Notices
1/16th, 1/18th, Mini & Micro RC Cars Discuss 1/16, 1/18, Minis, Micros & any RC Cars smaller than 1/10th scale in this forum

Mini Inferno 540 motor question....

Old 08-16-2005, 12:09 PM
rdarsa

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mini Inferno 540 motor question....

Please can someone tell me if I can fit a 540 series motor in my mini inferno.

It has the standard ESC and reciever and uses the 9.6v 1200mah GMAXX Cells.

I'm new to electric cars and really don't know what I need to do.

If you can recommend a decent motor too that would be great.

Many thanks,

Richard.
Old 08-16-2005, 12:21 PM
Tigger N. Bennie

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Mini Inferno 540 motor question....

Currently, I am running the brushless AON T2415-4900kv with the Mamba-25 brushless speed control. It's not a 540 motor but it has plenty of speed, especially with a 3-cell lipo. It's the smaller red brushless motor in the photo below. However, if you go brushless, you will also need to change out the stock servo since you will end up removing and replacing the integrated ESC/Rx with a separate receiver too.

By the way, if you are running the 8-cell 9.6v set up, are you using the optional thermal cut off or whatever it's called in the manual? Are you still using the stock motor or the Kyosho option motor? Does your motor get hot? Just wondering, since I didn't go that route. I also don't use the fake engine head/heat sink since I removed all the stock electronics.

Old 08-16-2005, 05:45 PM
rdarsa

Thanks for the reply.

I do have the kyosho hop up motor and it makes quite a difference - and It does get hot - but not dangerously hot.

I was after a simple solution to make it even quicker without changing any of the electronics already there (including the batteries). I have no idea where to put the replacement ESC or the Rx.