Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > AMA Discussions
Reload this Page >

Waiting for Jan. 2011

Notices
AMA Discussions Discuss AMA policies, decisions & any other AMA related topics here.

Waiting for Jan. 2011

Old 09-27-2010, 06:31 AM
tomflys2

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Waiting for Jan. 2011

Just as an introduction. My name is Tom and I am fairly new to this hobby. However - having been a Ham radio guy for over a decade - when Ipurchased my first plane (piece of crap but it flew) - I knew that there was an RCfield that belongs to the local club here located less than a half mile form my house. Iwent there and introduced myself and began asking questions about radio interference and what frequencies the locals were using there. Luckily - most all of them are using 2.4Ghz and only a couple of members still use FM. Iwas concerned because (being a Ham) Ididn't want to interfere with anyone's aircraft if they were using the frequencies near my Ham radio 6 meter (52Mhz).

Anyway - lest Idigress even further - My subject for this is "Waiting for Jan. 2011". Given the state of our current economy and the fact that Ihave been unemployed since the beginning of this mess (Nov. 2008) - Ihad to sell some of my older Ham gear so that Icould try to get into this hobby. For the time being - Ihave no intention of going for large scale aircraft or even Nitro or Gas much less jet propulsion. That first plane Imentioned is/was (it's mostly in a state of repair) plastic and a covered foam wing but I will be building my first foamy next week and have a PNPCessna 182 coming to provide a little "real" plane feel to things.