Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > 3D Flying!
Reload this Page >

U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Notices
3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Old 02-19-2005, 03:31 PM
  #1251  
raideron
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
raideron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Mohave, AZ
Posts: 1,693
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Well I finally got my used 46 UCD in the air this morning)) I
went to the field with both my 4*60 and UCD, which I made fit
in my car. Was just going to tune the UCD's YS 63(older) and
fly the 4*.. Anyway I got the YS running good.. And I said what
the H_ll lets go for it..... She flew good!!! needed a couple clicks
ail. and elev.. and she was ready to go.... I got 5 flights before
the rain showed up...( I think my 4* is pissed at me) She hovers
very easy, have to mix for the K.E. but was able to complete a
circuit as is... inverted flight just took puching the sticks every
now and then.. And she landed like a baby... Pull out from a
hover was weak... I'm going to check the lifter gap, and may get
more power yet.. But over all I like it!!! Not to sure on the long
tail moment tho.. But she will let me "train more" for my next
plane.... F-90 or EF Yak.... I did get a few comments fron the
fellow club members.... they told me, Ron you know on a maiden
flight, You need to learn the plane, before you doing the stuff you
were doing....:-)))))
Old 02-19-2005, 04:52 PM
  #1252  
rclement
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Raideron, They do seem to be good for training. I don't have a whole lot of time with mine but very impressed with what I've seen so far. It is soooo... fun to fly. And it's very stable in the air. I noticed that inverted flight is easier than with my Ultra stick. I haven't seen any bad habits. Looking forward to learning some 3D with it.
Old 02-19-2005, 05:33 PM
  #1253  
raideron
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
raideron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Mohave, AZ
Posts: 1,693
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Hey CeeGee.. They are fun to fly, I couldn't believe how easy it hovered
which may get me in trouble.. The other day I have hovering my 4* about
10' with no problems, so I came around and tried it around -5'.. It was doing
good, But was having the "mind" low ground effect, thumbs:-( and she
started to fall out towards the belly, I wanted to catch it instead of pulling out
so I just gave it a few clicks of throttle, which was to slow and late:-( So it
kept falling, I slammed full throttle at about 2', but she kept falling until it
hit the wheel of the left side, then it recovered I came around and saw
the L.G. bend inward... So I came around and landed she landed fine but
leaning that way... But no other damage.... Hope I have as much luck with
the UCD.... Idid have a deadstick landing, which I greased in... Have to get
use to the 8oz tank, I like flying too long:-))).. It does do all better than the 4*
Old 02-19-2005, 09:25 PM
  #1254  
fun_fly_3D
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Edwardsville, IL
Posts: 221
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

O.K. guys, i'm back at it. I have been reading on the previous pages about terrible vibration on the saito .100. I own one and have had no problem, but here is my advice. Before first start:
1. Make sure the high-end needle is opened (counter-clockwise five turns).
2. Ensure that low end mixture screw is even with the throttle arm.
3. Make sure that the muffler is tight.
after break-in (about 1 and 1/2 gallons):
1. Start engine and open throttle fully.
2. Set high end to peak RPM. ( DO NOT BACK OFF AT THIS TIME)!
3. Attach glow driver
4. Quickly bring engine speed back down to idle.
5. Lean the low end (no more that 1/8 turns at a time) until the engine RPm does not noticeably (as heard by human ear) drop when glow igniter is removed.
6. When no drop in RPM is evident, richen the high-end mixture until the rpm drops about three to four hundred RPM. (I personally drop this much RPM to ensure a plenty (but not overly) rich setting. Drop less at your own risk.)
7. return to idle and get the lowest, most reliable RPM possible.
8. pinch the fuel line to make sure a slight increase in RPM is noticeable.
9. if no increase is heard slightly open the needle valve (in 1/8 turn increments) until one is noticable.
10. run the engine at different throttle settings and see if the vibration has improved.
11. make sure the valves are not overly tight. (just tight enough so that the feeler gauge does not fall out)

* a perfect running engine will be impossible to achieve until several gallons are run throgh. This post is just to eliminate the possibility of predetonation. For anyone who has a Saito .90 and a 1.00, the .90 will run smoother because the 1.00 has a longer stroke. THESE ENGINES WILL VIBRATE BECAUSE THEY ARE FOUR-STROKES! they definately will not break the carb off though! (if set as instructed above. My saito 1.00 ran rough until I got several gallons through it and set it as above. (low-end setting is critical.) also, the ticking very slight ticking is characteristic of a saito (unless it's valves are too loose.) if set properly, (valves) there should only be a very, very slight resistance to movement of the feeler gauge. However, I have never seen a Saito that didn't tick when not running. i.e. when being spun by hand. it should not be heard when engine is running. this means your valves are way to tight and being holding down your intake and exaust ports. this will cause damage. it is better to have valves slightly loose than even a tiny bit tight. I have seen engines in which the engine was way too rich which vibrating or too lean and caused vibration due to predetonation. if there is still a lot of vibration, use a cooler plug (O.S. type "F" plug). also make absolutly sure your prop is balanced.


