Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Aeroworks Vendor Forum
Reload this Page >

How did my 100cc yak come out to 30lbs?

Notices
Aeroworks Vendor Forum This is the place to go for all your questions concerning anything Aeroworks. Rocco, Mark, and the rest of the Aeroworks staff will be manning this forum so that they can answer all your questions.

How did my 100cc yak come out to 30lbs?

Old 12-13-2007, 03:23 PM
  #1  
FenderBean
Thread Starter
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Huntsville AL
Posts: 6,984
Likes: 0
Received 45 Likes on 31 Posts
Default How did my 100cc yak come out to 30lbs?

I didnt do anything that would add that much weight.

DA100 with cannisters 3blade mezjlik prop. One JR servo on rudder, hitecs on everything else. lith ion 5200 on servo and ignition. 2200 on receiver. mpi switches/regs and everything by the book
FenderBean is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 04:23 PM
  #2  
MR G
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 695
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How did my 100cc yak come out to 30lbs?

Weigh all of your batteries and post their weights.

MR G
MR G is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 04:57 PM
  #3  
FenderBean
Thread Starter
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Huntsville AL
Posts: 6,984
Likes: 0
Received 45 Likes on 31 Posts
Default RE: How did my 100cc yak come out to 30lbs?

there frameco batteries
FenderBean is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 06:10 PM
  #4  
krayzc-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (31)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kannapolis, NC
Posts: 7,415
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How did my 100cc yak come out to 30lbs?

u need to use the same scale everyone else uses to come in lighter or maybe u r just telling the truth
krayzc-RCU is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 06:35 PM
  #5  
3dd
My Feedback: (6)
 
3dd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: pyote, TX
Posts: 953
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How did my 100cc yak come out to 30lbs?

canisters and headers and three blade prop= pounds
3dd is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 11:04 PM
  #6  
FenderBean
Thread Starter
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Huntsville AL
Posts: 6,984
Likes: 0
Received 45 Likes on 31 Posts
Default RE: How did my 100cc yak come out to 30lbs?

yeah but not three pounds for all that stuff the cans are light, the prop weights more lol.
Well what is other peoples weight?
FenderBean is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 11:40 PM
  #7  
RVBlack
My Feedback: (27)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alliance, NE
Posts: 182
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How did my 100cc yak come out to 30lbs?


ORIGINAL: krayzc-RCU

u need to use the same scale everyone else uses to come in lighter or maybe u r just telling the truth
now that there is funny
RVBlack is offline  
Old 12-14-2007, 01:22 AM
  #8  
sweetpea01
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lebanon OH
Posts: 3,349
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How did my 100cc yak come out to 30lbs?

That is about right.

My AW 260 came in about 29.5 lbs with a 3W106/pefa cans/alum spinner (2 blade)/mej prop/(2) 4800 LIONS and (1) 2400 lion and all the radio gear.

But this is with the stock gear, wingtube, stab tube and no mods to lighten it up.


Fly it........it will be just fine at that weight....... You obviously are not planning hardcore 3-D with that 3 blade so I'm assuming its for IMAC or because your field requires low noise.


If your that worried about weight.......go to 2400's instead of the 5200's and get carbon gear/wing/stab tubes


But unless you live in Colorado.........quite worring about the weight
sweetpea01 is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 01:15 PM
  #9  
FenderBean
Thread Starter
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Huntsville AL
Posts: 6,984
Likes: 0
Received 45 Likes on 31 Posts
Default RE: How did my 100cc yak come out to 30lbs?

I know 3 blade is imac but I still like 3D and you can still do light 3D with 3 blade just not as crisp. Im not hard core pro if thats what you mean, if I need 2 blade punch I will swap for hard 3D.
FenderBean is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 06:46 PM
  #10  
flatlandmike
My Feedback: (17)
 
flatlandmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: lexington, KY
Posts: 1,228
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How did my 100cc yak come out to 30lbs?

hey man, sorry your plane isnt were you want it to be with respect to weight. Post some pics of the insides and all over the out side. Also post all the parts used and i along with others here will find some onces that will add up to pounds weight savings you can do. With canisters i would only expect realistly to get this plane down to ~28 pounds so dont expect miracles.
flatlandmike is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 09:33 AM
  #11  
bodywerks
My Feedback: (4)
 
bodywerks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Elgin, AZ
Posts: 3,875
Received 58 Likes on 53 Posts
Default RE: How did my 100cc yak come out to 30lbs?

Aeroworks weight claims are based an minimal equipment. Minimal equipment is a power system (ignition included) of 1 pound or less, like three 2600 Fromecos and regulators. The weight of a power box or extra receiver is not considered, the weight of a pilot is not considered, the weight of a choke servo is not considered, the weight of a smoke system is not considered, the weight of cans is not considered, the weight of a 3-blade CF prop is not considered. Beyond that, certain custom graphics, particularly those fancy metalic-looking ones, can add a noticeable amount of weight. If you used up an ounce of glue to beef up some joints, that adds weight. Sure it's only an ounce, but an ounce nonetheless.
27-28 pounds is the minimal equipment, allowing fudge factor for different weights of wood used during construction. So take that weight range and add 1.2 pounds for the cans, another 5-6 ounces for the 3-blade CF prop, and another 7 ounces for your dual 5200's and you are within that weight range.
Also, if this is a new kit, the wood might still have some water weight in it. Don't laugh - my friend lost 3/4lb on a 33% SD Yak after reweighing the plane 2 months later.
Pictures of your equipment install would be nice...
bodywerks is offline  
Old 12-19-2007, 04:42 AM
  #12  
yakman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brisbane, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 159
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How did my 100cc yak come out to 30lbs?

Did you take it to Maccas?
yakman is offline  
Old 02-05-2008, 08:06 PM
  #13  
TXDA2000
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
TXDA2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Middle of Nowhere, TX,
Posts: 123
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How did my 100cc yak come out to 30lbs?

Mine weighs 28.5 without batteries or recievers. Standard mufflers, no spinner.

It will come in over 30 lbs.
TXDA2000 is offline  
Old 02-17-2010, 07:51 PM
  #14  
capt1597
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: toledo OH / sturgeon bay WIS
Posts: 370
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: How did my 100cc yak come out to 30lbs?

wrong thread
capt1597 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.