Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > 3D Flying!
 U-Can-Do 3d 46? >

U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Notices
3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Old 11-15-2009, 02:18 PM
  #6226  
Member
 
hiTmanhiT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Frde, NORWAY
Posts: 81
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Just bought one of these! My first 3D-plane.
Planning on putting a ASP .91 4-stroke in it.

But I wonder about something about the servos. Im planning on putting just 6 Futaba std servos in this this one. Is that going to work out fine?
Or do you recommend a high torque on f.ex on the rudder?

Thank you, looking forward to fly this one!
Old 11-15-2009, 02:54 PM
  #6227  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

The 91 will be an excellent engine. Nice combo.
Personally I'd go with better servos The ailerons are huge. I'd go with a minimum of HiTec HS 5645 or equililant. I'd actually buy even better servos. My theory is you can't have to good of servos. And you can always use them on a bigger plane as you grow in the hobby. That being said....I'd go with the 7955. That is an excellent servo and you can use it all the up to giant scale. And it'll make every model perform better.

I learned early to buy the good stuff. You won't be sorry.

Thanks
Barry
Old 11-15-2009, 05:09 PM
  #6228  
Member
 
hiTmanhiT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Frde, NORWAY
Posts: 81
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I'll probably go with the Align DS610. Heard very good things about them.
Old 11-17-2009, 04:58 PM
  #6229  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 167
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

" However the OS .55 is really the perfect engine for that airplane. Thats what the Great Planes guys fly it with. I have seen their plane in person. Awesome. I think they were running 30% Nitro in their OS .55. Unbelievable performance and flying. Tons of power. Light wing loading"

I have a .46 U Can Do powered with an OS .50 SX-H that flies the airplane outstanding. 12x4 prop and Tower muffler really rips it around well. Here are a few pictures of us playing! Have not tried the OS .55 yet but I'm sure that engine would work well to.
Jason
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Rp44272.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	26.3 KB
ID:	1315961   Click image for larger version

Name:	Cy77308.jpg
Views:	232
Size:	55.2 KB
ID:	1315962   Click image for larger version

Name:	Vb73934.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	57.3 KB
ID:	1315963   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fy72690.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	50.8 KB
ID:	1315964  
Old 11-20-2009, 12:26 PM
  #6230  
Member
 
hiTmanhiT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Frde, NORWAY
Posts: 81
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

So I just got this plane now. And im wondering which hardware I should replace?
And what should I replace it with?

I don't want to use CA-hinges on this. Heard something about good robart-hinges for this one?

I want to buy most of the stuff at tower-hobbies or hobbycity, or whatever store that ship to norway.

Thank you you for recommendations.
Old 11-26-2009, 06:21 AM
  #6231  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

To my many old friends on this thread......Have a great Thanksgiving Day. My life is loaded with blessings and my gratitude is overwelming. I hope yours is the same. It's not a perfect world....but it still has much to be grateful for.

thanks
Barry
Old 11-26-2009, 11:00 AM
  #6232  
 
gjeffers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Round Mountain , NV
Posts: 2,307
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Back at you Barry, and to all my old friends here at RCU. I think we all have a common blessing to be thankful for and that is out troops overseas, because without them we may be eating something besides turkey

now......where is that turkey.......[:-]
Old 11-26-2009, 01:18 PM
  #6233  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lewis Center, OH
Posts: 20
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Hey guys, Happy Thanksgiving to all. Do you think I could get away with a 13x4w prop with a 55 AX?
Old 11-26-2009, 02:02 PM
  #6234  
 
gjeffers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Round Mountain , NV
Posts: 2,307
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

you can fly it with a .55 ax, but for the true potential to be brought out of this plane it needs a saito .82-1.00 or equivilant IMO.
Old 11-27-2009, 06:10 PM
  #6235  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lewis Center, OH
Posts: 20
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Understood, however, I don't have $300 to drop on a Saito 82 right now so I'm stuck with the OS 55 AX. Really need to know if the 13x4w is too much prop for the 55 AX.
Old 11-27-2009, 06:43 PM
  #6236  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Nutley, NJ
Posts: 2,322
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?


ORIGINAL: F4FWildcat

Understood, however, I don't have $300 to drop on a Saito 82 right now so I'm stuck with the OS 55 AX. Really need to know if the 13x4w is too much prop for the 55 AX.
The 13x4 is right for the .55. Enjoy!
Old 05-07-2010, 02:47 PM
  #6237  
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Boring Essex, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Just thought i'd give this thread a bump as i've just built and flown my UCD46 which i've had for almost 4 years and never got around to bolting together.

Saito 82
20% nitro
3004 servos
3010 on rudder
Standard hardware
5" c of g

No beefing up of airframe or undercarriage.