Brian

P.S. If anyone has questions or comments plese do not hesitate to send me a Private Message and I will do the best I can at answering them. in fact I would appreciate some response E-mail. :-)
Old 02-20-2005, 06:44 AM
  #1255  
goldenclan
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: olathe, KS
Posts: 121
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

CeeGee, Thanks for the link, the videos are great also! Had an exciting time on the last flight, took off and seen something fall off of the air plane! It was black and landed at the end of the runway. My friend thought it was a wheel so he went down to look for it. While he was doing that I brought it back around for a very slow fly by to check it out and it turned out to be the plastic spinner nose cone that came off. So the rest of the day was all starting was done by a chicken stick. I am getting more and more used to the plane each flight. I just have to remember to keep it several mistakes high.
Old 02-21-2005, 03:11 PM
  #1256  
DPRC
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 67
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Got a question about the UCD with the Mag .91 on it. I just put it on the plane and the wing makes quite a bit of noise when I give it anything past half throttle. It sounds as if the covering is going to vibrate off. Is this normal. I love the way it flies with the Mag .91, just wondering if I'm gonna fly the covering off of it. Had a .46 on it before, WHAT A DIFFERENCE!!!

Thanks for any help you can give.

DP
Old 02-21-2005, 03:23 PM
  #1257  
raideron
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
raideron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Mohave, AZ
Posts: 1,693
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Hey DPRC... I just started flying my used UCD/YS-63 13X4W and have
no vibrations noise??? But it did have a soft mount on it... Not sure what
prop your running, but on my 4*60/ Mag 91 4c with the 14X6, I had a lot
more vibration and kept breaking off the exhaust pipe during hovering..
I since changed to a 14X4W and have had no problems... Or maybe
your covering just need a little heat to insure it's not loose???
Old 02-21-2005, 04:05 PM
  #1258  
DPRC
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 67
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I forgot to put the .91 was on the u can do .46. I'm wondering if that's to much for the wing. I will try heating the wing to see what that does. raideron, have you tried the Ucando .46 with your .91? Just wondering?

But you have no Monocote vibration?

Thanks,
DP
Old 02-21-2005, 04:10 PM
  #1259  
rclement
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Vibration noise! I'm dealing with the same issue. I have a new Saito 82 on mine and APC 14x4 W and get that vibration noise in the wings. I put some rubbery type shelf stuff on it where the wings would touch the fuse. I'll find out tonight if it helps. On mine it seems to be the motor vibrating and tranmitting to the wing. (lots of monokote on those wings and it's tight as a drum0
I was thinking about taking some foam rubber like from a mouse pad and fitting it behind the motor mount to see if it would absorb some shock. Any suggestions on that thought
Old 02-21-2005, 05:00 PM
  #1260  
raideron
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
raideron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Mohave, AZ
Posts: 1,693
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

DPRC... No I have not... But I must admit, I was thinking of doing it:-)
Don't get me wrong, the YS has enough power and the UCD is so
easy to hover, I guess I was just looking for more pull out power..

Have any of you tried K.E.'s?? Mine couples towards the belly as I guess
most do, But it also has some aileron coupling?? Is that normal for this
model??

CeeGee... Not sure if that would work, Guess it may help some, but your
bolts would still transmit a lot I would think.... I alwys thought about
soft mounts for the 4 c's, But brushed it off due to money and weight, But
I must admit I like the one on my UCD and think I'm going to use another
for my next project with the YS-110....
Old 02-21-2005, 07:04 PM
  #1261  
fun_fly_3D
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Edwardsville, IL
Posts: 221
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

how much time have you had on the engines? I'm assuming the engine is set right. Is the prop balanced? just some ideas.
Old 02-21-2005, 07:19 PM
  #1262  
raideron
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
raideron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Mohave, AZ
Posts: 1,693
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Hey Fun_FLY_3D ... If your talking about my YS63... I'm not really sure..
The member I got it from just said good running but "older" ... I'm still
working on tuning.. She does seem to run rich, But not through needle
valve settings(I think) but maybe the Reg.... I thought the reg screw
just stayed even with the case... But after reading the YS info, I guess
maybe not, and was going to mess with it next time at the field.. So
do you know which is it??? She runs well, but seems to load up anywhere
from fast idle to mid range.. But for my 9 flights, she has stayed running
except for two (M.T. tank) deadsticks... I'm not use to the little8oz tk. yet
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr51266.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	100.8 KB
ID:	232741   Click image for larger version

