Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Aerodynamics
Reload this Page >

Bi plane on center of gravity machine

Community
Search
Notices
Aerodynamics Discuss the physics of flight revolving around the aerodynamics and design of aircraft.

Bi plane on center of gravity machine

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2004, 12:00 AM
gbfan
My Feedback: (3)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Bi plane on center of gravity machine

Hi Guys
I have one question on how to balance my biplane. I have the original
1973 drawings of my biplane. So I know where the CG is but what I dont
know is, does it get balanced right side up or upside down. I am pretty sure
it gets balanced on the bottom wing .The fuel tank is forward from cg so it will be empty.

Thanks, gbfan

ps. dont get to technical, I am not a rocket scientist like some of you, keep it simple !!!
Old 05-13-2004, 12:17 AM
FHHuber
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Bi plane on center of gravity machine

If you are balancing it by a measurement on the lower wing... you do it inverted with the CG machine "legs" supporting the lower wing.

If the measurement is from the LE of the upper wing... then you do it upright and support by the upper wing.

Its possible to transfer the measurement from one wing to the other... But you have to be careful to have the aircraft in normal level flight attitude and move it vertically (this is not necessarrilly perpendicular to the 0-0-0 centerline of the aircraft... as that is not necessarilly the level flight attitude line).
Old 05-13-2004, 12:24 AM
combatpigg

Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts

HI GB FAN, If you look at the plane in the overhead view, you go from the forward most point of the forward wing to the rearward most point, [which ever wing that is] to determine the average chord. Then all you have to do is shoot a line 25% back from the L.E. to which ever wing you like to use as your reference point. Hope this makes sense. Your fine tuning will come from inflight experience.