Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > 3D Electric Flying!
Reload this Page >

Razor 350 fit in a GWS "D" drive unit?

Notices
3D Electric Flying! Discuss all aspects of Electric 3D RC flying here!

Razor 350 fit in a GWS "D" drive unit?

Old 11-09-2003, 02:32 PM
  #26  
ChuckAuger
Senior Member
My Feedback: (12)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pampa, TX
Posts: 5,133
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Razor 350 fit in a GWS "D" drive unit?

Yeah, let me know more..I have a Razor 300 that needs a home!!
Old 11-10-2003, 11:07 AM
  #27  
RysiuM
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
RysiuM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 1,490
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Razor 350 fit in a GWS "D" drive unit?

ORIGINAL: ChuckAuger
Yeah, let me know more..I have a Razor 300 that needs a home!!
You wanna see some action? Look at these videos with Planebender behind the sticks:
[link=http://masm.inc.home.comcast.net/edge_540_profile_arf.wmv]http://masm.inc.home.comcast.net/edge_540_profile_arf.wmv[/link] (4 minutes of flying Profile Edge)
[link=http://masm.inc.home.comcast.net/stick.wmv]http://masm.inc.home.comcast.net/stick.wmv [/link] (3 minutes od flying GWS slow stick)

RysiuM
Old 11-10-2003, 04:32 PM
  #28  
OnTheEdge
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Drums, PA
Posts: 1,185
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Razor 350 fit in a GWS "D" drive unit?

ORIGINAL: OnTheEdge-RCU

[]

Now I'm really looking forward to my motor arriving next week

My motor arrived today! Yeah.......two days from Washington to PA!

Going to go borrow a pinion gear puller tonight and put the new motor in.
Old 11-10-2003, 05:44 PM
  #29  
ChuckAuger
Senior Member
My Feedback: (12)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pampa, TX
Posts: 5,133
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Razor 350 fit in a GWS "D" drive unit?

Man, beg, borrow, or steal a new pinion.. I've heard of a couple of guys getting used pinions to work, I'd hate to pin my hopes on a used one.
Old 11-10-2003, 06:43 PM
  #30  
OnTheEdge
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Drums, PA
Posts: 1,185
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Razor 350 fit in a GWS "D" drive unit?

ORIGINAL: ChuckAuger

Man, beg, borrow, or steal a new pinion.. I've heard of a couple of guys getting used pinions to work, I'd hate to pin my hopes on a used one.
I have a new one on order but it won't be in till Wednesday (if it's not backordered) Hopefully this one will work. I'm hoping if I use a pinion puller instead of a screwdriver, the used pinion will still hold well. We'll see, I'm heading over to Bill's tonight for 7:00 to use his puller.

Thanks.........Mark
Old 11-10-2003, 08:48 PM
  #31  
Dr Kiwi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 2,198
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Razor 350 fit in a GWS "D" drive unit?

Hi Guys,

I thought I would jump in with some measurements I have just made while trying out, for the first time, my Razor 300 in the Won MkII housing with the Dr Kiwi Mk III mount!

[http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...15&pagenumber=7

See Post #101

Razor 300, geared 6.6:1, 10x6 GWS HD prop (bored to 5mm to accept MPJ 8031 adapter), 3s TP 2100 (initial voltage 12.2V)

9.1A (10.3V), 95W, 580g (20.4oz) static thrust @ 6900 rpm.

All in all, a spectacular performance. But I would like to ask all you experts out there whether 3s is really too much for this motor, given its higher Kv than the other Razors in the range [that prop speed translates to 45,000 motor rpm!].

I have read that a Razor 300 shouldn't go over the 10A [90-100W] limit, and I found that a 10x7 Aeronaut was too much for it (10.1A and still climbing....).

Thanks for your thoughts on what I should do!

Cheers, Phil
Old 11-10-2003, 11:40 PM
  #32  
OnTheEdge
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Drums, PA
Posts: 1,185
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Razor 350 fit in a GWS "D" drive unit?

ORIGINAL: ChuckAuger

Man, beg, borrow, or steal a new pinion.. I've heard of a couple of guys getting used pinions to work, I'd hate to pin my hopes on a used one.
I didn't work...........the pinion just spun on the shaft of the new motor. [] Must be from the splines cut on the GWS shaft. The Himax doesn't have them. Hope mine comes is soon. I don't suppose anyone has one laying around (pinion gear from a GWS 350D drive) that they could sell me........??

.........Mark
Old 11-10-2003, 11:44 PM
  #33  
ChuckAuger
Senior Member
My Feedback: (12)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pampa, TX
Posts: 5,133
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Razor 350 fit in a GWS "D" drive unit?

I have one, but I don't know if it would get from here to there before the other one...PM your address if you want it.
Old 12-13-2003, 10:46 PM
  #34  
webzter
Junior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: camas, WA
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Razor 350 fit in a GWS "D" drive unit?

chuck when you say you can use the set up gws 350 D box/and a 3 cell lith poly etech/12x6 prop/pixie 10/
but have to have spare motors around/don't you have problems with LVC at full throttle if you set you pixie speed controler to the 8.4 volt cut off ( to keep from draining your cells to the 2.8 V cutt off limit). ??

I get cut offs with this set up.
this is why I was going to go with the himax 2015.

do you have to set the pixie to 8.4? with the three cell?
does it kill the battery if you this is short bursts or is only if you run the battery down past the 2.8 volt per cell that hurt it?

web

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.