Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > 3D Flying!
Reload this Page >

frenzy and ST90

Notices
3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

frenzy and ST90

Old 12-03-2010, 09:29 PM
  #1  
dschroeder
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (40)
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 194
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default frenzy and ST90

I picked up a frenzy 100, would a ST 90 fly it decent? I'm not into real "hardcore" 3d basically going to fly it as a sport aerobatic ship. I have a few profiles for serious 3d
Old 12-04-2010, 01:42 AM
  #2  
ScottMcM
Senior Member
My Feedback: (66)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bennettsville, SC
Posts: 1,171
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: frenzy and ST90

I once had a Frenzy.....loved that plane......anyway, had an OS 91FX in the nose. Plenty of power. Eventually changed it to a Magnum 120 4-stroke.....gobs of torque. Stupidity (mine) killed the plane. Hope to get another one day.
Old 12-04-2010, 08:29 PM
  #3  
dschroeder
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (40)
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 194
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: frenzy and ST90

i was thinking about side mounting the engine...just never had much luck with inverted 2 strokes
Old 12-05-2010, 03:14 AM
  #4  
ScottMcM
Senior Member
My Feedback: (66)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bennettsville, SC
Posts: 1,171
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: frenzy and ST90

B oth engines in my Frenzy were inverted. Had a little trouble to begin with with flooding, but nothing major. Once I got them set up correctly, I never once worried about either of them deadsticking......and they never did.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	om34509.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	6.09 MB
ID:	1530420  
Old 12-05-2010, 09:52 AM
  #5  
dschroeder
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (40)
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 194
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: frenzy and ST90

cool....what prop did you run on the os 91 2-stroke...wasn't sure what a good starting point would be for that plane...i'm assuming the recommended props have too much pitch they recommend a 13x6 for the ST 90. I was thinking maybe a 14x4 APC??

also, what servos did you end up using on yours? i was thinking hitec 645MG on all surfaces
Old 12-05-2010, 01:07 PM
  #6  
ScottMcM
Senior Member
My Feedback: (66)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bennettsville, SC
Posts: 1,171
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: frenzy and ST90

It has been a while, but I think I did use a 13x6 prop.....seldom do I attempt 3D. I used high torque servos on all control surfaces except the throttle.
Old 12-06-2010, 02:46 PM
  #7  
Jezmo
Senior Member
 
Jezmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 2,132
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: frenzy and ST90

I've run both a 13X6 and a 14X6 on my ST90. Which one you wind up using depends on your particular tastes and exactly what you like to do. Mine seems to pull out of a hover better with the 14X6 but does snaps and waterfalls etc better with the 13X6. I assume that's because the 13" prop has a little less gyro effect. I could be wrong but it seemed to rotate quicker with the 13" prop.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.