Name:	To45869.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	107.6 KB
ID:	232742  
Old 02-21-2005, 09:41 PM
  #1263  
rclement
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Hey Raideron, I like your spinner. Looks cool. Well, I got some more time in on the UCD this evening. Man this plane is fun. I'm just getting to know it more now and WOW!! Very FUN!! A guy next to me saw me coming in for a landing and said "hey that's not fair" He was referring to it just floating in. The rubber strips that I put in the edge of the fuse to quite down the vibration seem to help a little but not take it completely away. I would think that what might work is to take a slight amount of the fuse edge off and add some thicker rubber, like mouse pad rubber. That would really isolate the wing. One guy there mentioned that maybe the wire leads to the servos might be vibrating along with the wing. He said to try adding some heat to the monokote area where the wires are and they might stick to the monokote. Might work.
Old 02-22-2005, 12:49 AM
  #1264  
raideron
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
raideron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Mohave, AZ
Posts: 1,693
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Thanks CeeGee, It's a 2" wide blade trueturn, waiting on the
fillers before I put the cowl on.. And I did not feel safe using
just one nut, as my starter would not work when I added the
spinner nut as the locknut... Yeah I like the UCD, somethings
look a little different because of the long tail moment, But its
all good... On the fuse sealers/pad... I've used self adhesive
foam tape weatherstrip.. 3/8"wx 1/4"thick and comes in I think
15+' roll from like walmart, Ace or home depot not sure where
I do not have any on the UCD but have used them in my 4*60
and Avistar with great success not so much for noise but for
sealing the area.. Trying to "stick the servo wires by just heating
the surface would be very lucky IMO... I did not want to have
two extensions on each servo i.e. one each that stays on the
reciever and the other on the servo leads.. So I pulled the servo
ends as far out the wing center as I could and used some sticky
patch covering to hold in place, which leaves just a short amount
left out the wing for my connection, makes it a little harder to
connect the servos, but I only use 1ea. servo ext.... and I'm sure
there's not much slack in the wings to move around..
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ge95074.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	63.1 KB
ID:	232967   Click image for larger version

Name:	Up48675.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	87.0 KB
ID:	232968  
Old 02-22-2005, 10:42 AM
  #1265  
DPRC
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 67
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Ok, so your saying the extra "padding" helped some. I've got a great running engine ,Mag .91, with a balanced 15x4 , the coverign is as tight as drum. (I think that's why is sounds so loud)

What is it you are saying about he servo arms?

Any other suggestions?
DP
Old 02-22-2005, 02:31 PM
  #1266  
raideron
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
raideron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Mohave, AZ
Posts: 1,693
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Hi people, My UCD does have a little vib. sound at a certain rpm, but
not bad... I may add the weatherstrip, But most likely I'll just fly as is
it's no big deal... I did get the YS 63 running like a top.. I finally tached
it and with the 13x4 it peaks at 11+... So I guess a 14x4 will be Great:-)
the quest goes on to have my sticks move as my mind tells it to:-)) Or
maybe I should say what the plane is telling me to do:-) Another tip...
don't activate spoilerons during take off, it makes it a little harder to
get off the ground.... I guess I accidentally hit the switch as I ran checks
before take-off:-(... And to make it worse I wanted to get a long slow
run to take-off just to track in the higher winds we had, anyway I had
the speed but was keeping it on the ground and plan to lift-off close to
the end of the runway, but as I "slowly" pulled on the stick.... Nothing??
I still wanted it to look nice, So I just pulled a little more... Nothing???
finally I gave it a lot of pull as I was just going off the runway's end and
off she went:-))))))))) But you know the worse part... I knew the plane
was flying different, But I never looked at the switch.... Maybe that's
why the plane did not float as much as I thought it would while landing
into the higher wind..... As I taxied back I see the ailerons sticking up..
You live and learn they say:-) Over all a Great Day!!

DPRC... If I did not miss it I believe CeeGee was talking about the servo
wires(maybe) in the wing vibrating up against the covering... and might
be causing some of the noise... But it has to be really loose to be doing
that???
Old 02-22-2005, 05:39 PM
  #1267  
EL TEMUCANO
Senior Member
 
EL TEMUCANO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Temuco, CHILE
Posts: 513
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

HY GUYS,,,,

I´M LOOKING FOR A VIDEO OF U. .46 BUT I ONLY FOUND THE TOWER ONE (9 SECONDS).

DO SOMEBODY HAVEONE ?????????????????????????????????????????????????? ??????

