    1,818
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New Wild Hare Sukhoi ready to fly

    I don't concern myself with weight that much, I build as light as possible then go fly.
    when inverted down=up and up=$$

  6. #1581
    RustyTumbles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Newcastle, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    802
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New Wild Hare Sukhoi ready to fly

    Here's a few pics of the baffle plate before I glass it.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Nl28858.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	49.6 KB 
ID:	777895   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Jf11795.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	51.9 KB 
ID:	777896   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Rw58663.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	44.9 KB 
ID:	777897   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Uo34984.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	48.7 KB 
ID:	777898  

  7. #1582
    RustyTumbles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Newcastle, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    802
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New Wild Hare Sukhoi ready to fly

    Well it been a while since I have posted here. I have finished the baffle install, mounted the canopy and installed the ignition kill unit. I'm currently wait for the DA85 to return from Da as it went in for the prop hub update. I also have a KS95 rear exit canister and header pipe comming. Here are some pics from the last month or so.

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ca81709.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	44.3 KB 
ID:	804216   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Fa84742.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	42.0 KB 
ID:	804217   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ns45799.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	45.7 KB 
ID:	804218   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Zs51546.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	34.2 KB 
ID:	804219   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Wh58657.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	31.7 KB 
ID:	804220  

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Wm85073.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	52.2 KB 
ID:	804221   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Uw43055.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	40.5 KB 
ID:	804222   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ed99860.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	51.3 KB 
ID:	804223   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	On95639.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	60.9 KB 
ID:	804224   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Jv95973.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	53.2 KB 
ID:	804225  


  8. #1583
    texomalaser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    sherman, TX
    Posts
    270
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New Wild Hare Sukhoi ready to fly

    Looks great Rusty...Nice install...
    Wanna try something cool? I did this on mine the other day and it looked awesome..I went to Auto Zone and got some of that glitter spray stuff for cars and put it on my Sukhoi,,It looked really good and stayed on until I wiped it off with windex...

  9. #1584

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Valley Springs, CA
    Posts
    18,602
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New Wild Hare Sukhoi ready to fly

    That's why the original prototype covering looked soooo good. It was all metallic colored covering and looked great.
    Never lie, and never minimize or gloss. Tell it like it is and let the pieces fall where they may. The truth always wins.

  10. #1585
    flatlandmike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    lexington, KY
    Posts
    1,228
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New Wild Hare Sukhoi ready to fly

    Why did Tom go away from the metallic covering; too expensive?
    www.jerseymodeler.com
    Special thanx to The Crew Mike B. Jim Z. Ed J. Jim S.

  11. #1586
    rctom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Flower Mound (near Dallas), TX
    Posts
    6,186
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New Wild Hare Sukhoi ready to fly

    It was hard to get, required longer lead times, was more expensive and I thought it had a kind of washed out look. The plain blue is more vivid and easier to see, the pearl tended to disappear against a blue sky.

    TF

  12. #1587
    flatlandmike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    lexington, KY
    Posts
    1,228
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New Wild Hare Sukhoi ready to fly

    Aww
    www.jerseymodeler.com
    Special thanx to The Crew Mike B. Jim Z. Ed J. Jim S.

  13. #1588
    texomalaser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    sherman, TX
    Posts
    270
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New Wild Hare Sukhoi ready to fly

    LOL...It still dissapears on me Tom..That silver will blend in a cloud in a heartbeat..Thank God for the Bulls. They have saved me a many of times...Hey!!!..Red Bulls really do give you wings....

  14. #1589

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    tulsa, OK
    Posts
    773
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New Wild Hare Sukhoi ready to fly

    The yellow on the cowl keeps things visible for me. I also have my spinner painted Yellow and it is amazing how much harder it is to see the plane if the spinner is off.

  15. #1590

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Hampton, VA
    Posts
    3,270
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New Wild Hare Sukhoi ready to fly

    Can someone show me a pic of where you put your throttle servo.

    I'm having some issues with 2 motors on this plane and I think I may have screwed up the geometry (so far can't find anything else that may be the cause).

    Thanks
    www.hobbiesxtreme.com

  16. #1591

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Valley Springs, CA
    Posts
    18,602
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New Wild Hare Sukhoi ready to fly

    I mounted mine inverted under and attached to the fuel tank floor against the right fuselage side.
    Never lie, and never minimize or gloss. Tell it like it is and let the pieces fall where they may. The truth always wins.

  17. #1592

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    tulsa, OK
    Posts
    773
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New Wild Hare Sukhoi ready to fly

    I mounted mine on the bottom of the engine box - directly in line with the throttle arm on he carb. This has worked perfect so far with maybe 75 flights on the plane. Probably wouldn't work here with a can setup.

  18. #1593
    rctom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Flower Mound (near Dallas), TX
    Posts
    6,186
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New Wild Hare Sukhoi ready to fly

    Here's a photo of the first one that I built.

    BTW I saw your post on that other site, and after reading it I lean towards some proplem involving the plane and the setup, not the engines. The odds that the same thing went wrong with 2 engines at the same time are pretty slim.

    What I suspect is air swirling around in the round cowl, or pressure differences. I am including a photo of a modification that is often done on this type of plane to stop this. I have seen other odd behavior on other round cowl planes with other engines that otherwise run fine.

