Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > 3D Flying!
 U-Can-Do 3d 46? >

U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Notices
3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Old 07-17-2008, 03:02 PM
  #6201  
Member
 
Toni Arte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kaarina, FINLAND
Posts: 30
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I finally managed to break off the landing gear on mine, after more than 1½ years and dozen of gallons of fuel burned. But yes, the wood block with the blind nuts isn't really attached too well into the fuselage... I had a really nice landing this time, but last time I was flying I actually somewhat crashed the plane (the only real damage was to the throttle servo mount plus a broken propeller), but didn't notice any damage on the landing gear area.
Old 07-18-2008, 03:09 PM
  #6202  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

The couple of ones that I have had break off have broken off fairly clean and were easy to fix.
Old 01-03-2009, 06:31 PM
  #6203  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lewis Center, OH
Posts: 20
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Building my UCD using the Du-Bro HD Adjustable Control Horns versus the supplied plastic horns. What is normally done with the almost 1" extra length of bolt? Should I cut these off with a Dremel and use thread locker?
Old 01-03-2009, 07:03 PM
  #6204  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Yes, that is what I'd do. Cut the excess bolt off and use thread locker on the nut. Be careful though....don't run the connector down too far and cause yourself a flutter problem because of bad geometry. That can really be an issue with the UCDs. They have a lot of surface area on the ailerons, elevators and rudder.

You'll simply love this plane. One of my all time favorites. Great fun.

Thanks
Barry
Old 01-03-2009, 10:36 PM
  #6205  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lewis Center, OH
Posts: 20
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Thanks. Fly a H9 Twist .46 and love it, looking forward to the UCD. I know the UCD cries out for a 4 stroke, but going to use what I have which is a .55 AX. Do you think that would be enough motor to pull out of a hover with a 12.25x3.75 prop?
Old 01-04-2009, 02:27 AM
  #6206  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Maybe...barely. I think you'll be disappointed with that engine. Many are running a Saito 100 on this plane. I personally use a Saito 82 on it. I think a YS63 is another good choice....some guys even use the Saito 125...but that's overkill. But this is a big airplane. You need a pretty good sized engine to make it live up to all the hype. Too small of an engine and it's just an average plane.
thanks
Barry
Old 01-04-2009, 09:13 AM
  #6207  
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Grove City, OH
Posts: 811
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

everyone running their engines inverted? I did on my first one, but had some engine issues so I am considering mounting this one upright.
Old 01-04-2009, 11:17 AM
  #6208  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I have had 3 or 4 U Can Do 46's (lost count). Anyway, I have only used the Saito 82 on all of them and never have had any real problems with flooding or any problems starting them. Here's some tips on setup. You can make a loop in the fuel line that goes to the carb. That will help keep the fuel from trying to siphon into the carb when the engine's shut off. Don't install a Dubro Kwik fill fuel connection. It will eventually leak air and you'll have problems with it. Go with a 3 line system in the tank and the third line will be your fill line. You can use a fuel dot or just a plug in the line to make it simple to refuel. All these things have worked flawless on my Do's. When I go to start it up, I just open the throttle about 1/2 way and spin the prop with the starter to prime it. Then I close the throttle down to the idle postion and apply the glow ignitor and it starts right up. (everytime) Works great.
Old 01-04-2009, 11:29 AM
  #6209  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?


ORIGINAL: Barry Cazier

Maybe...barely. I think you'll be disappointed with that engine. Many are running a Saito 100 on this plane. I personally use a Saito 82 on it. I think a YS63 is another good choice....some guys even use the Saito 125...but that's overkill. But this is a big airplane. You need a pretty good sized engine to make it live up to all the hype. Too small of an engine and it's just an average plane.
thanks
Barry
Exactly what Barry said. I've seen much smaller engines used on them but you won't see much of the potential of the plane with them. Big thing with the Do's is to not fly them too fast. The will exploded. I've seen it happen.
Old 01-04-2009, 12:36 PM
  #6210  
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Grove City, OH
Posts: 811
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Thanks for the tips, RClement. I agree carzy power on a UCANDO is good as long as you use it power and not speed.
Old 01-04-2009, 02:49 PM
  #6211  
 
linkadrip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tehachapi, CA
Posts: 1,442
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

UCAN DO DEATH.[sm=what_smile.gif]
Well today the UCan do exploded in mid air in a dive dont dive your UCD to fast or the wing will fail and you will have a UCando Death.[X(]
But it was a fun plane but they allhave an expiration date.
before and after..poor snoopy i'm begining to think he is bad luck..
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Gd93625.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	88.7 KB
ID:	1103418   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rm37066.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	75.4 KB
ID:	1103419   Click image for larger version

Name:	He97349.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	282.7 KB
ID:	1103420  
Old 01-04-2009, 03:02 PM
  #6212  
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Grove City, OH
Posts: 811
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Sorry, linkadrip! Looks like my first UCANDO. It fell out of a hover started straight down and the left wing exploded. Flyying with half a wing was fun. I did get it leveled out inverted.......for about 10 secs.
Old 01-04-2009, 06:02 PM
  #6213  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?


ORIGINAL: rightflyer

Thanks for the tips, RClement. I agree carzy power on a UCANDO is good as long as you use it power and not speed.
You're welcome. I wish I could get another one but I have a Frenzy with a Saito 125 and it's about the same only a tad bigger. They are nice planes too. (more capable in some respects) [X(]
Old 01-09-2009, 09:57 PM
  #6214  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Jonesboro, AR
Posts: 70
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I have a UCanDo46 that I flew with a Saito 100.

I have converted all of my 46 and smaller planes to Electric.

The UCanDo was last since I wanted to do it right.

