Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > 3D Flying!
Reload this Page >

Showtime 50 anyone?

Notices
3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

Showtime 50 anyone?

Old 07-17-2007, 12:20 AM
  #101  
firestone1121
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

anybody know if serious mods have to be made for the 0s .61fx? too much for this plane?? any special muffler??
Old 07-17-2007, 05:21 PM
  #102  
ziomarco
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amherstburg, ON, CANADA
Posts: 43
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

I have an OS 61fx in myST50, the only mod I had to do was carve out a bit on the bottom of the fuse where the stock pipe hits, very easy to do. what prop are you thinking of using ? this is my first 3D plane and am not to familiar with prop sizes on these planes.

Old 07-18-2007, 03:39 PM
  #103  
hvac
Senior Member
My Feedback: (7)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: brownsburg, IN
Posts: 230
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

ST50 with a Super Tigre 61. Stock muffler fits fine, no mods necessary. 13x4W prop. Flys good.
Old 07-18-2007, 09:43 PM
  #104  
firestone1121
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?


ORIGINAL: ziomarco

I have an OS 61fx in myST50, the only mod I had to do was carve out a bit on the bottom of the fuse where the stock pipe hits, very easy to do. what prop are you thinking of using ? this is my first 3D plane and am not to familiar with prop sizes on these planes.

i was thinking of going with a 12 x 6............. seems to be a fair prop. What is everybody else running and what are their results?? Like you, this is my first 3d also. do u have pics of the engine in the plane??
Old 07-18-2007, 10:01 PM
  #105  
mikejr718
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bennington, NE
Posts: 62
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

Well..... I have my ST50 with an O.S. 55AX with a macs pipe and 30% nitro and it is doing great, hovers around 3/4 throttle I am using a #8 glow plug and a 13x6 zinger wood prop. I have Futaba 9451s on everything but throttle there I have a S3003. The only thing I have to modify is the exhaust cutout for the macs pipe. Sounds really cool and 3ds very nicely Had a really good rolling Harrier the other day. This plane really likes the SFGs, they help alot in KE and rolling manuvers. I had originally bought this plane to put my saito 100 in it with a 14x4 but descided I would probably like it better with a lighter setup and a more aft CG.
Old 07-18-2007, 11:25 PM
  #106  
firestone1121
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?


ORIGINAL: mikejr718

Well..... I have my ST50 with an O.S. 55AX with a macs pipe and 30% nitro and it is doing great, hovers around 3/4 throttle I am using a #8 glow plug and a 13x6 zinger wood prop. I have Futaba 9451s on everything but throttle there I have a S3003. The only thing I have to modify is the exhaust cutout for the macs pipe. Sounds really cool and 3ds very nicely Had a really good rolling Harrier the other day. This plane really likes the SFGs, they help alot in KE and rolling manuvers. I had originally bought this plane to put my saito 100 in it with a 14x4 but descided I would probably like it better with a lighter setup and a more aft CG.
i have 3010's all around 3003 on throttle, where do you get the macs pipe??
Old 07-19-2007, 11:28 AM
  #107  
mikejr718
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bennington, NE
Posts: 62
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

LHS but you can also get them from macspro.com I have the one that was designed for the 46 FX I believe. Shaved off about an ounce and gives it more top end, Very good for climouts hovering ETC IMO... I plan on trying an A5 glow plug too because of the higher nitro content.... That might help give me the most out of my setup.
Old 07-19-2007, 09:22 PM
  #108  
mciaglia
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 118
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

How do you think a YS63 would do in this plane?
Mark
Old 07-19-2007, 09:32 PM
  #109  
Ken6PPC
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 883
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?


ORIGINAL: mciaglia

How do you think a YS63 would do in this plane?
Mark
My Saito .82 flys my ST50 with lots of authority, so the YS should be fine!
Old 07-23-2007, 09:58 AM
  #110  
rmazuera
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 70
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

I am finishing my ST 50 with a YS-91AC. I will be using a 16-4W. Modified the engine mount. The engine is inverted. I am trying to move the tank to the CG but I am having problems with the layout. Has anybody moved the tank to the CG?
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Om32061.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	34.6 KB
ID:	728536   Click image for larger version

Name:	Vq51770.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	40.3 KB
ID:	728537  
Old 07-23-2007, 11:54 AM
  #111  
mikejr718
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bennington, NE
Posts: 62
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

Are most people with saito 82s using the tru turn wide spinner? I cant get props to fit in the Great Planes ones....
Old 07-24-2007, 07:36 AM
  #112  
Mr Lee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: JHBJHB, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 161
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?


ORIGINAL: BigDuke1

I mounted a OS FS-91 in my ST 50 and the plane flies great. You need to shave the inside of the engine mount to make the OS fit but it's fine. It's been flying great and the CG was right on the money with the weight of the FS-91. I like it so much that I'm building a ST 90 and going to plant a O.S. FS-120S-E in it.

"Remember, if a little is good, more is better, and to much is just right"
Hey BigDuke1!

Are you still using the original motor mount? How is it holding up?

How many flights do you have on it now?
Old 07-24-2007, 03:51 PM
  #113  
DavidCYWPilot
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Clay Center, KS
Posts: 75
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

Yeah, I just finished mine July 4th. I put a Saito .91 4 stroke engine with a 15X4 prop. I love it!
The SFG's really help a lot with knife edge, harriers, rolling harriers, and hovering! It will transition from an inverted flat spin into a knife edge spin easilly or to an upright spin. Does a slow climb in a helicopter.

