Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Aerodynamics
Reload this Page >

Airfoil suggestion.

Notices
Aerodynamics Discuss the physics of flight revolving around the aerodynamics and design of aircraft.

Airfoil suggestion.

Old 10-25-2002, 01:31 PM
aubej
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Airfoil suggestion.

Hi guys,
I'm wondering what would be a good airfoil for a prop jet I would like to scratch build. I'm looking for something fast with good flight characteristics. This wing will be swept back. Any suggestions?
Thanks,
Jason
Old 10-25-2002, 02:02 PM
C5galaxy`

Do you have any background in aerodynamics? Dont mean to insult if I have.
Old 10-25-2002, 02:09 PM
aubej

No insult taken.
I'm a Mechanical Engineer. I studied Fluid Dynamics when I did my degree. Although that's been a while now.
Jason
Old 10-25-2002, 04:01 PM
Ollie

A fast airfoil has low drag at low lift coefficients of zero to 0.2. This usually calls for a thin airfoil. The airfoil has to have a high enough maximum lift coefficient to fly slowly for landings and takeoffs. How slowly and at what wing loading? The maximum lift coefficient will also determine how tightly the plane can turn at high speed without stalling.

Could you be more specific about what you mean by good flight characteristics? Stall resistant or easy stalling for spins and snap rolls? Inverted performance?

Why a swept wing planform since you won't be aproaching the speed of sound? Very few full scale planes use very much sweep back except to avoid compressibility problems (which models don't encounter). How much sweep did you have in mind?

Airfoil selection involves structural considerations too. The airfoil has to be thick enough to contain a spar that is strong and stiff enough. How many G's do you want to be able to pull? What aspect ratio did you have in mind?

It would help resolve conflicting objectives if you would prioritized your specific performance and handling goals.