Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > 3D Flying!
 U-Can-Do 3d 46? >

U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Notices
3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Old 01-25-2005, 10:57 PM
  #1226  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

All three of my UCD failures were pilot error. I just try to do more than I can, mostly because the plane inspires so much confidence, and is so fun to try new stuff with. I don't even have wires on mine. I think if you experienced failure it was because you may have flown it to fast. I know some people have done that. But don't worry, with the 82 you'll not really want to fly fast. It has so much power and it's so instant that mostly I like to just float along and then start a stunt with a burst of power either into a vertical run or flat spin, harrier etc. I did seal my hinge gaps. I think that helps with control and flutter. I would recommend doing that. I also use a APC 14x4W prop. This helps in keeping the speed down as well. I use 30% Nitro because I think it makes the Saito run quite a bit better. The extra power is nice too. But you'll have so much power you won't really have to worry about that. It's a great set up. The other thing I've done on mine is cut away the bottom of the cowl. I mirrored the fuse cutout. I have a big opening in the front and a much larger opening underneath. I mean I cut the whole underside of the cowl. This insures plenty of air flow which, of course, keeps power up because of a cooler engine. This is a secret, I believe, of 4 storke engines. Keep 'em cool. My exhaust doesn't even discolor. I can run the plane leaner without the heat resulting in better idle, transition and more overall power. Until I did that I experienced hard to tune engines and noticable power loss after 2-3 minutes into the flight. Other than these several suggustions, just enjoy the plane. It's a nice set up.
Thanks.
Barry
Old 01-25-2005, 11:13 PM
  #1227  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Hey Raideron, I do have a computer radio. It's a Futaba 6exa. Yea, it looks like from the picture that the linkage would touch but it doesn't. Looking at the picture of yours it looks like an upgraded type of linkage and looks like they are more durable. The one I posted here is the stock Hangar 9. I have the fuel tube as a retainer but haven't slid it into place yet........ I haven't flown my UCD yet. Maybe this weekend. The weekend weather hasn't been too good lately. I can't wait to get it into the air. I have read almost this entire posting about the UCD and look forward to flying mine soon. Have fun with yours and let us know what you think. Lately I have been flying an Ultra Stick 46 with an O.S. 70 and love it. My UCD has a Saito 72. Should be a hoot......... Rob
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Vt57500.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	56.9 KB
ID:	220703  
Old 01-25-2005, 11:37 PM
  #1228  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
raideron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Mohave, AZ
Posts: 1,693
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Thanks CeeGee, Still waiting on my flight pack before I give the UCD
my first flight... Till then I have been flying the heck out of my 4*60
Mag 91 4c... She can hover all day long, lowest being about 5' and
can K.E pretty good, But she needs more rudder.. Was looking at
the Twist with a Saito 82, but found this deal and I could not pass up,
This is for learning in progress for my next one.. either a Funtana 90
YS 110 or the EF Yak 68" with the same engine. Well you have fun
and thanks again!!
Old 01-26-2005, 12:01 AM
  #1229  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: charleston, SC
Posts: 18
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

CEEGEE.
I have a quick solution. I just a built a UCD 46 as well and had the same problem with the servos and not having a reverser, Did you know hitech and futaba work opposite of each other so I have a hitech on one side (elevator) and a Futaba on the other. That way you can have the push rods on top on both sides. I just returned a new servo for a new servo and used the opposite brand.
I fly mine with a os 70 and it is awesome (14x4 w prop). I call it the make me look good plane. I makes me look like I know what I am doing.
Old 01-26-2005, 07:53 AM
  #1230  
Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Peoria, AZ
Posts: 56
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

CEEGEE - how are you connecting the elevator servos to the receiver? Are you using a "Y" connector or two channels on your receiver? The 6EXA has one programmable mix that you could possibly use to operate the two elevator servos and you would not need an inline reverser, you could just reverse the slave channel to match you master channel. Check out you owners manual for the radio, I believe it talks about it on page 12.

