RCU Forums - View Single Post - How to handle the guys with flawed plans?
Old 06-21-2012, 07:08 AM
Edwin
My Feedback: (2)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: How to handle the guys with flawed plans?

I've been teaching for 10 or 11 years as a club instructor. I replaced a guy in the club that taught for 30 years. I have a few planes I recommend (electric and glow), they take their pick. I teach to a program that covers basic flying, basic aerodynamics, basic aerobatics, emergency handling, maintenance, and repairing.

Some show up with a toy motor glider and want to be taught. I will give my honest assessment of his chances based on my years of observation and experience. I'll at least maiden it and trim it for him but most of the time all I can do is stand next to him for moral support. Passing the transmitter back and forth usually doesnt work that well. When those guys see how smooth things go on a buddy box, attitudes usually change. But you always have someone that wants to go it alone and teach themselves. Thats fine, but you cant do it at our field. Many years back a guy shows up, joins ama and the club, and says he can fly. Turns out he couldnt, lost it in the parking lot and damaged a car. Cost him a fair amount of money since he lied about being able to fly to the ama. He was actually going to teach himself.