RCU Forums - View Single Post - Welcome to Club SAITO !
View Single Post
Old 08-23-2014, 09:50 AM
Cougar429
My Feedback: (3)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

After 2 decades as an auto mechanic with my own business for 10 of them, (including a decade of prototype work on natural gas and propane alternate fuel installations) I think I have some background into internal combustion. Same went for the next career, that as a heli-fixed wing pilot/AME with experience in I/C and turbine.

From that, I can estimate that glow and gas engines would require different specs in critical areas. First, their combustion qualities would be significantly different, with combustion temps, pressures and timing requirements unique to each. I would feel confident converting a nitro glow to nitro ignition, but not straight gas ignition without replacing the connecting rod lower end to primarily a roller or at least phosphor bronze. Both Saito 91's have the con rod alloy used as a bearing surface to the crank pin and do NOT seem to tolerate adverse conditions. Doubt they would survive the swap.

When running gas, the spark can be externally controlled and mixture leaned accordingly. Unfortunately this usually results in increased combustion temps, (and also NOx, but doubt we will require catalytic convertors at this point). This would seem to be confirmed if the fact the FG series has improved cooling is correct.