Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > 3D Flying!
Reload this Page >

U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Notices
3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Old 07-13-2005, 01:58 PM
  #2801  
Barry Cazier
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

raideron. Dang. Glad the damage was no worse.
Two questions.
1. Prop?
2. Do you want to buy a timer?

Also, my personal experience has been you propably won't use more fuel with the 91 in there. You will probably use less full throttle and thus will be operating the engine in the mid to low range and you will have better economy there. Most times I've gotten better milage with the bigger engines. One way you can tell is fly for a minute longer and if you deadstick at about the same time and tear the gear out again, it's getting about the same milage.
Thanks,
Barry
Old 07-13-2005, 03:39 PM
  #2802  
raideron
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
raideron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Mohave, AZ
Posts: 1,693
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Prop is a 13X4 Pro Zinger... As you can see it has had a pebble nick...
Can you sew it???
Timer...... I think I had less damage without a timer verses??:-) No, let
me condition my mind:-)... Which includes not letting the peanut gallery
to entice my flying:-)

With the YS, I do very little full throttle flying.. except for uplines and
hovers(now in this thin air).. Most is at 1/2-3/4... But the YS does run
dripping rich... So it maybe close to the same....

I like your test.... You know I will most likely test it that way:-0

You have a Great one.... My S.T. is on it's way:-)
Old 07-13-2005, 06:13 PM
  #2803  
gjeffers
 
gjeffers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Round Mountain , NV
Posts: 2,307
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

never a dull moment here, you guys are great one thing about a crash is its built better when rebuilt or you get to see that blessed brown truck and we all know how much fun that is,wait that is two things, oh well, cant wait till the weekend. keep er up Ron[8D]
the best thing is Barry is sounding like his old self again
Old 07-13-2005, 06:24 PM
  #2804  
cafusin
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mexico City, MEXICO
Posts: 35
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Hello,
I fly in Mexico City at an altitude of 8000 feet above sea level so we lose about 25% of power compared with sea level fliers. I´ve just bought a U Can Do .46 and I am not sure which engine to install. I have a Supertigre .75 2 stroke a .82 Saito 4 stroke and a OS .91 2 stroke. I´m not sure I want to install the 2 strokes due the inverted position of the engine. Since all of you have flied this plane and many people overpower it, any suggestions?

Thanks
Eugenio
Old 07-13-2005, 06:32 PM
  #2805  
raideron
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
raideron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Mohave, AZ
Posts: 1,693
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I tell you Gary... It's Great... A bit "HOT" My carport threm.
is showing 119... The one closer to the sun is at 125.....
No break on the AC... :-( Which means.. No work on the UCD
Old 07-13-2005, 06:40 PM
  #2806  
gjeffers
 
gjeffers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Round Mountain , NV
Posts: 2,307
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

cafusin, i have a saito 100 in mine and its just about right in the heat here(80deg in morning and 110 in day) and im at 1700 ft, it is over powered in the cooler parts of the year but i like it and fly accordingly, have over 120 flights on it and no structural problems. if i were you i wouldnt go less than the 82.

Ron, it is a little hotter there as its only 112 here and im not flying in it, no i wont, i wont go, will wait till sat morn where it is cast to be 82 at sunrise, just right and sunday too!!
Old 07-13-2005, 07:03 PM
  #2807  
Barry Cazier
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

cafusin, I would follow gjeffers advice and stick the biggest engine you can in that thing. Even if you have to add on to the front. You are gonna need it. And you should run high nitro. I always tell people when they ask me "why do you always use 30% nitro?" I say, "because I can't get 40%."
The other thing you can do, although a bit more difficult, is lower your elevation.
Hey, what's going on??!?!?!? It's 101 degrees in Idaho Falls, Idaho?!?!?!?! I can't believe it. Hurricanes in Florida and hot weather in Idaho. Somethings brewing...
Thanks,
Barry
Old 07-13-2005, 08:32 PM
  #2808  
EL TEMUCANO
Senior Member
 
EL TEMUCANO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Temuco, CHILE
Posts: 513
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

i always tell , i have an OS 46 ax on my ucd,, and all of you tell me put more power. No body said thats the correct engine.............. on flying circus some body tell me if i want fly like a foami, buy it, but .46 is´n the engine.
well thees week i change my engine and i put a super tigre g 90 with APC 14/6, i don´t fly yet but if thes weekend dont rain , i have a new experience with my UCD.

