RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Aeroworks Vendor Forum (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/aeroworks-vendor-forum-528/)
-   -   Which engine for Extra 300 - 100cc (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/aeroworks-vendor-forum-528/9311603-engine-extra-300-100cc.html)

Agilefalcon 12-07-2009 05:35 PM

Which engine for Extra 300 - 100cc

OK, I know we all have opinions: And this is probably a question that you may have asked yourself at times also.

Which engine should I get for my new Aeroworks Extra 300?

3W - 110 CS

or...

DA 100L

I know there is a difference in weights, but I think either would be suitable. The 3W is heavier but has more power, the DA is lighter and that has some advantages by itself?

Also, at the IMAC events I have attended, there were a lot more DA engines than 3W, so I also like to do something a little different from the crowd, but not stray to far from the norm since I am just now starting IMAC (I'm an experienced pilot though of fixed and rotary wing models).

Is there anything that would definitely cut one of the engines out? This is for IMAC, but I'll also have a program set up for 3D, but IMAC is the main purpose.

Chris.

phantomdriver 12-07-2009 06:40 PM

RE: Which engine for Extra 300 - 100cc

My 2 cents get the DA! Customer service is local & good.
I'm running (2) 50cc in a 540 & 260 Aeroworks and the
performance is very good & reliable. I'll be doing a da100
this winter myself. I've heard the 3W is a good motor but
I would be concerned about customer service & parts
availabilty.

smarks 12-07-2009 07:01 PM

There is a reason that most of the engines you see at IMAC contests are DA. Enough said. :D

Agilefalcon 12-07-2009 07:13 PM

Thanks for you input guys.
I think perhaps local (DA) is the way to go.

Jake Ruddy 12-07-2009 09:06 PM

I have flown one with a DA 100L and stock mufflers on it.. more than enough power. No need for the extra power and weight.

JOHNS3D 12-07-2009 09:31 PM