RCU Forums - View Single Post - Fuel Line Connectors
View Single Post
Old 01-13-2022, 01:05 AM
Iron Dog

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Erv,

I was not at that race, so unable to know exactly what you saw; but I have been racing warbirds since 2004, believe I understand what you are referring to. I have used a few different brands -- most with success. Reliability is key to success in this sport, so hopefully you avoid some of my initial issues in this area.

I started with Tees and fuel dots from Fourmost Products. These were plastic, and I once had a fuel T split on me during a race. I believe I caused the issue, because my fuel lines were too short, and when I pulled the fuel line far enough out of the fuselage to connect it to my fuel pump, I stressed/cracked the plastic. Using a pressurized YS engine meant fuel went everywhere inside the front portion of the fuselage. I never trusted the durability of Fourmost Tees since, so do not feel comfortable recommending them for your racer.

I decided that aluminum Tees and fueler mounts/dots were worth the extra price. I had some fellow racing friends that machined them, and they worked great; but, they have since stopped making them.

Next, I went to PSP manufacturing. These were generally good, too. But, twice, I found the retaining nut on the fueler mount to be machined incorrectly, making it extremely difficult to securely install the fueler mounts. I tried going to their web address to get a direct link to the parts for you, but I do not believe they are in business anymore. Their web page does not come up, and my local hobby shop has not had their products for a couple years now.