Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > 3D Electric Flying!
Reload this Page >

3DX, wanting to go brushless out runner

Notices
3D Electric Flying! Discuss all aspects of Electric 3D RC flying here!

3DX, wanting to go brushless out runner

Old 02-19-2004, 09:54 PM
  #1  
FNG
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
FNG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vancover, WA
Posts: 180
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 3DX, wanting to go brushless out runner

I'm flying my 3DX with GWS 350D turning a 10x4.7 using Kokam 1200 HC 3S pack, and loving it. I was wondering about going to a brushless outrunner. I was wondering about the Nippy, witch one? Or a Typhone 6. Bottom line I need to stick with my current battery set up, but want same or better performace from a brushless, more duration would be great too. Any suggestions.

Mark
Old 02-19-2004, 10:55 PM
  #2  
FlyBy1-RCU
Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Porter, TX
Posts: 46
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 3DX, wanting to go brushless out runner

FNG
I am building the same plane with the same setup GWS 350D except I am going with Thunder tiger 1900 3s
you say you are loving it . wondering why you are considering brushless?
does the 3dx have enough power with the 350? Just curious before I set it up.
thanks
Greg
Old 02-20-2004, 11:42 AM
  #3  
FNG
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
FNG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vancover, WA
Posts: 180
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 3DX, wanting to go brushless out runner

It does perform very well, hovers no problem, enough pull out, harrier, harrier rolling circles etc: I'm looking down the road for when I burn up the motor. Also out runners are so quiet... More duration I'm hopping. I get a good 7-8 minutes of 3D flying with the current setup.

This is my second 3DX, I made what I feel was a VERY good improvement on this one, I made the ailerons 1 1/2" wider (more cord, just moved the hinge line forward). I also put hortizontal sides on the fuse like a shock flyer, no caron tube in the fuse. This is a stiffer fuse than my first. You can see a picture of it in my gallery.

Mark
Old 03-03-2004, 01:49 PM
  #4  
AdrianM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Land O Lakes, FL
Posts: 710
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 3DX, wanting to go brushless out runner

The AXI 2212/26 is supposed to be awsome in your average 11-16oz foamy 3D machine with 3s LiPo and a 11x4.7 or 12x6 GWS or APC SF prop.
Old 03-03-2004, 02:10 PM
  #5  
Stanoo
Senior Member
 
Stanoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Horn Lake, MS
Posts: 215
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 3DX, wanting to go brushless out runner

That 350d ain't gonna be around too long with a 3s lipo on it. You better get a sack full heh
Old 03-03-2004, 02:30 PM
  #6  
ChuckAuger
Senior Member
My Feedback: (12)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pampa, TX
Posts: 5,133
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 3DX, wanting to go brushless out runner

If you are already doing the Shock-ed style fuse, the AXI 2212/34 or /26 would be an easy mount with the radial mount kit. The /34 should give you a LOT longer flights on the 11X4.7, the /26 maybe not so long, but a little more uuummmph.
Old 03-03-2004, 02:46 PM
  #7  
Ian.W
Senior Member
 
Ian.W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Essex, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 4,285
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 3DX, wanting to go brushless out runner

why not the AXI 2212/20 (i think) or is that to hot
Old 03-03-2004, 03:01 PM
  #8  
ChuckAuger
Senior Member
My Feedback: (12)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pampa, TX
Posts: 5,133
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 3DX, wanting to go brushless out runner

It would be too hot on 3S Lipos unless he runs like an 8X4 or something.. Really the /26 is on the border of being too hot a wind, but in 3D you don't need full throttle very much.
Old 03-04-2004, 02:45 PM
  #9  
FNG
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
FNG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vancover, WA
Posts: 180
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 3DX, wanting to go brushless out runner

Thanks for your help guys. After flying someone elses airplane with a PJS out runner, I didn't like the slow throttle responce, not sure it that was a set up issue or normal for a out runner. Should I be looking more toward geared setup for 3D flying?
Old 03-04-2004, 05:43 PM
  #10  
AdrianM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Land O Lakes, FL
Posts: 710
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 3DX, wanting to go brushless out runner

Slow response can be a heavy prop, too much pitch, or poor speed control setup. Some speedos have a soft startup setting to save gears. Obviously this is unnecessary on an outrunner. Actually I dont use soft start at all even with gear boxes since i feel this gives better throttle response.

