Notices
Airtronics Support Forum Ask any questions you may have about Airtronics radios and product here and get answers direct from the Airtronics Team.

Airtronics Spectra Battery

Old 10-14-2010, 11:18 AM
  #1  
craigm1
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Highland, NY
Posts: 26
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Airtronics Spectra Battery

I have 2 Spectra PCM radios and 3 receivers and decided to put them all to good use, so I'd like to see if the batteries are worthwhile or should I invest in new ones. Does anyone have a suggestion on cycling the battery? It appears that in one of the radios there may be a diode or something preventing me from discharging it through the normal charge jack. If it's not possible through the charge jack, can it be done through the connector that connects to the radio and what would I use to connect to that?
Lastly, if I were to buy a new battery, what would I get... 2- 4 cell packs without a connector and then solder them?
Thanks,
Craig
P.S. Because of the age of these radios, there isn't too much info in these forums, so any tips or suggestions would be appreciated...it seems like a really good radio with a lot of capabilities for a single plane.
Old 10-14-2010, 11:21 AM
  #2  
craigm1
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Highland, NY
Posts: 26
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Airtronics Spectra Battery

One more thing...the throttle on one of the radios clicks, the other doesn't...is it easy to change the behavior (I think my RDS8000 clicks)?
Old 10-14-2010, 04:40 PM
  #3  
ChrisVerano
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Airtronics Spectra Battery

Craig,

There were 2 versions of the battery for the Spectra, one version had a diode in it that prevented discharging. To discharge that battery the diode has to be bypassed.
In regards to the ratcheting in the throttle stick, the Spectra does have the ratcheting sticks. The plate in the transmitter that creates that "clicking" may have worn out.

Chris

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.