If flys on a 5 cell 5000 lipo with a Hypeiron 4025-10 motor and 15X7 prop.

It is not as powerful as with the Saito 100 but it is lots better than with the OS 70.

I did very little "converting".

I just cut out the bottom of the tray under the tank area so that the lipos slide in from the bottom standing up in the fuselage.

Servos and etc are just as they were with the Satio with the usual 3 in the tail and 2 in the wing.

It could be converted back to glow by filling in the tray area.

It still flys like a UCanDo.

Just quieter.

Larry

Old 03-13-2009, 04:32 PM
  #6215  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Boynton Beach, FL
Posts: 15
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

When i test the cg from front to back, the plane leans all the way to the left (the side the muffler's on ).. Does anyone else have that problem? And how do i fix it?
Old 03-13-2009, 08:21 PM
  #6216  
 
linkadrip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tehachapi, CA
Posts: 1,442
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

PROBLEM

Lateral Balance

a. Right aileron input needed to fly level? Yes - Left Wing is heavy. Balance with wood screws. or use trims in radio to get it to fly level

b. Left aileron input needed to fly level? Yes - Right wing is heavy. Balance with wood screws. Or use trim

All this infromation can be found if you search for it. {Google RC Airplane Balance}

I never worried about lateral balance to much unless it is excessive.

http://www.rcplanetalk.com/trim.html

http://www.rc-airplane-world.com/bal...airplanes.html

http://www.hooked-on-rc-airplanes.co...d-balance.html

http://www.rcaeronautics4dodos.filip...ianrecipe.com/

Many many places to find info on Balance.

When i had to do a lateral balance i just used wood screws in the Tip of the wing or if you really want to make it were you cant see it then place lead on the tip of the wing that is light till it balances then remove the covering on the tip of the wing and epoxy it inside the wing. But if you change engines then it may throw it off again and you would have to remove the covering and take the weight out what a pain. Just use wood screws in the tip of the light wing. i think my UCD was heavy on one side but i just flew it that way anyway and used the Radio trim to get it to fly level.

Old 03-14-2009, 02:11 AM
  #6217  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: nin, CROATIA (HRVATSKA)
Posts: 225
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

hello i read in in the forum that most people are using the saito 82 to 100. my friend is bringing me a u can do .46 from hungury in two weeks , i have a gms 61, i read about the speed problem it is ok , but would this be to big to fit or over weight , or should i have my sister bring me a os 55ax from the states next month, if any ony has any comments of what else is should do to buld it or have me get befor my sister gets here i would aprecater it . getting supplys in croatia is not easy no hobby shops here. thank you for the help
Old 03-14-2009, 02:22 AM
  #6218  
 
linkadrip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tehachapi, CA
Posts: 1,442
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

GMS 61 will be OK for the plane no problem. Put it in there and fly the Hell out of it. THE PLANE SHOULD HAVE EVERYTHING WITH IT EXCEPT THE ENIGNE & RADIO. Opps cap on sorry bout that.
Old 03-14-2009, 08:54 AM
  #6219  
My Feedback: (15)
 
tlandon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nokomis, FL
Posts: 99
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I flew mine with a TT .61. Flew great. However the OS .55 is really the perfect engine for that airplane. Thats what the Great Planes guys fly it with. I have seen their plane in person. Awesome. I think they were running 30% Nitro in their OS .55. Unbelievable performance and flying. Tons of power. Light wing loading.
Old 03-15-2009, 01:33 AM
  #6220  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: nin, CROATIA (HRVATSKA)
Posts: 225
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

thank for the info i juess i will do it with the gms 61
Old 05-31-2009, 10:52 AM
  #6221  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: nin, CROATIA (HRVATSKA)
Posts: 225
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?



<span style="FONT-SIZE: 9pt; FONT-FAMILY: Arial">Hello again, well I finally got the maiden done with the gms 61 . plane flies grate and grate vertical with a not broke in engine , I was not able to read all the post ,I have  a small question , when flying <span style="mso-spacerun: yes"> </span>straight is it normal for the plane at full throttle to go straight up .

</p></span></p>

<span style="FONT-SIZE: 9pt; FONT-FAMILY: Arial">Should I mix in elevator or should I shim the engine down?

</p></span></p>

<span style="FONT-SIZE: 9pt; FONT-FAMILY: Arial">Also can I mix in flaps to slow it down for a landing in a fenced in soccer field?

</p></span></p>

</p>
Old 05-31-2009, 04:54 PM
  #6222  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 582
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

the best thing to do is add down thrust, but you never want to fly a UCD straight af full power
Old 06-16-2009, 08:50 AM
  #6223  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
raideron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Mohave, AZ
Posts: 1,693
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?


elvir

You could mix in flaps for landing... But the "Do" Loves to fly slow... It will crawl in
for a landing no problems at all.  The "Do" loves slow... Completely hates speed runs...
it will accept hi speeds breifly, but will let you know when you use it too much....

Ditto on what 38 said...

Hi guys.... It's been a while.....

Ron
Old 08-17-2009, 09:10 PM
  #6224  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lewis Center, OH
Posts: 20
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Hey guys, having big time problems with my inverted .55 AX on my UCD 46. Runs fine on both low and high end, but leave it at 30% throttle and it starts losing RPM's and hesitating when full throttle is given. I have switched to fresh fuel (Omega 10%), swapped out the glow plug and adjusted the low end carb adjustment, but nothing seems to work. I'm about ready to mount the engine right side up. Any ideas?
Old 08-21-2009, 02:55 PM
  #6225  
 
gjeffers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Round Mountain , NV
Posts: 2,307
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

my os 160 does the same thing with 10% omega so i went to 20% powermaster and pretty much solved the problem. my saitos run great on the omega 10%

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.