RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   1/16th, 1/18th, Mini & Micro RC Cars (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/1-16th-1-18th-mini-micro-rc-cars-235/)
-   -   1/16 Traxxas Revo VXL Brushless lipo's (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/1-16th-1-18th-mini-micro-rc-cars-235/11605993-1-16-traxxas-revo-vxl-brushless-lipos.html)

Abrown8507 10-28-2014 07:45 PM

1/16 Traxxas Revo VXL Brushless lipo's

Hey guys I'm fairly new to the new rc world had them as a kid but these days they are a lot different. I was wondering what you have to do to get the Revo to run 2 2 cell lipos in series. Any help would be appreciated as far as gears, motor?, or speed control needed upgrades.

westoakmech 10-30-2014 06:15 PM

Well you don't want to run lipos in series on a 1/16. You can run parallel. If you are in lipo mode, and series 2, 2s, it will not work. You would have to be in nihm mode, to fake out the esc. Not a good idea. A 1/16 on 2s lipo is pretty fast, on 3s is borderline insane, on 4s, would be uncontrolable, probably severe carrnage. So to explain, when you series, it doubles the voltage, but your mah stays the same. For example, 2, 2s, at 1300 mah, on series you would be 14.4 volts, and 1300 mah. 2, 2s, at 1300 mah, on parallel would be 7.4 volts, and 2600 mah. The more mah = more run time. I run 2, 2s, 1300 mah, parallel, and get around 40 minutes to an hour of run time. I hope this helps you out. As to how to do it. You can buy the connectors for series, and parallel.

SyCo_VeNoM 11-02-2014 12:48 PM

well to run 2 2s's in series you would ned a new ESC, and a motor capable of running them. Problem is those parts are 1/8th scale territory so the ESC alone wouldn't even fit on the chassis.