Hope this helps.
Old 01-26-2005, 10:44 PM
  #1231  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Thanks guys. Cheli, thanks for the info. I didn't know that they worked opposite of each other. That's a good one to remember. Bambam-x, that is a brilliant idea. I could put one of the servos into another channel and mix them. I didn't think of that. Thanks again. Yikes!! This is getting exciting. Raideron, sounds like your 4*60 is set up perfect. I have a 4*40 with a TT 46 but haven't really flown it all that much. I built it from a kit and I guess I am a little leary of crashing it. It's my first kit and first coating job. They are ment to fly though. I'll get it up more with more confidence. Rob
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Da83138.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	76.6 KB
ID:	221127   Click image for larger version

Name:	To45144.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	62.5 KB
ID:	221128  
Old 01-26-2005, 11:23 PM
  #1232  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 673
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Do the two servos travel at the same rate. If not, it will make a twisting effect on the elevator and make your plane fly funny.
Old 01-27-2005, 12:37 AM
  #1233  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: LAS VEGAS, NV
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

that is a very nice job on your first kit CeeGee.
Old 01-27-2005, 12:46 AM
  #1234  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: charleston, SC
Posts: 18
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

they both travel the same -plus you can adjust the travel with the EPA setting on your radio
Old 01-27-2005, 01:13 AM
  #1235  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
raideron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Mohave, AZ
Posts: 1,693
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

CeeGee that is a very nice plane!! Great Job!!!! The 4*'s fly
very nice IMO.. My 4* is pretty much stock, I just changed the
rods to C.F., have longer arms and its a bit tail heavy... I love it!!
Old 01-27-2005, 11:27 AM
  #1236  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
fiveoboy01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Waunakee, WI
Posts: 641
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

ORIGINAL: fun_fly_3D

I have found that using spoilerons helps the harrier/elevator situation a little. There is still some wing rock though - enough in a harrier that I won't bring it much lower than 15 or 20 feet for fear of a wing dropping too much. I am going to try and move the CG back a little more and see what that will do for me.

Part of the problem is that the wing just doesn't want to stall fully which contributes to the wing rock problem.



this was written by fiveoboy on page 38 midway down. is what he said wrong. on another note if he is reading this i'd like to know exactly how you set the spoilerons ( full deflection on spoilerons with full deflection on elevator?) if not tell me what it is
Sorry for the late response, RCU likes to drop my subscriptions[:@]

In my opinion, the wing not stalling fully contributes to the wing rock. My lateral balance could also be screwy - I never did check it.

