RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   ZDZ & RCS Support (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/zdz-rcs-support-204/)
-   -   first gas engine zdz40 (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/zdz-rcs-support-204/8026745-first-gas-engine-zdz40.html)

mc1982 10-07-2008 10:43 AM

first gas engine zdz40

hi guys,

I've bought a zdz40 engine since my plain recommended it and im new to all this. What prop is best for this engine, 20x10 or 22x8? Also what oil should i use and what ratio's for break in and for normal running. Also, it says super 95+ as fuel does that mean unleaded 95 octane fuel?

Do i need to break in the engine with a smaller prop first or can i start off with the 22x10 or 22x8?

Another thing that is troubling me is how long should i bench run it for and what are the initial needle settings i need to use? The manual isnt the most detailed.

RonParent 10-07-2008 03:44 PM

RE: first gas engine zdz40

Just start it don't mess with the setting. Unless it runs realy bad. Use penzoil for air cooles engines and all wil go fine

k_caller 10-07-2008 04:35 PM

Hello,
welcome to the ZDZ club! I'm sure that with the proper care you will be very satisfied with this engine.
Although I do not actually have a '40' I can tell you what I've used with my other ZDZs.
Use a good 2 strike oil with a mix of 40:1 for break-in and 50:1 for later use. I usually swith to a 50:1 mix after about 5-10 hours of running.