RCU Forums - View Single Post - RC Skydiver Plans: Updated III
View Single Post
Old 02-11-2003, 04:01 AM
bsumpter

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RC Skydiver Plans: Updated III

Please explain.

Perhaps I misunderstand how copyright law works (I'm by no means a lawyer), but I am having trouble seeing how this could possibly be a copyright infringment. Allow me to explain...

I was there when this little guy was designed -- all the way from a few scribbles on a napkin to its final completion. I watched him be created from different materials until a suitable combination was found. I watched unsuccessful jumps during the early phases of the project while the little things were being lined out (like the best way to pack the chute). So saying that these plans are infringing on your copyright really doesn't make sense to me. I seen them created, and I can vouch for the authenticity of the author.

I did a little digging trying to educate myself in copyright law, and I did find a few interesting tidbits. First I wanted to see if these plans needed to be "officially" registered with some office in order to be properly copyrighted. Here is a quote from the US Copyright Office web site:

Do I have to register with your office to be protected?

No. In general, registration is voluntary. Copyright exists from the moment the work is created. You will have to register, however, if you wish to bring a lawsuit for infringement of a U.S. work. See Circular 1, section Copyright Registration.

So it appears that no actual "official" documents needed to be filed for these plans to be copyrighted. Next I wanted to know what qualified in legal terms as the creator of a document. So once again, a quote from the US Copyright Office:

Who is an author?