Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > 3D Flying!
Reload this Page >

Showtime 50 anyone?

Notices
3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

Showtime 50 anyone?

Old 08-07-2007, 08:39 AM
  #126  
RodanAZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Prescott Valley, AZ
Posts: 287
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

Motor is inverted, and the cutout is on the bottom. You can just see the rocker cover sticking out, and in the top pic you can see the exhaust sticking out at the bottom rear of the cowl. No muffler, just straight pipe...[>:]
Old 08-07-2007, 07:11 PM
  #127  
firestone1121
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?


ORIGINAL: ziomarco

It looks neat and tidy. I will post a pic once I get my camera back.
id like that thanx!
Old 08-07-2007, 07:16 PM
  #128  
firestone1121
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

all this looks tough to do from a noob point of view. Should i mount the .61 fx the same way as the instructions say? or does it hafta go in a certain special way. how would i know the correct way to mount it? like i said b4 this is my first arf so i am kinda anxious about it sorry guys maybe i should put this in the beginners section!
Old 08-08-2007, 07:10 PM
  #129  
rmazuera
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 70
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

RodanAZ:
I have tried various props and next time I will try a 17x4W. The 16x4W was spinning 10300+. I want to keep in the 9500's. I'm using Cool Power performance 30% heli.

Old 08-09-2007, 01:19 AM
  #130  
RodanAZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Prescott Valley, AZ
Posts: 287
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

I had the YS .91 in an older Cap 231, and it would turn a 15x6 in the low 9000s on 15% (I'm at 5000ft). I'm switching to 20%, and hope to get around 9500. I'm going to try the 15x4W and 15x6 (and others if necessary). Gotta see what I like on this plane!

BTW, my maiden got postponed... in a test run (or test won't run, lol), I discovered a leaking o-ring on the motor, so I'm waiting for parts... hopefully Saturday.[:'(]
Old 08-13-2007, 12:07 PM
  #131  
rmazuera
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 70
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

I finally tried the 17x4W. Eventhough it was turning it fine, I am going back to 16x4W controlling the high rpm's. I cannot get the plane to stay in place while the engine is in idle. Also added 2 oz. of lead to the back of the plane. That took care of the nose heavy condition.
Old 08-13-2007, 12:58 PM
  #132  
RodanAZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Prescott Valley, AZ
Posts: 287
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

Well, I'm still frustrated...

My o-rings finally showed up Saturday (4 days for Las Vegas to Arizona...), and they sent the wrong ones.[:@]

Re-ordered this morning... hopefully next weekend.
Old 08-14-2007, 08:03 PM
  #133  
waross
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: merrillville, IN
Posts: 213
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

Just got the ST50 two weeks ago and dropped a O.S. 46 AX that I had sitting around in her. I had a 11 x 6 prop and took her out for a maiden. She flew ok and was on th emoney as far as trims go. I was afraid that the AX was not going to cut it. It flew but did not own the sky. I borught it home and thought darn did I make a mistake. I then changed to a 12 x 4 prop and took her back out. She became a he very quick. The 46 AX is more than enough engine. I can fly all the pattern stuff at half throttle and pull the plane vertical with no problem. Hovers at about half throttle. All that added weight of bigger engines add weight to the plane while this little 46 AX just pulls the ST 50 just fine.
I have flown without the SFG at this point. Was thinking about putting them on for a test.....anyone else have experience with them????
Old 08-14-2007, 08:32 PM
  #134  
firestone1121
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

did everyone here use the stock 2 line fuel tank included? think i made a classic mistake- its already installed with the engine, prop, spinner and cowl. its a real tight fit with the os .61fx cant even touch a line let alone disconnect and fill it!
*scratches head* "uhhhhh- how do i fuel this thing?" lol is there a way to add the extra line? the cap on the tank appears to have a "spare" hole. do i just need some steel tubing (or copper- whatever it is) to insert in the hole to make a vent line? think i can wiggle the exhaust tap line and use a fine needle nose. any thoughts??
Old 08-14-2007, 10:28 PM
  #135  
waross
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: merrillville, IN
Posts: 213
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

