WildHare R/C Support Disscuss WildHare RC products in this forum. Please note, answers may be provided by Tom Fawcett (owner of WildHare RC) or by the general membership.

50cc Edge V2 has landed

Reply

Old 01-17-2007, 11:39 AM
  #26  
TheFoxes
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Brooklyn Park, MN
Posts: 109
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc Edge V2 has landed

G-62 required 7/8 inch spacing with spring stater. Throttle and choke servos will go under the cowl.

ff
TheFoxes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 01:29 PM
  #27  
R.J. Rose Ocala FL
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 84
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc Edge V2 has landed

I have one on order which will deliver next week (Jan 22nd). I too am going to use the DA50. Did you add the spacers for carb clearance? How does that affect the cowl fit? Does the firewall have right thrust offset or does this plane not need it? Would appreciate Tom's thoughts on the mounting and thrustline offset.
R.J. Rose Ocala FL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 01:38 PM
  #28  
Captain Randy
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Captain Randy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 118
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc Edge V2 has landed

The spacers were added to properly space the spinner back plate from the cowl, there is plenty of room for the carb to breathe. The right thrust is built in.
Captain Randy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 01:59 PM
  #29  
mstroh3961
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
mstroh3961's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Evans, CO
Posts: 1,828
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc Edge V2 has landed

ORIGINAL: TheFoxes

Hey RCTom:

Do I need to do any fuel proofing of my Edge? This is my first gasser - I'm used to coating everything up front with sealer.

Forrest
Fuel profing a gasser isin't mandatory....That being said I did it! I used 30 Min epoxy thined out with denatured alcohol.

If your using a rear carbed engine its possable for fuel to splatter out the carb while choking the engine.
mstroh3961 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 02:44 PM
  #30  
R.J. Rose Ocala FL
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 84
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc Edge V2 has landed

Thanks. I should have read the WH site a little more carefully, it clearly states that right thrust is built in! I noted you added some kind of plate on the firewall, but I can't tell from the picture exactly what it is. Some guys put an aluminum plate on the firewall to keep the spacers from digging in, others use fender washers (my choice). What exactly did you do and why?

Thanks,

R.J. Rose Ocala FL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 03:59 PM
  #31  
flatlandmike
My Feedback: (17)
 
flatlandmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: lexington, KY
Posts: 1,228
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc Edge V2 has landed

ORIGINAL: TheFoxes

Hey RCTom:

Do I need to do any fuel proofing of my Edge? This is my first gasser - I'm used to coating everything up front with sealer.

Forrest

Like MSTroh i do fuel proof my engine box inside and out but i use a polyurethane spray. I mount every thing to the point that its ready to fly cg the plane then when the cg is set i remove every thing from the engine box spray it inside and out (Making sure i get all the holes i drilled in the box) let dry for how ever long it needs then spray it once more then let that dry over night then remount the goods while blue locktiting every thing that needs it then its ready to fly

Edit; if the carb is open to the inside of the plane make sure you fuel proof the inside every where fuel can drop or make a plate to cover the inside of the fuse. This is because the fuel will drip from the carb.
flatlandmike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 07:48 PM
  #32  
Captain Randy
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Captain Randy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 118
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc Edge V2 has landed

There is no plate on the firewall. I always soak the firewall with thin CA, paint it, then mount the engine. Never had a problem.

Captain Randy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 08:24 PM
  #33  
rctom
Senior Member
 
rctom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Flower Mound (near Dallas), TX
Posts: 6,189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc Edge V2 has landed

I never seal it, but if you feel you must use some light spray on urethane like minwax or varathane.

TF
rctom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 09:20 PM
  #34  
R.J. Rose Ocala FL
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 84
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc Edge V2 has landed

I usually use Minwax urethane also - just a light wash coat - to keep the wood from swelling or delaminating from fuel and oil. I usually do the tank compartment also. I don't plan on using a cannister or pipe muffler so will probably seal off that compartment with a balsa plate.
R.J. Rose Ocala FL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 11:08 PM
  #35  
FlyinTiger
Senior Member
My Feedback: (45)
 
FlyinTiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Penn Valley, CA
Posts: 791
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc Edge V2 has landed

I am sure that all the same construction techniques I outlined in my review on the NEW 84" Extra will be applicable to the NEW Edge. Please check them out here to save yourself some typing and save Tom some time too.