Sergio
Old 07-13-2005, 08:53 PM
  #2809  
former spad
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 146
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I have a Webra 50 2 cycle. Nearly 60 power, with nearly 46 weight. Hi compression engine that does not need high nitro.
Old 07-13-2005, 09:02 PM
  #2810  
gjeffers
 
gjeffers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Round Mountain , NV
Posts: 2,307
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Sergio, you are gonna have a Ballyour gonna be spoiled now and love big power, you come back and tell me im rightor wrong[]
Old 07-13-2005, 09:28 PM
  #2811  
EL TEMUCANO
Senior Member
 
EL TEMUCANO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Temuco, CHILE
Posts: 513
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Gary,
i think thees will be better, but i´m "worried" becouse the fuselage it´s so breakable.
a have to land so carefully.
i´m waiting saturday
Old 07-13-2005, 09:41 PM
  #2812  
gjeffers
 
gjeffers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Round Mountain , NV
Posts: 2,307
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Sergio, only the landing gear block proves to be weak, if you have already strengthend it the rest of the fuse and firewall should be ok, mine has held up real good, so no worry, have fun, and if the worst happens just blame your fingers
Old 07-14-2005, 02:35 PM
  #2813  
rtn9105
My Feedback: (35)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 878
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Has anyone had a problem getting their UCD to knife edge? My rudder won't hold the plane in knife edge, even with full rudder throw and full throttle, the plane still decends in knife edge. I have a 90oz servo on my rudder so I think it should have enough holding power.
Old 07-14-2005, 04:56 PM
  #2814  
raideron
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
raideron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Mohave, AZ
Posts: 1,693
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

rtn9105, Not sure what engine your using or if your CG is OK, But I have
no problem holding a K.E.... I have a YS 63 and my CG is close to 6", But
you do have to work the stick due to the coupling that this plane or maybe
just my plane has, that's on both elev. and ail...
Old 07-14-2005, 05:04 PM
  #2815  
Barry Cazier
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Mine will gain altitude in KE. I run the 82. Mine does a nice KE coupling as well. If you want to stop the coupling you gotta "fly" it. But I have plenty of rudder to KE loop. My guess, you're a little under powered or you're not getting full throws for some reason on the rudder. She'll do them.
Thanks,
Barry
Old 07-14-2005, 06:03 PM
  #2816  
gjeffers
 
gjeffers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Round Mountain , NV
Posts: 2,307
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

mine will knife straight up(when the wind blows hard enough)[X(]
Old 07-14-2005, 06:31 PM
  #2817  
TSuppa
Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hallam, NE
Posts: 61
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Well after much debate I purchased a Saito 100 for my new U-can-do. I just finished doing the break-in procedure. What a sweet engine. Can't wait to fly it. How do you prep the plane for re-entry into the atmosphere???
Old 07-14-2005, 06:48 PM
  #2818  
Barry Cazier
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

You'll love it. One of the neatest planes out there.
Thanks,
Barry
Old 07-14-2005, 06:48 PM
  #2819  
TSuppa
Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hallam, NE
Posts: 61
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

gjeffers,

what are you using for a prop?
Old 07-14-2005, 06:49 PM
  #2820  
Barry Cazier
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Swen are best.
Thanks,
Barry
Old 07-14-2005, 07:12 PM
  #2821  
EL TEMUCANO
Senior Member
 
EL TEMUCANO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Temuco, CHILE
Posts: 513
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

HELP......

WHEN YOU USED A HIGHT POWER ENGINE,,,,, YOU PUT WEIGHT ON THE TAIL??????????
I TRY TO PUT AT 6" THE CG BUT[][]

SERGIO
Old 07-14-2005, 07:18 PM
  #2822  
sctcrash
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
sctcrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Centennial, CO
Posts: 171
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I still havent gotten my knife edge down yet, but is is no fault to the plane. I think if I didnt have clumbsy thumbs I could do a KE loop. My biggest problem is the coupling, atleast what i think you are all referring to as coupling. When I am in knife edge the more rudder I give the more Aileron and Elevetor I have to give. I still have not been able to work Rudder, Aileron and Elevator all at once. Are there any good radio mixing tricks to help with these tendencies without hurting other tricks.
Old 07-14-2005, 07:21 PM
  #2823  
raideron
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
raideron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Mohave, AZ
Posts: 1,693
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

SERGIO..... Before adding weight, Mount the engine as far back as possible
on the mount... Move onboard equipment towards the back as far as it will
go... If you have a mini servo(throttle), that would help, The battery can be
placed as far back as it is needed with some simple mods to help with getting
the CG as you want with the use of an extension for the connection... But some
times you "may" still need some weight, But that should be the last resort....
Old 07-14-2005, 07:26 PM
  #2824  
raideron
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
raideron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Mohave, AZ
Posts: 1,693
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

sctcrash.. Not sure what radio you have, But most computer radios have
a rudder to elev. and or ail. mix...( both elev./ail.(slaves) moves when
you use the rudder(master), by what ever % you set on the radio) which
is switch activated.. So it's on/off when you want it. If you have a comp.
radio check your manual...
Old 07-14-2005, 07:31 PM
  #2825  
EL TEMUCANO
Senior Member
 
EL TEMUCANO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Temuco, CHILE
Posts: 513
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

YES, I´M USING MINI SERVO FOR THE THROTTEL AND THE BATERIES ARE UNDER THE NUT OF THE WING, FOR ENGINE THE INSTRUCTIONS SAID 5" (BACK PLATE OF THE SPINER FROM THE FIREWALL) I PUT AT 4 1/2" , DO ANYONE KNOW ANOTHER TIP FOR MOVE REAR THE CG????? I NEED MOVE 1"
SERGIO

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.