Notices
3D Electric Flying! Discuss all aspects of Electric 3D RC flying here!

New to lekky's

Old 03-27-2008, 08:55 PM
victorzamora

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to lekky's

I'm in the market for my first foamy, and I was looking into getting the E-Flite Extra 260 foamy...but it's a 9.5oz foamy. It calls for like a Park 370 motor. I've noticed, however, that there aren't many foamies in that size range...and those that are are indoors ONLY and aren't good in ANY wind. There's a $40 difference between a Fancy Foam Edge 540 and the Horizon Hobby Extra. Should I save up for bigger? There are also more choices in the 13-16oz range than 7-10oz range.

Is that what I should be getting? If I go with that size, it would be either a FancyFoam plane or a Charger CR2. If so, what motor/esc combo should I be getting with those planes?
What do you think about stepping up to the 400-sized planes? Good call or bad call? What do y'all think? I'm new to electric planes, so talk stupid to me

Also, what do y'all think about the combos on [link=http://www.fancyfoam.com/EDGE540HPK.htm]this website?[/link]
Old 03-28-2008, 07:11 PM
rmenke
My Feedback: (13)

Default RE: New to lekky's

Victor:

Based on a web site recomendation, I recently bought a Fancy Foam Yak 54 rather than the RCXplanes Yak I have been flying for months. The FF is ok but not as good as the rcx planes for me at least. The rcx is easier to hover, torque roll and harrier/elevator, and has been no real problem to fly in the wind . You would need the Hacker 20-20L or equal for the rcx. Hope this helps you, will have a Airfoilz edge 540 soon, waiting for the brown truck.

The new balsa planes have been hyped a lot lately. Have a Katana MD and AJ Extra 330L set up per recommendations. Both fly well prefer the Extra by a little bit, BUT,
MY RCX YAK FLYS BETTER for a lot less money. ENJOY
Old 03-29-2008, 10:40 PM
nitro wing
My Feedback: (1)