    TF
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Vt58309.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	151.3 KB 
ID:	806316   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Dy77755.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	151.4 KB 
ID:	806317   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Xi60784.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	142.0 KB 
ID:	806318   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Md51026.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	145.0 KB 
ID:	806319   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Us24283.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	143.9 KB 
ID:	806320  


  19. #1594

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    tulsa, OK
    Posts
    773
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New Wild Hare Sukhoi ready to fly

    Sweatpea. The picture Tom has is exactly how I have mine mounted and it has worked fine. What engine problem are you having. My Sukhoi has the DA 100 on stock pipes and no baffling in the cowl. I do have a Carbon fiber air deflection plate in front of the carb. The last few flights I have had a strange engine cut out problem when on long slow rolls. Only in one point of the roll. Doesn't do it at all on any 3D type moves. My first thought was swirling air in the cowl but also a possible clunk problem. The clunk was fine but the tubing attachment at the brass pipe was loose so I fixed that and will try again today to see if my phantom roll problem still exists. Just seemed strange to me that this problem would show up after 70 flights or so. I would be really interested if others are seening this problem and what the cause/fix might be.

  20. #1595

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Hampton, VA
    Posts
    3,270
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New Wild Hare Sukhoi ready to fly

    I know this isn't common.....but I posted here.....

    http://www.*FG*.com/forums/fg68/2270...gine-help.html (spell out the * words and remove the *)


    Short story.....I have 2 3W106's that are now dying during transition from Idle to mid or Idle to full on this plane

    - Needle settings don't seem to help
    - carbs have been removed and cleaned
    - tank replaced with new fuel line also/ and went from 2 line to 3 line
    - 3 sets of spark plugs
    - tried different fuel
    - cowl on or off
    - different ignitons and hall sensor and ignition battery
    - went from cans to stock mufflers


    What I did different than Tom.......

    I notice that Tom put his servo from tail to nose and that the linkage is even with the carb attachement.

    If you look at mine......I put the servo wing to wing and it sits lower than the carb (since its a 3W). So it had a funky angle. I don't know why I put the servo wing to wing as Every other plane I've always installed like Toms.

    I have now moved the servo. It it laying on its side on the bottom of the motor box and is facing tail to nose. But the downward angle is still there.
    and I still have the problem.

    By installing the way Tom did.......your linkage moves straight back. By installing it the 2 ways I did the linkage will move straight back but the angle will change as the servo arm moves through. I've never really had a servo mounted like this before. I've always cut a hole in the bottom of the motorbox and installed it like Tom

    Do I need to make a mount that will lower the servo to the exact height of the carb so that when the linkage is pulled its a straight line? And has anyone heard of Geometry causing this probelm?

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Wu61190.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	79.9 KB 
ID:	806430  
    www.hobbiesxtreme.com

  21. #1596

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Hampton, VA
    Posts
    3,270
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New Wild Hare Sukhoi ready to fly

    Here are some more photos of the SU-26 installation

    You can see that I mounted the servo over the old hole that was wing to wing. You can also see the angle it creates.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Qo41516.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	211.0 KB 
ID:	806463   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Bw73384.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	110.9 KB 
ID:	806464   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Mr40384.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	85.1 KB 
ID:	806465  
    www.hobbiesxtreme.com

  22. #1597

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Hampton, VA
    Posts
    3,270
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New Wild Hare Sukhoi ready to fly

    Now here is my Edge 540 that I'm moving these engines too, so I can determine if geometry is the issue. This plane has flown for years in this setup which is similar to Tom's but there is still an angle created becuase the carb is lower.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ax72734.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	80.8 KB 
ID:	806466   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Av67715.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	56.4 KB 
ID:	806467  
    www.hobbiesxtreme.com

  23. #1598
    rctom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Flower Mound (near Dallas), TX
    Posts
    6,186
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New Wild Hare Sukhoi ready to fly

    I seriously doubt that linkage geometry has anything to do with it. You have something else wrong, I'd llok at airflow patterns and install that vent line as in my photos.

    Also, on the TOC-53 we sometimes have problems that sound similar when it's installed in a round cowl plane. I have found that reversing the carb and reed block solvethe problem, it seems that air is hitting the entry to that carb at a funny angle and causes it to go rich, reversing the carb changes the orientation of the main jet so fuel tends to stay inside the carb. This may be what's going on with you.

    You could also try a velocity stack.

    TF

  24. #1599

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Valley Springs, CA
    Posts
    18,602
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New Wild Hare Sukhoi ready to fly

    Do the vent line thing. It's very common in round cowl planes with any engine. Not so much standard cowl planes. The 106 has a 90 degree air intake that's availabe. The intake has a nipple sprouting from it that is used to plumb from the carb to the inlet and works quite well in eliminating what you describe. Which is why 3W came out with the optional intake. Works well on uav's too

    Contact Gerhard at Aircraft International for more info on the part and it's installation. It works.
    Never lie, and never minimize or gloss. Tell it like it is and let the pieces fall where they may. The truth always wins.

  25. #1600

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Hampton, VA
    Posts
    3,270
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: New Wild Hare Sukhoi ready to fly

    Thanks guys.....but the problem happened with the cowl on or off.

    I have also tried the vent line back in the fuse......didn't help.


    Never heard of putting the carb on backwards......that is a thought.


    When I put the original motor on the Edge.....after 1 needle tweek it worked just fine. I ripped the motor box back open on the Sukhoi and installed it similar to Tom's.

    I couldn't get the TOC motor to work right.......but for now the original motor is now running fine on the Sukhoi. I just need to reinstall the cowl with some baffles....and double check.



    As for the TOC motor......I noticed some oil near the Reedblock and crankcase but can't tell if its coming from there or the cylinder to crankcase......so maybe its got a slight airleak.

    The original motor isn't leaking any oil and never has. This whole thing has been very strange
    www.hobbiesxtreme.com


Page 64 of 75 FirstFirst ... 1454626364656674 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:26 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.