Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Aerodynamics
Reload this Page >

convert flat bottom wing to semi elliptical

Notices
Aerodynamics Discuss the physics of flight revolving around the aerodynamics and design of aircraft.

convert flat bottom wing to semi elliptical

Old 07-15-2008, 12:34 PM
rickswl

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default convert flat bottom wing to semi elliptical

I have been flying my Eagle 2 for about two years, (when I want some gentile fun I pull it out) Unfortunately the wing got somewhat trashed in the garage. I would like to make the plane fly better upside down, and was thinking of making a new wing with semi elliptical instead of another flat bottom, without screwing up the flight mechanics very much. The cord is 11.5/8" with 63 inch wingspan and around 750 sq inches of wing area. the weight is about 5.5 lbs I read through the thread on airfoils and really got confused, I don't need a high tech wing. Any design would be concidered.

Thank you
Larry
Old 07-15-2008, 01:34 PM
Tall Paul

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: convert flat bottom wing to semi elliptical

What you are looking for is a semi-symmetrical airfoil, for a straight chord wing.
An elliptical wing would be something like you would see on a Spitfire.
A Clark-Y airfoil will let you do what you want, without changing much of anything on your plane.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn35747.jpg
Views:	383
Size:	11.5 KB
ID:	991159  
Old 07-15-2008, 01:50 PM
Craig-RCU