Notices
3D Electric Flying! Discuss all aspects of Electric 3D RC flying here!

What to get next?

Old 12-23-2007, 04:30 PM
rclement
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What to get next?

Well, I've been flying glow for about 4 years now and finally decided to make the leap to electric..... I should be getting my Airfoilz Edge in a few days but just bought the almost Arf not the combo. I wasn't sure if the stuff that comes with the combo is good stuff or if I should opt to get different gear for it. Since I'm new to electrics I have a bunch of questions. What do you guys recommend for a receiver, battery, and servos? Do I need a balancer to charge the Lipo packs? What size battery do I need? TIA [8D]
I'm really starting from zero so I don't what to get to make this Edge work good.
Old 12-23-2007, 07:32 PM
rmgmag

Default RE: What to get next?

The combo that they sell is very good. I've got their Edge and I like it a lot. The Hacker A20-20l is a good motor and the Hacker X-20 esc is good too for this plane. The new Scorpion motors and ESC's in that size range are supposed to be good too. For servos, I use Hitec HS-55's. For batteries I've used Thunder Power TP1320's but www.hobbycity.com has some really good pricing on similar batteries. You'll probably want to get some with a 15C-20C discharge rating. For a receiver, I'm using the Berg 4L. It's really small, light, and seems to work well.

Good luck.
Old 12-24-2007, 12:39 PM
rmenke
My Feedback: (13)