Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > Aerial Photography and Video
Reload this Page >

New to the hobby, first mount, think it will fly?

Community
Search
Notices
Aerial Photography and Video Discuss the growing field of aerial photography and aerial video right here!

New to the hobby, first mount, think it will fly?

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2006, 09:44 AM
daubut

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to the hobby, first mount, think it will fly?

Well I’m new to the hobby and after looking around on the forums I am definitely interested in getting into FPV flying and aerial photo/video. I have an old Nikon 4mp digital camera, the lcd screen went out. I decide to make a mount for it on one of my trainers. I have included a few pics of what I used and how I attached it to the fuselage. I know I have affected the CG by placing it off center and plan to use counter weighting to try to get the plane as balanced as possible. I have ordered a couple of extra servos for tilt feature and operating shutter button. I am going to try to keep the overall weight down to a minimum. The camera has it’s own battery, SD card for storage, and plenty of features to help the camera take different shots. It also has a built in mic and AV out, so I could hook up to a transmitter in future and get the video via RF to use for FPV flying or for a copilot to monitor and take shots. The plane I used was a cheap trainer with a 65” wingspan sporting an OS LA .46 swinging a 10X6 nylon prop. A little worried about vibration and if it seems to be a problem I will install an isolation mount to see if I can minimize the vibration.