Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > 3D Electric Flying!
Reload this Page >

MINI FUNTANA POWER SETUP?

Notices
3D Electric Flying! Discuss all aspects of Electric 3D RC flying here!

MINI FUNTANA POWER SETUP?

Old 08-16-2005, 09:39 PM
dizzane
My Feedback: (140)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default MINI FUNTANA POWER SETUP?

ok, I am new to EP flight, I have a mini funtana with an AXI 2808/24 with a phoniex 25 speed controller, with some 3s 2100mah lipos.
I am not to happy right now, everythime I get it ready to fly ( I had to buld a new one do to this) ar the first time I flew it it flys great and lots of power for a few minutes and then it shuts down, so I tried to check it out tonight by running it in the yard (not flying). After a few minutes it shut down, I know that if the speed control get hot it will shut down, but I am not running it full throttle all of the time. I am spinning a 10x3.8 apc, this is the setup that I have seen other guys useing so what am I doing wrong? I am about to give up gurr. please help, I love this plane even if it doesn't fly.
Thanks
Duane
Old 08-16-2005, 09:53 PM
emnm79
My Feedback: (5)

Default RE: MINI FUNTANA POWER SETUP?

prop seems too small to me... I run it on a 14-16oz foamy, seems like it would have trouble pulling the MF around... but I don't see that causing problems, unless over-revving creates problems with the esc? i'm not sure...

are your batteries getting a full charge?

next time see if your esc/motor/battery are heating up...
Old 08-16-2005, 09:59 PM
dizzane

yeah that batt.s are fully charged, the motor and controller are geting hot.
duane
Old 08-16-2005, 11:31 PM
proptop
My Feedback: (8)

I converted mine to an AXi 2808/24...
I have an APC 10X5E prop on it, w/ a Kokam 2000 3cell, and an E-flite 20A esc.

I made sure that the openings of the esc are right behind an air inlet on the left side of the cowl, so it gets air flow through it.