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/fb.asp?m=4945389

The NEW Edge looks fabulous - these Wildhare planes are really starting to become works of art! I get several compliments every time I take mine to the field about how "beautiful" it looks, but I can't take any of the credit, I have to tell them that it is an ARF! Nicely built, light weight, strong and flies great...what else could you ask for, especially for under $500!!! [X(][8D]

Keep 'em flyin'!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig12210.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	60.7 KB
ID:	600612  
FlyinTiger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2007, 11:37 AM
  #36  
Tired Old Man
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Valley Springs, CA
Posts: 18,602
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc Edge V2 has landed

I'll be jumping into one of the new Edges in the next week or so. You guys keep up the good work here in this thread so I won't have to work as hard figuring things out for myself. Thanks for starting the new Edge thread! I don't know if anyone has done one with a Taurus 52 yet, so I'll post pics when I hang the engine.
Tired Old Man is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2007, 12:04 PM
  #37  
R.J. Rose Ocala FL
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 84
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc Edge V2 has landed

I received mine on Monday, Jan 22nd. The packing boxes (double boxed) were in good condition, thanks UPS! Upon opening them I found everything in good shape except the cowl ring, which had about a 3" piece missing on the top and some glue that had come loose. Sent an email to Tom proposing a repair vs replacement, he encouraged me to try it. I scribed the contour of the top corners and top on a piece of poster board then cut a "bridge" piece from 1/8" aircraft ply I temporary glued this bridge to the front side of the cowl mount blocks and then went back with some epoxy/microballoon mix to secure it. This restored the contour of the cowl top and solved the problem.
Per the manual, I trial fitted everything before doing anything else. All the parts fit perfectly, though I had to cut 1/4" off the stab tube - it was a bit too long to permit the stabs to snug up to the fuselage.
The covering was in excellent shape with no blisters or visible looseness. I will reseal the edges and go over it with a heat gun and soft cloth. I suspect, like all film covered airplanes, this will have to be done periodically to keep the covering tight after it sits in the hot sun. The key is to not overheat it initially because then you have no more shrinkage available in the future. There were only a couple of minor pre-covering blemishes which don't really detract from an otherwise beautiful airplane. You can pay a lot more elsewhere and get little or no better sanding and covering job. Far better than the ARFs I am accustomed to seeing!
The airplane is everything I had hoped it to be, I will power it with a DA50 (from my recently departed Aeroworks Builders Kit 29% Edge) and JR8611's on the wings and rudder. Haven't decided on the elevator servos yet, 8411/8611's seem like overkill on these smaller control surfaces. But then the difference between an $85 Hitec and a $100 8611 doesn't seem to suggest going on the cheap.
R.J. Rose Ocala FL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2007, 08:57 PM
  #38  
Captain Randy
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Captain Randy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 118
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc Edge V2 has landed

I said I was slow, but you can’t rush perfection. I had to cut about 3/16 off the stab and wing tube. The incidence on both stabilizer halves and one wing were off just a (wild) hare.

Cutting the cowl to fit over the muffler was a bit of a puzzle, but easily solved by shaving a bit off the bottom lip of the motor box and shaving a bit off the cowl ring at the top so the ring could pass over the prop shaft. There is no need to cut off muffler tips. I had already cut the tips off my Bison wraparound muffler for better engine performance. The cowl was cut just enough to fit over everything; I will be going back and widening everything for good engine cooling.

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr49675.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	61.0 KB
ID:	606584   Click image for larger version

Name:	To44805.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	54.8 KB
ID:	606585   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wb76437.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	74.5 KB
ID:	606586   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pj19370.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	71.8 KB
ID:	606587  
Captain Randy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 06:36 PM
  #39  
R.J. Rose Ocala FL
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 84
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc Edge V2 has landed

I didn't get the WH hardware kit because I have a lot of the required items on hand. My question is what size wheels to use - the wheel pants are huge and would probably hold at least a 3 1/2" wheel. Also, will I need a lighter tail wheel assembly to balance with a DA50? The difference in moving the rudder servo to pull/pull doesn't seem like enough moment weight to offset the difference between a DA50 and a G62.
R.J. Rose Ocala FL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 07:36 PM
  #40  
Captain Randy
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Captain Randy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 118
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc Edge V2 has landed

