RCU Forums - View Single Post - Help sizing props to motor, voltage, amps, ect.
Old 01-19-2021, 05:56 PM
Hydro Junkie

Received 61 Likes on 58 Posts

Before I start, I want to be clear that I'm not an expert on electric drives either but I do know a bit about building boats and some of the issues.
With that said, let's get a few things clarified:
  1. the boat is going to be a 8X3ft kayak
  2. you are looking at making it a planing hull
  3. you are planning on 250 to 275 AUW
  4. you are planning on twin drives
  5. You are looking at 100VDC and 95 amps
Okay let's take each one above individually and go from there:
  1. Is the kayak your planning going to be a "sit in" or "sit on"? I have an Ascend H-10 "sit in" fishing kayak and it's only got 6-8" of freeboard with a depth of around 12". A "sit on" generally has less freeboard and most have drains to let water out to prevent them from filling up and sinking. My H-10 is 10X2.5 so it's longer and narrower than your planned on build. Either way, you will need to come up with a way to keep water out of the hull
  2. Kayaks are normally displacement hulls with a very efficient hydrodynamic shape. This shape is good for speed but not for load carrying. What are you planning on doing to get the hull to plane as many kayaks will try to submarine when a powered drive is installed. In fact, the most successful style of prop driven kayaks are equipped with a center mounted drive system that is either peddle or small electric motor powered to keep from overpowering the hull