RCU Forums - View Single Post - Saito FG-60R3
Thread: Saito FG-60R3
View Single Post
Old 04-14-2020, 11:05 AM
Tom ling

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Originally Posted by Inver Ted
Hi Sparky, I live in Ha Noi, Vietnam, sometimes. I'm Australian and until China (or the US, depends on who's conspiracy theory you believe (calm down, only joking, we all know it's the Chinese ) unleashed the virus, I shared my time between Aust. and Vn. Seems I'm going to hang here for a while until the virus is done. Yeah, I'm a newbie to RCU and planes larger than about.46 glow size. Been out of the hobby for too many years, so still feeling my way. These forums are invaluable and it's great to meet the guys here.

I gotta admit I'm floundering around trying to make sense of what to do about breaking in this FG-60 R3. And I'm coming to terms with spending over $700AUD on mods on a new current engine so it will perform and function as anyone would expect a new engine to do. My decision; I bought the thing without knowing what a disaster they are, so I'm going to git 'er done whatever that takes.

Unless I'm mistaken vids posted on this and the other forum (RCG) indicate that the timing mod causes a drastic improvement in starting, idling and transitioning.

The intake mod seems to have corrected the uneven cyl temps (mixture distribution) and provides better (than std.) lube to the bottom end and overhead gear. Not entirely undesirable features when running-in a new engine. Hence my question about doing the mods before starting it.

Is the Ray English intake mod the same as the MMM intake mod.?? I read somewhere that Ray's mod is now incorporated in std Saito production, I have no idea what that means for my engine.