AXI's are diffrent. they are longer and smaller in diameter. I am not familar with PJS motor but im willing to bet that based on the design the AXI's will have better response.
Old 03-04-2004, 06:39 PM
  #11  
ChuckAuger
Senior Member
My Feedback: (12)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pampa, TX
Posts: 5,133
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 3DX, wanting to go brushless out runner

ORIGINAL: FNG

Thanks for your help guys. After flying someone elses airplane with a PJS out runner, I didn't like the slow throttle responce, not sure it that was a set up issue or normal for a out runner. Should I be looking more toward geared setup for 3D flying?
I have only actually flown an Axi outrunner. I had a PJS 550E but sold it so I could keep my mounts semi-standardized. Anyway, it had to be an issue with either the motor or the set up. The little Axi has no hesitation, in fact it has really good throttle response. However, without the gearbox in the equation, you can get painted into a corner in your prop selection. On a motor/gearbox combo you can move up and down quite a bit in prop size without being too hard on your motor/batteries. On an outrunner, you have a pretty narrow range of props you have to stick with...especially if trying to go bigger.

That's just my take on the issue. I have geared set ups for quite a while, just getting set up in the outrunners, so I'm not an outrunner expert by any means. I can say I was pretty dang impressed with the power the little Axi has considering it has no gear box. Getting my set up fine tuned is the next order of business.
Old 03-04-2004, 06:52 PM
  #12  
mAvRiCk-inactive
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: East Longmeadow, MA
Posts: 1,125
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 3DX, wanting to go brushless out runner

AXI 2208/34 on 2 cells 700 maH...this is the best SETUP...on my shocker of course...Id go with a Rotex 25/6/15...they pretty nice.. i hvae one and it pulls planes in the 13 oz range...see ya

Dan
Old 03-04-2004, 10:55 PM
  #13  
patternflyer1
Senior Member
My Feedback: (11)
 
patternflyer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 2,074
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 3DX, wanting to go brushless out runner

I highly recommend: Himax 2015-4100, GWS D gearbox, Castle Creations 25 amp ESC 12x6 prop on Etec 11.1v 1200ma pack or a lighter one. This is my setup on my 3dx that weighs 13 ounces with gear. Unlimited verticle, half throttle or less hovers, 20+ minute flights and its not super pricy. Not cheap though. Good luck on your choice
Old 03-05-2004, 12:07 AM
  #14  
FNG
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
FNG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vancover, WA
Posts: 180
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 3DX, wanting to go brushless out runner

ORIGINAL: patternflyer1

I highly recommend: Himax 2015-4100, GWS D gearbox, Castle Creations 25 amp ESC 12x6 prop on Etec 11.1v 1200ma pack or a lighter one. This is my setup on my 3dx that weighs 13 ounces with gear. Unlimited verticle, half throttle or less hovers, 20+ minute flights and its not super pricy. Not cheap though. Good luck on your choice
What would be the differance between the 2015-4100 & 2015-3600, the reset of the setup the same?
Old 03-05-2004, 12:41 AM
  #15  
patternflyer1
Senior Member
My Feedback: (11)
 
patternflyer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 2,074
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 3DX, wanting to go brushless out runner

well it looks like the thrust for the 4100 is 26.4 ounces which gives me a 2:1 ratio seeing as my plane weigh's 13 ounces. And the 3600 has 18.5 ounces of thrust. Which means that I would barely be able to hover at full and might not have a whole lot extra to pull out. The amperage is better though. You could use a cc10 esc easily on it i believe. However it looks like if you went with a c instead of a d gearbox that the thrust would go up for the 3600 to 20.5 ounces with the same 12x6 prop
Old 03-05-2004, 01:45 AM
  #16  
collier
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: knoxvile, TN
Posts: 12
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 3DX, wanting to go brushless out runner

I agree with stan that 350 ain't gonna last long(been there done that).I have seen the nippy black run 10 to 12 min. going full 3D on the same batteries that you have. If that helps any.[sm=spinnyeyes.gif]

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.