Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > 3D Flying!
 U-Can-Do 3d 46? >

U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Notices
3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Old 02-23-2005, 11:41 AM
  #1276  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Thanks Ron, I just ordered a prop balancer. It certainly can't hurt to check to see that they're perfectly balanced. I needed to order some other stuff anyway. Gotta keep the addiction going right. What other planes do you fly Raideron?
Rob
Old 02-23-2005, 11:59 AM
  #1277  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
raideron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Mohave, AZ
Posts: 1,693
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Pretty much the UCD now.... Before that my 4*60.. I have a Dazzler
that was given to me complete by my ex-trainer... But it stays home
now, Of course my Avistar.. Which is "STILL" waiting for floats... and
a Hobbico SuperStar EP I got for the grandchild which he does not
use any more:-(... Oh and the member that I got the UCD from is going
to give me his E.F. 540T profile, it has some damage but fixable..
I've flown other members planes abit, But you know how that goes you
hate to get wild.. But I always say as they ask if I want to try it......
You know Sh_t happens..... I also flew a few trainers in checking and
trimming them for some trainees
Old 02-23-2005, 05:03 PM
  #1278  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Edwardsville, IL
Posts: 221
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

glad to hear it raideron! that is cool you got it running right.

brian
Old 02-24-2005, 03:54 PM
  #1279  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reykjavik, ICELAND
Posts: 28
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?


ORIGINAL: CeeGee

More fun flying today with the UCD. What a blast to fly. With my new Futaba 9C set on high rates this plane will do just about anything. Makes me look good at flying. Raideron - When I built this plane I put a Y harness in the same length that is mentioned in the build manual and it is way too long. The ends of the servo wires just stick out of the hole in the wing so a Y harness of only about 6" would work. I had shoved all the extra wires into the wing space so I'm wondering if that could be contributing to the rattle from the wing. My former instructor says it sounds like a snare drum. [:-] Also I'm noticing that the motor is transmitting quite a bit of vibration. I think I'm going to look into some way to isolate it. The vibration keeps breaking the wire going to the remote ignitor plug.[>:]
CeeGee.

Why not use the capabilities of the 9c?. Throw away the y-harnes and put the aileron servos on separate channels and use a flaperon mix. Then you should be able to program a 3-way switch for flaperon -off-spoileron positions. About 30 deg. spoilerons do a lot for harrier/elevator stability.
I just pull the extra length out of the wings and tuck them with the battery foam or somewhere out of the way of the throttle servo.
(Not personally familiar with the 9c but it should have these features? Use JR-X378 myself)
Old 02-24-2005, 04:11 PM
  #1280  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

bjorngl, You're exactly right with that point. I noticed in my 9C manual that that was an option but I just recently got the 9C and haven't had the time to go through all the manual yet. Thanks for pointing that out. I was just looking for a quick fix to keeping the wings from rattling so much. It's beginning to bug some of the other flyers at the club. Rob
Old 02-25-2005, 08:28 AM
  #1281  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (7)
 
hockeyrules99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Topeka, KS
Posts: 185
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Five-o boy
What size carbon fiber tube did you put on for control rods? did you use titanium fittings? Did you get them from tower or LHS? or else where? My U-can -do will be here today ...saito 82 and hitec 5625s are waiting to be picked up!
Thanks for the input
John
Old 02-25-2005, 11:24 AM
  #1282  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

hockeyrules99,
I use carbon fiber control rods on most of my planes including the UCD46. I think they are the only way to go to get precision "feel" on the airplane. On the UCD46 I used 5/32" carbon fiber rods with titanium ends 2-56. I get mine from Central Hobbies up in Montana. They are the "Worlds largest supplier of pattern equipment" and the worlds largest YS engine inventory. They are really a pretty good place to get stuff. Their phone number is 800-723-5937. The pushrod kits I used are CHMPRS24T2 and sell for $15.95/set. You'll find that you'll have more than enough rod but will need more rod ends. So you might order a coupled of sets of rod ends extra. CHMPRE24T2 is the part number and they sell for $8.95/set of 4. Central Hobbies also has a web site. www.centralhobbies.com but I find it a little awkward to use myself.
Thanks,
Barry
Old 02-25-2005, 11:38 AM
  #1283  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

CeeGee,
I use the Futaba 9C radio. I really like the radio but find it a little hard to program. One nice feature though, when you do get it programed correctly you can save the setup to your next model and not have to program it again. You then only have to "trim out" or maybe change one or two items.