Flies a treat with unlimited verticals and with half throttle stooging around it hasn't exploded yet

Anyone else still flying theirs or have things moved on?
Old 05-08-2010, 10:13 AM
  #6238  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lewis Center, OH
Posts: 20
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Yep, still flying my UCD 46 with CG all the way to the rear limit. Running OS .55AX with 13x4w prop on 10% nitro. I think it may be too much prop for the .55AX; not quite as much vertical compared to 12.75x3.25. What size prop are you using with your Saito 82?
Old 05-08-2010, 01:39 PM
  #6239  
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Boring Essex, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Using a 14x4W on the Saito. Tacho's at 9600-10000 rpm
Old 01-16-2011, 12:46 AM
  #6240  
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: hermosillo, MEXICO
Posts: 79
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Hi guys

I want to know if there are some mods for this airplane to improve it´s performance, don´t get me wrong I love this plane, I am in the second one, but I just would like to experiment a little with it to see if I can get out a bit more from it. If there is any mod that has been seen on this thread can you tell me the page, because it´s really too long XD too read it all, i have read like 40 or so pages but I just got tired looking if there is any mode and RCU search is not helping a lot

Thanks for any info
Sergio
Old 01-16-2011, 09:25 AM
  #6241  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Fred Dings II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 209
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Jason, have you tried or been able to do an inverted or upright climbing flat spin?

Regards, FRED
Old 01-17-2011, 09:28 AM
  #6242  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Fred Dings II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 209
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

ATTENTION


TOWER HOBBIES HAS THE U-CAN-DO 46 ON SALE FOR $134.97 WITH FREE SHIPPING, UNTIL JAN 31.

I have two set up for floats and thought I would buy one just because I am in love with the plane. I was surprised because of the
price and now concerned that Tower is going to stop selling the plane. All good things...

Regards, FRED
Old 01-20-2011, 11:05 PM
  #6243  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Fred Dings II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 209
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Hello, Blackbird

A mod I have made is the landing gear. I fly from a rough field and changed gear to the Dubro plastic gear. Also, I went to 1/4-20 nylon bolts instead of the 6-32 bolts supplied with the kit. I had to install 1/4-20 T-nuts also. This mod lets the bolts break and the gear come off without any damage to the fuselage.
Another mod is bracing the stab with wire. I fly a lot of manuevers that stress the stab because I have an O.S. .91 pumped 4C engine and floats that weigh 2 lbs.

I really enjoy the plane. I have 16 others but fly the U-Can-Do 46 mostly.
Old 01-21-2011, 04:43 AM
  #6244  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
mando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Dahlgren, IL
Posts: 142
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Hey Fellas, concerning the CG placement of the fuel tank, I'm having trouble locating a 9oz. or bigger tank that will fit in the fuse without cutting into the cockpit. Anybody got a link?

Thanks..........
Old 01-21-2011, 09:22 AM
  #6245  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Fred Dings II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 209
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Hello, Mando

Nothing wrong with cutting into the cockpit area, I would paint the inside of the canopy so the tank doesn't show.

However, I am curious. I haven't put a tank on the C.G. since I competed in pattern. For the U-Can-Do 46 the
tank is 9.13 oz and fits nicely against the firewall.

Just following the directions on this ship results in a great fun plane.

Regards, FRED
Old 01-21-2011, 09:46 AM
  #6246  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Fred Dings II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 209
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Notice the Dubro gear which I use for floats and field.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	vt56364.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	60.3 KB
ID:	1550872  
Old 01-23-2011, 10:47 AM
  #6247  
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: hermosillo, MEXICO
Posts: 79
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Thanks for the answer Fred

I don't have problems with my landing gear but I reinforced it with some light glass fiber from the inside and for the stab I used some carbon rods I had from a FF glider, but I'm looking for a mod that gives me better harrier performance, something to eliminate the wingrock, the ail/elev mix works but I want to know if there is something better to improve the harrier

Hope someone has found something that works
Thanks again
Sergio
Old 01-23-2011, 07:34 PM
  #6248  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Narvon, PA
Posts: 589
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Blackbird ,  Check out the Hanger 9 Showtime.  It has Side force generators , that are removable.  <div>My  bet this application will fix the UCD.</div>
Old 01-24-2011, 05:35 PM
  #6249  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Fred Dings II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 209
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Blackbird, I had trouble loading a file. Here is the Dubro gear I was referring to.

fred
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Db86526.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	60.6 KB
ID:	1552487  
Old 01-26-2011, 10:15 PM
  #6250  
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: hermosillo, MEXICO
Posts: 79
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I do have in fact the SFG´s of a showtime 50 I used to have one but the engine died DOD and well you know the rest, and I have been looking for the best way to put them on but also make them removable and not just glue them on the wing, and for the landing gear that gear from dubro must be strong enough to make harrier landings or just to absorb a less than perfect landing, maybe I will upgrade that too, I know someone who can make me a carbonfiber gear

Thanks for the answers guys

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.