Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > "1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes
Reload this Page >

having trouble getting an Cox .020 thimble drome engine to run

Community
Search
Notices
"1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes These are the small ones...more popular now than ever.

having trouble getting an Cox .020 thimble drome engine to run

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2013, 07:00 PM
EskimoJoe15

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default having trouble getting an Cox .020 thimble drome engine to run

Hello I have this Cox .020 thimble Drome engine and I'm finding it quite difficult to get the darn thing to run so far i have only made it start and run for about 3/4 of a second.
This particular model is the "Cox Thimble Drome Easy Start model" and the fuel I am using is 30% Nitro, 25% castor oil, and the rest is synthetic oil and I was wondering if the % of nitro would be the problem.
Any tips for starting these engines would be very helpful I am new to nitro so this is my first engine of my own.
Old 11-08-2013, 08:23 AM
skaliwag
My Feedback: (1)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

The Pee Wee is probably the most finicky of all the Cox engines. Sounds like it is only running the prime.
If the engine is a used one the chances are that the back end is full of old congealed fuel and crud.
The little tube in the tank could be blocked.
The reed could be bent or stuck.
The tiny rubber washer is not sealing.
A leak between the case and the tank.
Old 11-08-2013, 08:34 AM
PeterC