I carefully drilled a third hole in the rear of the tank at the top and then put a plastic fitting in using some plastic pipe glue plumbers use. Then put a fuel dot on the side attaching the hose to the third hole. Very clean set up and works very well without forcing fuel into the carb.
Old 08-29-2007, 08:13 PM
  #136  
firestone1121
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

how is the factory cg on this plane? got my st50 on the cg machine with the os .61fx and it is nose heavy by an ounce or so. should i make her slightly tail heavy?
Old 08-30-2007, 12:31 PM
  #137  
ski800rdoo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Prince George, BC, CANADA
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

I'm flying my second st 50 (there is a birmuda triange at our field) any how I installed a saito 91 with 15-4w on 30% nitro lots of fun. Has any one notice that as flight goes on the plane begins to act odd when hovering harrier rolls ect. This was happening to me? Then buy chance I discovered that that the motor heats up the factory motor mount so much that if you grab the prop it felt like the firewall or motor mount was broken so I pulled it installed a aliminium mount and plane is solid all day. Somthing people may want to check hate some to loose a plane to a $10 part.
Old 08-31-2007, 06:05 PM
  #138  
jeanyves0922
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Terrebonne, QC, CANADA
Posts: 27
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

Hello All,

I have read good things on the Showtime 4D and want nothing else + it really looks great.
I am buying my first 3D plane.

I have a Magnum XL Series 91RFS 4-Stroke and was thinking of the Showtime 4D 90. I read it was underpower for 3D.

1) Now I have to consider the Showtime 4D 50. Will the Magnum be too much at 22.4oz of weight? (see specs below)

2) If not, should I anticipate any problem?

Thanks,

Jean-Yves


SPECS: Bore: 27.7mm
Stroke: 24.8mm
Displacement: .91 cu in
Practical rpm: 2,000-11,000
Normal rpm: 9,500-9,600
Weight: 22.4oz
Prop Nut Size: 5/16-24
Length: 91.5mm - 3.60" (from backplate to front of drive washer)
Length: 120mm - 4-11/16" (from backplate to front of crankshaft)
Height: 121mm - 4.76" (from bottom of engine to top of head)
Width: 52mm - 2-1/32" (mounting hole centers-side to side)
Width: 25mm - 15/16" (mounting hole centers-front to rear)
Width: 42.6mm - 1.68" (crankcase width neglecting mounting flanges)
Recommended Prop Size: 13x8, 14x6
Old 08-31-2007, 10:14 PM
  #139  
firestone1121
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

i think your right on the money for a 4 stroke. never had one but i believe this plane required either a .46 2 stroke to a .91 4 stroke. check the specs for engine requirements on horizons website. it will tell u there.
Old 08-31-2007, 10:15 PM
  #140  
firestone1121
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?


ORIGINAL: firestone1121

how is the factory cg on this plane? got my st50 on the cg machine with the os .61fx and it is nose heavy by an ounce or so. should i make her slightly tail heavy?


anybody??
Old 09-04-2007, 07:46 PM
  #141  
rmazuera
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 70
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

I have a YS 91AC that is heavier than your Magnum. It flies very nice. I added 2 oz to the tail but later removed 1 oz. Nothing like having plenty of power. I am spinning an APC 16x6 using 30% nitro. Most of the time @ less than 50% throttle.
Old 09-04-2007, 08:22 PM
  #142  
RodanAZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Prescott Valley, AZ
Posts: 287
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

After much fiddling and not being able to get my YS 91AC to run, I punted and gave it to the local YS guru....

It's back, with a new cylinder head, and hopefully ready to rock...

