Notices
YS Engines Support Direct support from YS Performance Engines by Dave Shadel

FZ-110 won't start and I tried everything under the sun

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2009, 04:02 PM
Sierra11861

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default FZ-110 won't start and I tried everything under the sun

I bought this engine used about a year ago and it has run great many times. I own 3 YS 110's so I have some basic YS knowledge. The last few runs on this one particular YS-YS 110 however I noticed that it did not rev as fast as it used to. In other words, when you gave it full throttle real fast it ran up to full power but very slowly. I blew it off and flew anyway. It seemed like the overall power was slightly lacking but the flight went ok. The today I ran it for one flight, it ran but still it seemed the power was not quite what it should be.

Then I tried starting it for the second flight and it was as dead as a doornail. I changed the glow plug, I had two back up glow starters so that was not it. I pulled the fuel supply line from the engine and fuel squirted about 10 feet so that was not it. The check valve was correct. I removed the needle and blew through the fuel intake with some spare tubing and fuel came flying out of where the needle screws into. I cleaned out the regulator and that very small silicone cone shaped part had a very slight ridge on it but the spring was there and it looked ok to me so I reinstalled it.

I turned the regulator adjustment and the low end needle all over the place but the most I would get is a slight spark, I also noticed it backfired some and wanted to run backwards a little until it died, and that was on a good turn, most of the attempts were total dead response. I checked all the bolts that hold the engine togeether for leaks....any suggestions?
Old 11-29-2009, 04:43 PM
wessco
My Feedback: (7)

Default RE: FZ-110 won't start and I tried everything under the sun