The WH hardware kit comes with 3 1/2" wheels. I can't be 100% sure yet, but I'm guessing a lighter tailwheel would not be needed with a DA50. At this time Tom would be the only one who would know for sure.
Captain Randy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 07:39 PM
  #41  
R.J. Rose Ocala FL
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 84
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc Edge V2 has landed

Tom - I would like to use the largest wheel possible due to our grass strip. Don't know if a 3 3/4" or 4" wheel would work.
R.J. Rose Ocala FL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 08:19 PM
  #42  
dhooks
My Feedback: (24)
 
dhooks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lake Butler , FL
Posts: 1,046
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc Edge V2 has landed

3.5 works fine on a grass strip....
dhooks is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 08:39 PM
  #43  
R.J. Rose Ocala FL
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 84
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc Edge V2 has landed

Dan - 3.5" works fine, but I want to use the largest Kavan lightweight wheel that I can get into the wheel pants. I would use a 4" if I thought it would fit. Do you have this airplane or the equivalent Extra? Don't know if the Version 2 has a different wheel pant - they look quite large for a 28-29% aircraft.
R.J. Rose Ocala FL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2007, 11:01 PM
  #44  
rctom
Senior Member
 
rctom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Flower Mound (near Dallas), TX
Posts: 6,189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc Edge V2 has landed

To be honest I have never played with them to see how big a wheel will fit.

TF
rctom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 01:27 AM
  #45  
Tired Old Man
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Valley Springs, CA
Posts: 18,602
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc Edge V2 has landed

4" will usually work, but you will have to open up the bottom opening in the wheel pant.
Tired Old Man is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 08:02 PM
  #46  
Captain Randy
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Captain Randy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 118
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc Edge V2 has landed

Wife is mad cuz I brought everything in the house. It’s too cold out in the barn 37 degrees. Sorry about you guys in the artic tundra. I glued on the canopy and painted the trim. It turned out very nice. Everything is going together perfect except for the following: The servo trays in the wings had predrilled screw holes. The holes on one end lined up perfect, but the other end was off enough that I had to fill them in using a tooth pick for a dowel and re-drill (no biggy.) I am using the Hitec 5955s in the wings. If I could have taken two days off work this week I would have been flying it Sunday [:@] #@%*!!!! Maybe next weekend.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Us54910.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	59.5 KB
ID:	617356   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wr55649.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	47.9 KB
ID:	617357   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ty65637.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	31.9 KB
ID:	617358  
Captain Randy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 09:01 PM
  #47  
R.J. Rose Ocala FL
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 84
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc Edge V2 has landed

Capt Randy - I used JR 8611A servos in the wings and they fit perfectly. WH obviously believes in these servos. Oddly, the rudder and elevator servo trays are not drilled.
R.J. Rose Ocala FL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2007, 12:11 AM
  #48  
rctom
Senior Member
 
rctom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Flower Mound (near Dallas), TX
Posts: 6,189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc Edge V2 has landed

The builder drilled them, I did not know they were doing this. I will ask them not to do it in the next batch.

TF
rctom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2007, 01:10 AM
  #49  
Tired Old Man
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Valley Springs, CA
Posts: 18,602
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc Edge V2 has landed

Oh, damn. I'm glad I got one early then because I also use the 8611's. Now I don't have to drill the mounting holes in the wings. What a deal!! The new version is A LOT lighter than the original. Wow!
Tired Old Man is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2007, 08:41 AM
  #50  
sailing1
My Feedback: (134)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: tulsa, OK
Posts: 963
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 50cc Edge V2 has landed

On my new version Extra the the wider and lighter Kavan 3 1/2 inch wheels on PSP titianum axles were way to wide for the wheel pants. In fact the 3 1/2 inch stock wheels would just barely fit and that was after grinding out almost all of the bottom of the wheel pant. Not sure if the wheel pants on the Edge are the same size or not. Just FYI, I went ahead and got a set of TNT carbon gear and put the lighter wheels and axles on it. Using these peices cuts a full 8 onces. The only down side being the afore mentioned inability to mount the pants and the TNT gear is about 4 inches narrower than the stock gear.

Hope that helps.
sailing1 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service