Hopefully, I will FINALLY get to maiden this plane this weekend!
Old 09-04-2007, 08:40 PM
  #143  
rmazuera
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 70
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

Don't let anybody "expert" help you with the low needle. Unless they have YS's, they will think clockwise is leaning. CLOCKWISE will RICHEN the engine. 1-1/2 out from closed and 2 turns on the high needle, engine primed and 30% heli cool power and it starts in 1 or 2 flips. Tons of power. Great with the ST 50.
Old 09-04-2007, 09:02 PM
  #144  
RodanAZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Prescott Valley, AZ
Posts: 287
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

This guy is the YS guy around here... all of the local flyers that pylon race have him work on their engines... [8D]
Old 09-05-2007, 07:41 AM
  #145  
rmazuera
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 70
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

The 2 stroke YS engines don't have the low needle (I don't know if the Helis do). In fact, the first 4 strokes up to the 120 AC don't either. I don't know any Pylon racer with 4-strokers. Just strange.
Anyway, my ST50 can idle all day long and will not quit.
Old 09-05-2007, 02:57 PM
  #146  
jeanyves0922
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Terrebonne, QC, CANADA
Posts: 27
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?


ORIGINAL: rmazuera

According to some info I read on YS CLUB forum, the YS91 will consume 1.1 oz/min. I replaced the 11 oz tank with a 10 oz on CG and a 6 oz up front. It looks like I overdid it. I'm flying around 13 minutes and when I land, the 6 oz is still full. Thinking or replacing it with a 2 or 4 oz. Check picture. The plane flies great. I mounted my engine inverted.
Rmazuera and RodanAZ,

1) I know both of you changed the fuel tank. How is the tubing connection made? Never done this before. What size tanks did you guys end up using.
Let's assume big tank over CG is Tank #1 and smaller one behind firewall is #2

Is it:
- #1 to engine carb and pressure to fuel input of #2
- #2 pressure to exhaust
- fill both via #1 ?

2) How did you mount the second tank (have not received my ST50 yet)? The picture you posted was not too clear.
I am planning on using 8oz (main) and 6oz (firewall); what do you think?

3) Did you balance the ST50 with tanks full of empty?

With the Magnum inverted, there might (will) be an issue with tank height and since your setup seems to work, I'll use it.

Thanks

Jean-Yves
Old 09-05-2007, 06:23 PM
  #147  
rmazuera
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 70
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

Jeanyves0922,

1) I ended up using a 10 oz (#1) and a 2oz (#2) tank. I use a YS engine that doesn't use pressure of exhaust. In your case, pipe it as follows:
Engine exhaust to #1 pressure. #1 exit to #2 pressure. #2 exit to engine carb.
I use #2 tank as a header tank, very common in helis. It traps most of the bubbles sucked by the clunk in tank #1. Tank #2 doesn't have a clunk. Instead, it has the brass tube stop in the middle of the tank. I can only get 1 oz out. Than means I can also trap 1 oz of bubbles.
2) See picture for tank mounting.
3) You balance the plane empty.

In your case you may need a pump with this setup.

Good luck and have fun!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Sq45876.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	180.8 KB
ID:	757218   Click image for larger version

Name:	Hc91747.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	138.9 KB
ID:	757219  
Old 09-06-2007, 07:37 AM
  #148  
Pashka_22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Houma, LA
Posts: 112
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

rmazuera,

Very interesting! How is this setup working for you? Did you fly it yet? What engine do you use?

Pashka
Old 09-06-2007, 01:50 PM
  #149  
RodanAZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Prescott Valley, AZ
Posts: 287
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

Woo hoo! Ran two tanks (nice and rich, naturally...) through the freshly rebuilt YS this morning on the ground, and it runs GREAT!

Crossing my fingers for a maiden on Saturday...

I ran mine with a 6oz tank up front, and an 8oz over the CG. I mounted the rear tank on top of the factory radio tray, as all my radio gear is further back.

The carb line goes to the clunk (I did use one) in the front tank, the front tank vent goes to the rear tank clunk, and the rear tank vent goes to the pressure line on the YS. I'm also using a filler valve, but you get the idea. Not sure about your motor height, as noted, with the YS that's not an issue. I balanced mine empty as well. I figure a big advantage of this setup is that it will go a little more nose heavy as the fuel empties out, taming things a bit for landings...
Old 09-06-2007, 05:37 PM
  #150  
rmazuera
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 70
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Showtime 50 anyone?

RodanAZ,

What prop are you using and did you measure RPM?

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.