You do not need the Y harness. I think the extra elevator is channel 7. Then you just activate channel 7 and you're good to go. You'll have to watch the rate and end points so the elevator halves move at the same speed and end at the same place. If you need it I can post all the channels for the UCD46 tonight when I get home and can look at my notes. Also, I would pull the wire out of your wings. It may actually cause a balance problem. Just zip tie the extra together and store it in the center of the plane. Also, I think you might have a prop balance problem. All the UCDs make a "druming" sound and it is nothing to worry about. I've flown them a lot and I've never had a problem with structrue. They do make noise but it is not distructive. But yours sounds excessive. I would be very care to rebalance your prop. I'll bet you find it off a little bit. With a perfectly balanced prop and the wire tied up snugly you'll find the noise isn't too bad.
Thanks,
Barry
Old 02-25-2005, 06:27 PM
  #1284  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
raideron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Mohave, AZ
Posts: 1,693
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Hi again people.. Still waiting on my 14X4w for the YS.. But did try the
PowerMaster 20/20, I did notice a difference.. Can't wait for the prop
now... I also "almost" worked out all the coupling towards the belly
but still working on the Ail.. I got it pretty much set except when I give
it full rudder... I made two circuits before needed more rudder and
when I gave it more I sort of lost it as she started rolling over.. But
all is going good.. I'm at 5' on Hovers, I'm still a little shakey when I
let it slip back lower.. But will get there.. I hope... For those that use
the YS engine... What fill system do you use??:-).... I also recieved my
YS-110....:-)) Got it off of the Marketplace here.... Can't wait to get
a plane for it....
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ec89512.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	83.5 KB
ID:	234784  
Old 02-25-2005, 06:58 PM
  #1285  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (7)
 
hockeyrules99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Topeka, KS
Posts: 185
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Barry, thanks for the information...Did you put carbon fib on ailerons as well? Well off to the basement to start assym.
Thanks again
John
Old 02-25-2005, 09:26 PM
  #1286  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Yes,
Thanks.

Barry
Old 02-26-2005, 09:32 AM
  #1287  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Barry, Thanks for all the info. I still haven't gotten around to taking the Y harness out and switching the servo to another channel but I will. I ordered a prop balancer and it will be here today. I think that is a big part of it. The thing I've noticed about the wing is that there is so much space between the ribs and that's what causes the "drumming". I wonder if it would be worth it to open the monokote and add ribs in between the spaces. (?) Definately take some time and add more weight. I sure love this plane. It is a kick to fly.
Old 02-26-2005, 10:42 AM
  #1288  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

No need to worry about all that. It isn't worth the effort or necessary. Just balance your prop the VERY best you can, make sure all the wire and any other loose ends are tight and not flopping around, and fly. It will always make a drumming sound. It is caused by the thick wing and tight monocote. Sorta like a.... a.... Drum. Just don't worry about the noise. When you get the prop balance I think much of the noise will go away. I don't even notice mine anymore. Maybe I'm just getting used to it. Also, make sure you don't fly to fast. This makes the noise worse and can be destructive. This is a slow flying 3D airplane. Keep it slow.
Thanks,
Barry
Old 02-26-2005, 12:27 PM
  #1289  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Thanks Barry. The noise doesn't bother me, just the other people at the field. Some have gotten used to it and don't say anything about it anymore. Then others that haven't seen it or another one fly come up and try to analize what it is or what's wrong with it. I just have to say "I know, I know." I think they think it's coming apart. Not many people down there fly 3D. Also, I don't ever fly it fast. I've read this post from the beginning page and found that out. I've got some thin Kevlar cord that I was going to beef up the tail with. Nice cord. It's only about .50 thick. I have a spool of about 1000 ft............... Rob
Old 02-28-2005, 05:58 PM
  #1290  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (7)
 
hockeyrules99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Topeka, KS
Posts: 185
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

ok here's a pic of the beginning....this model was full of wrinkles ....tookme a long time to get em all out...this pic is just before I finish installing the hinges to elevator..a sullivan tailwheel will be installed tonight.
John
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Yw67559.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	52.5 KB
ID:	236208  
Old 02-28-2005, 06:08 PM
  #1291  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
raideron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Mohave, AZ
Posts: 1,693
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

hockeyrules99, She looks to be coming around just great!!! Great Job!!
Just take you time and do all right the first time and she will treat you
well!!! Keep us updated...
Old 02-28-2005, 08:56 PM
  #1292  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Hockyrules99, Looks great. I bet you can't wait to get it into the air. Looks like from your picture you have an Ultra Stick 60. How do you like the stick? What engine are you putting in your UCD?
Old 03-01-2005, 07:39 AM
  #1293  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (7)
 
hockeyrules99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Topeka, KS
Posts: 185
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I maidened the ultra stick 60 on Sunday...did'nt fly it enough to get a great feel for it....need to rework the throttle linkage...anyway back to UCD...thanks for the comments..I'm taking my time with it..I will putting a Saito 82 on the nose of her..did get the control surfaces on the tail last night...ran out of time for the tail wheel[&o]. Where does the time go when you're working on these things huh?
Thanks
John
Old 03-01-2005, 12:38 PM
  #1294  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