I do not have the spoilerons set to operate with the elevator. I use one of the 3-position switches on my 9C. Up is spoilers, and down is flaps. I am getting about 25-30 degrees of throw in either direction.
Old 02-12-2005, 10:27 AM
  #1237  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Has anyone had much success trying to hover the 46 UCD with a Saito 82? I have an 82 on order but now I'm not sure if it is enough power for hovering. I know it will get it to hover but will it hold hover well and be able to pull it up and out comfortably?
Old 02-12-2005, 11:31 AM
  #1238  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Yes! Don't worry the 82 will give you PLENTY of power. I have a UCD46 with an 82 in it. It is simply the most fun airplane I own. I fly at 4800' and I use a APC 14x4W prop. I use 30% fuel because I really like the way the high nitro runs in the four strokes, not just extra power, although that is nice, but for idle, transition, acceleration and just plane flying. It runs so much better. This plane will hover at approximately 1/2 throttle although I can't really tell because I end up moving the throttle alot when I hover. It will accelerate straight up out of a hover as far as you can see it. You can't get a better engine for this plane. I say again, It has PLENTY of power.
Thanks,
Barry
Old 02-12-2005, 12:08 PM
  #1239  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Thanks Barry. You're awesome! I have an APC 14x4w but don't plan to use 30%. It's too expensive for me. Usually I use 15%. Do you think it makes that much difference? Rob
Old 02-12-2005, 12:17 PM
  #1240  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I defintely think 30% is better but I flew on 15% for a long time until I discovered the difference. So 15% will work especially if you are at a low elevation.
Thanks,
Barry
Old 02-17-2005, 03:41 PM
  #1241  
Junior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: columbia, SC
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I PUT A MAGNUM XLS 46 WITH A MACS HEADER AND TUNER PIPE. I HAVE TRIED PROPS FROM A 10-6 TO A 13-6. THE BEST I HAVE HAD LUCK WITH IS AN APC 12-5. BUT STILL NOT GOOD ENOUGH. THE ENGINE IS TURNING PLENTY OF RPMS. REALLY SURPRIZED BY THIS MAGNUM. HAD 15-20 FLIGHTS AND LOVE THIS PLANE. ANY INPUT WILL BE NICE.
Old 02-17-2005, 04:07 PM
  #1242  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: LAS VEGAS, NV
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Hey rickevin, this is a gret plane indeed. Any 2 stroke smaller than a fifty somthing is going to be too small. I'm running an OS .61 FX in my UCD 46 and it's just enough. It would barely hover with a 13x4. had to switch to 13x5. That did the trick. but even then I don't have a butt-load of power to pull out. it's good though. This is without header and pipe, just the stock muffler with the baffle removed. I've heard that an OS .50SX-H (heli engine) works really good for this plane. But that's about as small as you can get. A regular .50 size engine won't pull it good enough. I don't see how GP could recommend a .46 size engine for this plane. it weighs over 6 lbs and has a pretty good length and span.
Hope this helps.
Old 02-17-2005, 05:04 PM
  #1243  
My Feedback: (22)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: palm harbor, FL
Posts: 2,232
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I have an older but brand new os 91.it seems that would be a good match.its not the powerhouse a new surpasss 91 has but its still a 90 fourstoke and I gotta believe it would fly that 46 well.I thought about the 60 size but frankly if I were to do that I would get at least a 100 or 120..so os surpass 91 in a 46 ..say its a go guys..
Old 02-18-2005, 08:31 PM
  #1244  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: olathe, KS
Posts: 121
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Had a BALL today flying my u-can-do!!! Using a magnum 70 rfs. I love this plane. Take offs are very short and quick. I did set the low rates to half of the low rates for the first 100 flights until I get used to it. The magnum is running a 13x6 for now until I get the engine completely broke in. For the first flight, I had the cg set to the recommend 4.75, but it was still squirrelly to me.(first 3-D plane) so moved it to 4 inches or close. (just moved the batt) Whole different plane and something I can get used to quickly with out having to add any weight to change the cg! I cannot wait to get back out to the strip and get it back in the air. I might try few loop and other maneuvers after a few flights!!!!!!!!!!!![&:]
Old 02-18-2005, 08:43 PM
  #1245  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Hey all, I'm just starting to fly this plane. I had a Saito 72 and switched to a Saito 82 and am in the process of putting some flights on the motor. I broke it in on the bench and only have about 5 flights on it. I love this plane. I am hearing some of the drumming noise coming from the wings that people have mention on this thread. Anyone one else notice this from their UCD???
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Bz78532.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	50.9 KB
ID:	231257  
Old 02-18-2005, 09:05 PM
  #1246  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: LAS VEGAS, NV
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I've heard about it and I beleive in one case it was fixed by adding some wing seat foam. Vibration on the wing saddle was causing vibrations and the drum noise.
Old 02-18-2005, 10:25 PM
  #1247  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: olathe, KS
Posts: 121
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I was wondering what that sound was. every time I was pulling up and adding throttle, I could hear that sound! Thanks for the info. I was wonding about some thing. Is every one putting the bigger engines on the plane for better hovering? Or for more speed? I know that I am still a long way from hovering, but I can take the plane down the runway at a brisk walk and still have control over the air plane(most of the time) Isn't there more to flying than just hovering? What about the blenders, spins, water falls and other maneuvers? How dose the u-can-do handle them? I am not trying to start any thing ( I have a hard enough time starting my engine)
Old 02-18-2005, 10:58 PM
  #1248  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: LAS VEGAS, NV
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

This plane is designed for 3D flight. that said, don't fly it fast buddy or it'll come down on ya and you could end up with a mess. the control surfaces on this plane are too large for speed flight. they will flutter and could potentially come off in flight... no control surfaces, no control, i'm sure you know what happens next.
Yes, everyone is putting a bigger engine in this plane than what was recommended by Great Planes. They make great planes but their assesment as to the appropriate size of an engine for this plane was way off. The maximum 2 strok recommended is a .50. Sure a .46 and .50 will fly it but don't plan on having much power for take off's, or any stunts for that matter. So you did right with your engine combination. I've read that the Saito 82 is perfect for this plane. 13 x 4 wide size prop sounds like that favorite out there. or 13 x 5 regular width prop. that's what I'm running with a .61 fx and it's great.
Glad to see that you love this plane. It love it too.
Old 02-19-2005, 07:00 AM
  #1249  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: olathe, KS
Posts: 121
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I like just putting around the sky with the u-can-do, very responsive but throttle management some thing that I am working on with this one. Did a figure 9 with my cap 232 after I lost it in the sun, but it is about fixed and ready to go back into the air in a few days. I am getting pretty good with it. Loops, split s, rolls, inverted, stall turns and tail slides are a blast with it. I just moved up to high rates on it when it hit the ground. I just have to work on one maneuvers each flight until I get it down and then move on to some thing else. Is there any place on the Internet that show a flight path for other aerobatic maneuvers?
Old 02-19-2005, 03:16 PM
  #1250  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Here is a couple of places that might help. [link=http://www.blaineaustin.com/]www.blaineaustin.com[/link]
Also try flyingcirkus.com

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.