Like a dummy I didn't recheck all the bolts during the first couple flights and lost the landing gear in flight. I dead sticked it into a bean field and only damaged one SFG and a small puncture in the fuselage skin. So, I ordered a couple replacement SFG's from Hangar9. I figure for the cost, it is better for them to build them than for me to fix damaged ones.

Although in a dozen flights since then I haven't scaped the skin off the bottoms of one, I would like to find a simple light weight plastic skid to put on the bottoms of the SFG's. Any ideas?

Otherwise it was an easy build. I spent time gap sealing the aileron hinges with monokote even though I didn't need to. It took about 6-10 hours with the larger engine. I saw some posts on electriflying this model on RC universe.

I've also flown it without the SFG's and left the plugs out. It flew fine. No adverse stall problems.

It wobbles a little in the Harrier,compared to flying a simulator, but that's pretty typical. With the SFG's and some mix (Ailerons both up 15 degrees at near full up elevator) it works well.

Somewhere on the net, (YouTube.com) I think, I found a video of a guy flying one doing lots of rolling harriers just off the ground.

Great plane for my money.
David
Old 07-24-2007, 03:54 PM
  #114  
DavidCYWPilot
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Clay Center, KS
Posts: 75
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

I was at a fun fly on the 4th and someone else had one. They had not flown it with the SFG's yet. They had a .46 two stroke engine, I think. They said it was a little underpowered in that configuration.
David
Old 07-25-2007, 12:20 AM
  #115  
mikejr718
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bennington, NE
Posts: 62
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?


ORIGINAL: DavidCYWPilot

I spent time gap sealing the aileron hinges with monokote even though I didn't need to.
With the SFG's and some mix (Ailerons both up 15 degrees at near full up elevator) it works well.

I will have to try these........
Old 07-30-2007, 12:17 AM
  #116  
mikejr718
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bennington, NE
Posts: 62
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

Hey guys a little update, (bumping the thread too kinda ) I just got a DX7 installed in the ST50 and got some mixing programmed in. 50% differential on teh ailerons and when activiated a mix with elevator to ailrons abot 15 degrees of reflex at close to full deflection on the elevator. Will have a flight report tommorrow.
Old 07-31-2007, 03:21 PM
  #117  
mikejr718
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bennington, NE
Posts: 62
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

The ailerons up at close to full up elevator seemed to help in walls but didn't do any think but make it tipsy in a harrier... will try the reverse, Close to full up elevator I will have a little down ailerons....
Old 07-31-2007, 09:51 PM
  #118  
RodanAZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Prescott Valley, AZ
Posts: 287
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

What kind of flight times are folks getting with the stock tank on .82 or bigger four strokes? I'm going to be using a YS .91, and I'm wondering if I should get a bigger tank... just started assembly today.
Old 08-01-2007, 09:30 PM
  #119  
rmazuera
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 70
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

According to some info I read on YS CLUB forum, the YS91 will consume 1.1 oz/min. I replaced the 11 oz tank with a 10 oz on CG and a 6 oz up front. It looks like I overdid it. I'm flying around 13 minutes and when I land, the 6 oz is still full. Thinking or replacing it with a 2 or 4 oz. Check picture. The plane flies great. I mounted my engine inverted.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Lj23851.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	38.6 KB
ID:	733971  
Old 08-03-2007, 04:37 PM
  #120  
RodanAZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Prescott Valley, AZ
Posts: 287
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

Thanks! I think I'll stick with the stock tank, as 8-10 minute flights are fine with me.

Did you try to balance the plane with the tank in the stock position?

I'm worried I'll have to add weight to balance the plane unless I move the tank back.
Old 08-03-2007, 07:56 PM
  #121  
rmazuera
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 70
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

I had to install my battery (6 Volt 2500 mah) way in the back as far as possible. It is still a little nose heavy. I am balancing with no gas in tanks.
Old 08-03-2007, 10:02 PM
  #122  
firestone1121
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?


ORIGINAL: ziomarco

I have an OS 61fx in myST50, the only mod I had to do was carve out a bit on the bottom of the fuse where the stock pipe hits, very easy to do. what prop are you thinking of using ? this is my first 3D plane and am not to familiar with prop sizes on these planes.

does it look ugly with a portion carved out or did you re-cover the bottom? just ordered the os .61fx today so im just wondering
Old 08-06-2007, 06:58 PM
  #123  
ziomarco
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amherstburg, ON, CANADA
Posts: 43
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

It looks neat and tidy. I will post a pic once I get my camera back.
Old 08-06-2007, 08:25 PM
  #124  
RodanAZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Prescott Valley, AZ
Posts: 287
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

Just finished mine today.

YS .91, went with two tanks like rmazuera, an 8 oz over the CG, and 6 oz up front. It needed 1.5oz at the tail to balance in the stock location. Dry weight came in at 7.5 lbs.

I'm planning on running a 15x4W APC, if it shows up on time... I'm planning to maiden it Wednesday AM. [8D]



Old 08-07-2007, 12:49 AM
  #125  
firestone1121
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

where are your cowl cutouts? on the bottom? curious. looks awesome! really needs the prop tho lol

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.