Notices
Aerial Photography and Video Discuss the growing field of aerial photography and aerial video right here!

Eyecam power requirements

Old 12-09-2005, 11:41 PM
  #1  
Synapse
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: , SC
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Eyecam power requirements

Hey guys,

I've got the original Eyecam from rctoys.com that has what looks like a stereo jack for a power plug. The problem with it is that it weighs almost as much as the camera does. This is even more of an issue when you combine it with the male plug you have to use with it. The instructions with the camera stated that the cord shouldn't be replaced, but it didn't mention why. Well I took a look at it and it appears to be more than just a power plug... it takes 9v in from the supplied battery pack and delivers 5v to the camera, whose power range is from 4.8 - 7.2. I figured all it was doing was reducing the voltage, so I removed it, soldered on a JR lead, and plugged it into my RX (4.8v out). Now the camera will work for about 3-4 minutes and then turns off. Power cycling it doesn't help UNLESS I reconnect the original power plug back up to it, then it comes right back on.

So I guess my question is, has anyone replaced the original power plug on this camera before? Or does anyone just have some more information on what this power plug does / what the requirements of the camera are? Maybe some suggestions for things to test?

Thanks in advance!


-Lee
Old 12-10-2005, 03:57 AM
  #2  
Synapse
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: , SC
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Eyecam power requirements

nevermind... figured it out.
Old 12-17-2005, 07:25 PM
  #3  
Tim Holley
Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Booneville, MS
Posts: 81
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Eyecam power requirements

WELL , Let us know too !!!!
Old 12-17-2005, 11:21 PM
  #4  
Synapse
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: , SC
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Eyecam power requirements

Well, I'm embarrassed to say it, but it was a simple loose connection. Once that was resolved the camera worked fine with the 4.8v given out by the RX. whoops. :P

-lee
Old 12-18-2005, 12:56 AM
  #5  
kd7ost
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nampa, ID,
Posts: 402
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Eyecam power requirements

ORIGINAL: Synapse

Well, I'm embarrassed to say it, but it was a simple loose connection. Once that was resolved the camera worked fine with the 4.8v given out by the RX. whoops. :P

-lee
It's better off you found it on your own. Who knows what kind of crap we would have thought up to tell you.

Dan

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.