Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > Aerial Photography and Video
Reload this Page >

Remote Shutter Activation- Who Makes???

Notices
Aerial Photography and Video Discuss the growing field of aerial photography and aerial video right here!

Remote Shutter Activation- Who Makes???

Old 11-09-2006, 11:17 AM
  #1  
robotronski
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 467
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Remote Shutter Activation- Who Makes???

There is a company I recall that makes a dedicated interface that uses one RX channel to actuate the shutter directly on a digital camera.

No servo required, instead it sends a control signal via digital cable directly to the port located on the side of the camera.

They even have a list of cameras that are compatible with their system. (not universal with all makes and types)

For some reason I want to say they are located in Austrailia????

Any help would be appreciated ver much.

Thanks. Robo

Old 11-10-2006, 09:31 AM
  #2  
Foamaholic
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Foamaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Central Ohio, OH
Posts: 898
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Remote Shutter Activation- Who Makes???

Here's a link.

http://www.blip.com.au/
Old 11-10-2006, 09:37 AM
  #3  
robotronski
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 467
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Remote Shutter Activation- Who Makes???

YEAH !!!!

Thats the name I was trying to come up with. Such as simple name too.

Thanks so much for the info.

Now all I need to do is decide on whaich camera to buy.

Uggggggggghhhhhh...... [&o]
Old 11-10-2006, 11:41 AM
  #4  
lvspark
Senior Member
 
lvspark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: WALLA WALLA, WA,
Posts: 349
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Remote Shutter Activation- Who Makes???

Easy way is with a prisim switch from hexpert systems. It's an IR trigger compatible with most of the pentax optio line..
http://www.hexpertsystems.com/

Beside being quick and easy, you don't have to mod your camera and can still use it for other things..
Old 11-22-2006, 02:35 AM
  #5  
slacsteve
Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 46
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Remote Shutter Activation- Who Makes???

and http://www.gentles.info/KAP/gentled/
Old 11-29-2006, 06:21 PM
  #6  
BlipIt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: KewVic, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Remote Shutter Activation- Who Makes???

Hey Robotronski, did you decide on a camera?

The most popular one used by my customers with my Blip URBI (USB) interface is the Canon A620.
It has just been discontinued and replaced by the A640 thoug, but eBay is always an option.

For a cost effective solution, a Nikon P2 or P3 are good...and small!

Regards,
Ben
Old 11-30-2006, 03:14 AM
  #7  
harrysvr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: , WA, GREECE
Posts: 24
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Remote Shutter Activation- Who Makes???

Hi, I have a nikon 7900, I`ve done the xp test, I can photo from pc, so I think its compatible...
I would like to use it in my heli (r60v2) so does somebody have used the Blip URBI R/C system?
Old 11-30-2006, 10:21 AM
  #8  
wjglynn
Senior Member
 
wjglynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Topeka, KS
Posts: 166
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Remote Shutter Activation- Who Makes???

I tested a Nikon 3200 per their instruction and found that it worked also. I then tried to trigger the capture of a video with their test on that camera and the camera captured a still image instead of video. I have emailed them and asked for comments but as yet have not heard anything. I am mounting a Nikon 5400 on my plane and plan to automate its wired remote with small servos as I want to shoot both stills and video. The 5400 failed their usb test.

Bill
Old 12-01-2006, 04:38 PM
  #9  
Staudruck
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Concepcion, CHILE
Posts: 18
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Remote Shutter Activation- Who Makes???

Hello BlipIt,

is there any posibility to include userdata in the EXIF information of each foto? I would like to include GPS position, altitude, pan/tilt angle of the camara, roll/yaw/pitch angle of the aircraft in each foto to be able to ortho-rectify the images.

Best regards,

Frank
Old 12-02-2006, 06:49 PM
  #10  
giavonnie
Junior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: , NY
Posts: 26
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Remote Shutter Activation- Who Makes???

Hey check out these people I ordered one for my Nikon coolpix 4300 and it works great does shutter zoom and more works perfect.

[link]http://www.harbortronics.com/index.htm[/link]
Old 12-04-2006, 10:42 PM
  #11  
BlipIt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: KewVic, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Remote Shutter Activation- Who Makes???

The Nikon 7900 should be no problem. So far, any Nikon that passes my Windows XP test, will work fine.

Old 12-04-2006, 10:51 PM
  #12  
BlipIt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: KewVic, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Remote Shutter Activation- Who Makes???

Yes, the Harbortronics trigger will work with old Nikons which have a serial interface (new ones don't have it), but it costs a lot more than my interface (they charge $250 for unit with R/C interface). It is also about 5 times heavier than my URBI, AND my URBI works with a range of Canon cameras, too. I think I need to increase my prices!
Old 12-04-2006, 10:54 PM
  #13  
giavonnie
Junior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: , NY
Posts: 26
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Remote Shutter Activation- Who Makes???

Wow BLIP I wish I would have know about yours before I ordered mine Thanks for the info I will heavly consider yours the next time.

Giavonnie

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.