RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   "1/2 A" & "1/8 A" airplanes (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/1-2-1-8-airplanes-70/)
-   -   Monokote Too Heavy? (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/1-2-1-8-airplanes-70/11695677-monokote-too-heavy.html)

gpschult 12-16-2021 09:21 AM

Monokote Too Heavy?

I'm putting together a Sig Skyray C/L plane. It looks like a lot of people paint them as fuel-proofing, but I'm wondering if Monokote would work instead? Or is that too heavy or impractical for a plane of this size? Any thoughts? Thanks!

GREG DOE 12-16-2021 11:17 AM

Monokote should be fine. I'm basically a painter myself, but sometimes I use plastic film. I've got a 40+ year PDQ Super Clown (the predecessor to the Ring Master) with orange Monokote on the wings, and K&B Supper Poxy on the fuselage, and tail. It has stood up well. The attraction for heat shrink film is that it's quicker. Dope and tissue or silk take longer to complete, but stand up better to fuel soaking. Oil can creep under film more easily.

gpschult 12-16-2021 11:47 AM

Thanks! I might try painting my next 1/2A, a Sig Deweybird. One of my big concerns is the fumes from the doping and whatnot.

rgburrill 12-17-2021 04:50 AM

There used to be a lightweight Monokote or Econokote but I'm having trouble getting to horizonhobby.

GREG DOE 12-17-2021 01:23 PM

Econokote was developed as a low heat film suitable for covering foam airplanes. It was also more elastic then Monokote, so it got the nick name of "rubber coat". There are many different brands of covering film today, including some "China coat" films. There are also a number of "lite" films more suited to park flyers. Using a light weight film on a 1/2A airplane probably wouldn't save much weight. More important would be to use caution not to warp anything when shrinking the covering.

Lifer 12-18-2021 12:49 AM

I've got Monokote on a 1/2a Ringmaster and it is very light. No problems.

speedracerntrixie 12-21-2021 06:34 PM