Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Aerodynamics
Reload this Page >

Why/ need answers.

Community
Search
Notices
Aerodynamics Discuss the physics of flight revolving around the aerodynamics and design of aircraft.

Why/ need answers.

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2009, 01:42 PM
TedMo

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Why/ need answers.

Without going into a major discourse on aerodynamics ( which I'm not qualified to do) I would like to get some answers on something I have wondered about for years. Simply stated, why does it appear that beginners are steered to fly 3 ch aircraft, rudder for turns,not also ailerons? I know for a fact that is far easier to maintain control and execute a turn with use of ailerons. I'm not a beginner so just wish to know this for my own satisfaction.
Old 01-31-2009, 02:13 PM
Scar
My Feedback: (3)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Why/ need answers.

ORIGINAL: TedMo

Without going into a major discourse on aerodynamics ( which I'm not qualified to do) I would like to get some answers on something I have wondered about for years. Simply stated, why does it appear that beginners are steered to fly 3 ch aircraft, rudder for turns,not also ailerons? I know for a fact that is far easier to maintain control and execute a turn with use of ailerons. I'm not a beginner so just wish to know this for my own satisfaction.
Two things :
1. If you don't want a lengthy discourse, don't post in the Aerodynamics forum.
2. Tradition. Early radios only had one channel, so they chose Rudder & designed around that. I think it's a stretch to say that is still where newcomers are "steered."

Good luck,
Dave Olson
Old 01-31-2009, 03:48 PM
TedMo