RCU Forums - View Single Post - MotionRC and Counterfeit Mechanics
View Single Post
Old 10-11-2021, 07:29 PM
drakster123

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default MotionRC and Counterfeit Mechanics

I've been flying RC helicopters since the early 1980's and finally decided to buy my first scale helicopter from MotionRC . I have never seen ANY helicopter kit that was this bad.

I bought the Roban combo from MotionRC in 2019 and life happend and the kit sat in a corner until a few months ago. The knockoff/counterfeit mechanics are criminal!

I know of three other people now that bought this Roban/Phoenixtech frame kit from MotionRC and out of the three builds two have crashed because of mechanical problems and the third guy had a near crash because of mechanical problems.

The snapped tail drive shaft photo is from the post mortem of the crash when the pilot lost the tail drive. The other mechanical closeup shots are from my build and show MANY of the problems this kludge of a kit has.

MotionRC simply has NO SHAME when it comes to selling a "Combo kit" and shipping out a kit with missing parts and a bunch of counterfeit mismatched non-functional crap. It's almost like somebody threw a bunch of leftover heli mechanical parts in the air and stuffed them in a box. Here are just a few of the problems you'll have if you make the mistake of buying from MotionRC:

Get your file and dremel tool out because the frame holes don't fit the parts. I got a kludge of mismatched parts for the narrow and wider 600 frame. I called the MotionRC helicopter support guy Ed Ardriano of Scaleflying and RC Aerodyne fame, and was told too bad you're past our 30 day return policy. So I then ended up buying another $200 worth of correct parts. I would have done a chargeback on my credit card but that clock ran out.