In many ways the building is the best part. Dreaming about how good it's going to fly. Waying away the hours. This is a great hobby. Your plane is looking good. Makes me want to start building my 4th one. I better get on it. Afterall, only a month or two until the snow is gone and I can fly again. Anyways, great looking build. Take your time, do it right. You'll be glad you did. Make sure and double/triple check all servo screws, linkage, CA hinges, axles, etc. I've had several problems totally because I left something loose. Sometimes when you're building you say, "I'll get to that later" Later comes when your doing the repairs in the basement after crashing because you forgot to tighten the axle nuts.
Thanks,
Barry
Old 03-01-2005, 02:12 PM
  #1295  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Hockeyrules99, One thing to think about is when you start flying it, I would leave the cowling off for the first several flights. It's easier to adjust and tune the engine if you do and also with my Saito 82 it shut off on take off on about the 4th flight. It was about 20 ft. up and nosed it and broke the landing gear block and snapped off the engine mount. It would have destroyed the cowl. The engines aren't all that reliable when new. Just a thought......
Old 03-01-2005, 04:11 PM
  #1296  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: olathe, KS
Posts: 121
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Had two flights with my u-can-do with a new prop (apc 14x4w). Had a lot of fun with it! It will do anything that I ask of it(which is not very much at the moment LOL) Take offs are a little shorter and quicker. Started doing some very easy aerobatics with it until I started getting hits on the radio. Made for some very difficult flying. But I did get the plane down in one piece. I have the prop turning around 9500rpm with the magnum 70 FS. The manual says that it is rated for 12000 rpm. Has any one else used this engine and prop combo and what rpm are they turning at? I figured I would keep it below 10000rpm on the ground. Any body have any suggestions?
Old 03-01-2005, 04:30 PM
  #1297  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
raideron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Mohave, AZ
Posts: 1,693
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Hey goldenclan, The UCD is an easy flying plane, And floats great..
Just have fun with it.. She does fly well!! And land so easy!! Guys
at the field yells at me alot because instead of doing touch and goes
I come in just above stall and hold it there the lenght of the runway,
sort of a mini harrier.. Mains about 5" and tail about an inch and the
plane is just creeping down the runway.... I love it!!
I run a 14X4W on my Mag 91 4c..... I think 9500 is on the very low
end.... Maybe you should try a 13X4W to get your R's a little higher
IMO.... But I'm no expert.... Just what I would do...
Old 03-01-2005, 09:26 PM
  #1298  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (7)
 
hockeyrules99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Topeka, KS
Posts: 185
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Very good points!! I always go over everything twice, like all the little screws and misc. before a maiden..after it lands (hopefully under full control) I'll pull the wing off and go over everything again!!!! I'm sure it sounds like overkill...but I put far too much time (and money) to risk a crash on something I could have prevented!! I figure I have a hard enough time keeping them in the air with my thumbs I really don't need an extra challenge of trying to fly with something loose or falling off!!lol
Old 03-01-2005, 09:53 PM
  #1299  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
raideron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Mohave, AZ
Posts: 1,693
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

That's a great practice to get into and it WILL save you!! Don't forget
to tug on your flight surface, wheel collar's and condition of horns
and arms.. Can't beat a simple preflight check, It saved me a few
times on CA hinges and loose wheel collars.. My battery got me
once... If I can help it....Never again!! Have Fun!!!
Old 03-01-2005, 10:39 PM
  #1300  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: olathe, KS
Posts: 121
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I still have about 2 to 3 tanks left until I start leaning it out, still have lot and lots of smoke and oil coming out of it. looks like it has an on board smoke system on it!! This is my first 4 stroke that I have ever owned and I am hooked on them! I did go over the whole air craft after I got it home. All connection to the servos (extension etc.) have been heat shrinked, checked all of the hinges and I am going to pin them before the next flight. My friend and I found the left overs of a u-can-do .60 up in a tree about 15 feet, Found one of the ailerons about 30 ft from the impact sight and it looked like it separated in flight and may have been the caused of the crash. Finished cleaning up the debris and went on our way. My friend lost his twister the same day, was coming in to float down the run way about 10 to 15 feet and it rolled on its side and hit the ground nose first. Total loss on the plane.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.