Community
Search
Notices
3D Electric Flying! Discuss all aspects of Electric 3D RC flying here!

Got a new toy! HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2007, 09:08 PM
ofnamx107

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Got a new toy! HELP!

Hey guys, I just got a Great Planes Flatout Turmoil. It is my first electric plane. It has a SK400xt brushless motor from hobby lobby. Also has an 18A brushless speed controller. What I need to know is what size Li-Po battery I need to buy. I have no clue about these as I have no experience in electric planes. The guy I bough it from tried explaining to me what I need but I could not remember once I got home. It's killing me because I want to fly it but can't because I have no battery and don't know what to get! I am not new to flying. I have flown 3D gas planes so please do not worry about my flying ability. I am just merely a n00b to electrics.
Also, I got this plane, the brushless motor, 18A speed controller, 4 JR SM8 servos for $75. Do you think this was a pretty good deal?
Thanks in advance.
-Cody(electric n00b in training [:-] )

Old 09-11-2007, 11:51 PM
nitro wing
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: Got a new toy! HELP!

Gonna take a a bit of a guess here,but I would asume that 3 cell lipo at 11.1 volts and about 700 -900mah capacity would be about right for it.
Just went on their site,here is some info.Actually you should have done this part yourself.Hope it helps.
http://www.electrifly.com/flatouts/gpma1115.html
Old 09-12-2007, 08:06 AM
ofnamx107

I did already visit the site. They give specs for the stock brushed motor. Since I have an upgraded brushless motor and 18A speed controller, I would assume I would need a higher rated battery than the suggested one for the stock setup(which is what brough me to the forums). I'm ordering a Thunder Power 730mah lipo. Thanks.
Old 09-12-2007, 08:30 AM
packyj