THANKS.
Old 02-22-2005, 06:57 PM
  #1268  
Barry Cazier
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

RCU has written a review on both UCD planes. They both have nice videos. You can get them on this website or you can go to Tower Hobbies and act like you're going to purchase a plane and on the picture you will see the review. On the review pages you will see the link to 4 or 5 videos.
Thanks,
Barry
Old 02-22-2005, 07:08 PM
  #1269  
EL TEMUCANO
Senior Member
 
EL TEMUCANO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Temuco, CHILE
Posts: 513
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

YES TOWER HAVE ONLY ONE UCANDO VIDEO, AND I READ ABOUT 1,5 HOUR THE 2 FORUMS ABOUT UCANDO AND I DONT LOOK VIDEOS [][][][].......

SERGIO

Old 02-22-2005, 07:35 PM
  #1270  
fun_fly_3D
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Edwardsville, IL
Posts: 221
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

ORIGINAL: raideron

Hey Fun_FLY_3D ... If your talking about my YS63... I'm not really sure..
The member I got it from just said good running but "older" ... I'm still
working on tuning.. She does seem to run rich, But not through needle
valve settings(I think) but maybe the Reg.... I thought the reg screw
just stayed even with the case... But after reading the YS info, I guess
maybe not, and was going to mess with it next time at the field.. So
do you know which is it??? She runs well, but seems to load up anywhere
from fast idle to mid range.. But for my 9 flights, she has stayed running
except for two (M.T. tank) deadsticks... I'm not use to the little8oz tk. yet
well, raideron, it really sounds like a poorly set low end. If you are having problems with the engine between high IDLE and mid range (not above mid range) That is the low end. I am can say this almost certainly that it is too rich, but to be absolutely certain, I will need to ask a few questions. does it die right away when throttle is quickly advanced, or does it stutter first for a few seconds then die? if it quits right away, it is too lean. if it stutters, it is too rich. I am not real familiar with YS engines, but a guy at the fiels had a .91 and he said on his low end was reversed from other engines. (i.e. when turned counter clockwise instead of richening it is leaning, clockwise is richening. however this is usually only the case with an air-bleed carb. however read your manual if you have it, and see what it says.

please check these things and write back and i'll help you as best I can from there.


Brian
Old 02-22-2005, 07:53 PM
  #1271  
raideron
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
raideron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Mohave, AZ
Posts: 1,693
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Thanks for the info fun_fly_3D, I did get it running like a top today,
I just made a few adjustments on the Regulator screw.. all else was
set good.. No loading up, Idle down to around 2400, Transitions like
a rocket and it tachs at 11+ with the 13X4W... Going to a 14X4W now:-)
I love it.... Soon to try the 20/20 for even more eumfff... I might buy
the whole case of PowerMaster 20/20 @ $15ea.... Can't beat it...

Yeah that's the way the low needle valve on the YS's are, open for
a leaner mixture and close for richer....
Old 02-22-2005, 11:26 PM
  #1272  
rclement
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

More fun flying today with the UCD. What a blast to fly. With my new Futaba 9C set on high rates this plane will do just about anything. Makes me look good at flying. Raideron - When I built this plane I put a Y harness in the same length that is mentioned in the build manual and it is way too long. The ends of the servo wires just stick out of the hole in the wing so a Y harness of only about 6" would work. I had shoved all the extra wires into the wing space so I'm wondering if that could be contributing to the rattle from the wing. My former instructor says it sounds like a snare drum. [:-] Also I'm noticing that the motor is transmitting quite a bit of vibration. I think I'm going to look into some way to isolate it. The vibration keeps breaking the wire going to the remote ignitor plug.[>:]
Old 02-23-2005, 12:21 AM
  #1273  
raideron
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
raideron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Mohave, AZ
Posts: 1,693
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Thats a lot of shaking CeeGee... are you sure your prop is balanced?
Mine has a slight hum at a certain rpm, but it's not bad, and the soft
engine mount seemd to work well... Yeah I'm just using the servo
wires and one eack 6" ext.. 2 channels on the ail. and elev. If you
are stuffing your wires in the wing, you could wrap them in?? foam
and tape it, I'd much rather have them in the fuse.. I stuff the
remaining 2/3" towards the tail of the plane on both of my ext.. as
such
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Yw68372.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	89.5 KB
ID:	233417  
Old 02-23-2005, 12:36 AM
  #1274  
rclement
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Thanks for the info Raideron. I think I'll order a prop balancer tomorrow. It's probably better than the way I was doing it. Gotta go............. Rob
Old 02-23-2005, 10:58 AM
  #1275  
raideron
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
raideron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Mohave, AZ
Posts: 1,693
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I just use a thumb balancer, And yes I read most the info about
the non-need to balance our sized props.. It's true APC props
come pretty much right on, but had a few that were a little off,
and I do at times (very few:-)... "ground trim them" It seems
a waste to just trash them, So I make adjustments to my now
shorter prop and use painting one prop tip end a little wider if
needed... Is this correct???? who knows, But it works for me:-)

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.