Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets > Turbine Clinic > AMT Netherlands
 What battery goes in AMT external data terminal? >

What battery goes in AMT external data terminal?

Notices
AMT Netherlands Get support for AMT Netherlands products here.

What battery goes in AMT external data terminal?

Old 04-14-2012, 11:28 AM
  #1  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (114)
 
txshan130's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 580
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default What battery goes in AMT external data terminal?

Hi,

I just bought an AMT EDT off of RC Groups...unfortunately it came in bad shape and with no battery....the battery plug looks like a standard 9v battery. Can anyone confirm this? I didn't want to hook up a 9v and mess it up!

Also looking for the manual for the EDT if anyone has one...

Thx, Brian
Old 04-14-2012, 11:57 AM
  #2  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Arnhem, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 39
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What battery goes in AMT external data terminal?

Hi,

Yes, it's a standard 9V block battery if there is space, cut out of PCB, under the LCD .

Regards,

Ray
AMT Netherlands
Electronic Designer<br type="_moz" />
Old 04-14-2012, 12:55 PM
  #3  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pierantonio Umbertide, ITALY
Posts: 68
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What battery goes in AMT external data terminal?

hi Brian............. can I use 2s lipo battery???
Old 04-14-2012, 03:23 PM
  #4  
My Feedback: (4)
 
Dr Honda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 2,326
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What battery goes in AMT external data terminal?

wouldn't. There is no protection in the electronics to keep the LiPo from over draining. Also, as I recall... there is an internal charging circuit for the 9v, and that could cause a fire with the LiPo.
Old 04-15-2012, 03:13 PM
  #5  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (114)
 
txshan130's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 580
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: What battery goes in AMT external data terminal?

Thx...got it working!
Old 04-25-2013, 03:27 PM
  #6  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pierantonio Umbertide, ITALY
Posts: 68
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What battery goes in AMT external data terminal?

Hi guys...... only 1 question.......... I'd like to use an external 2s 400mha lipo battery for EDT, does it work??
Old 04-26-2013, 07:42 AM
  #7  
My Feedback: (22)
 
LGM Graphix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
Posts: 5,800
Received 59 Likes on 41 Posts
Default RE: What battery goes in AMT external data terminal?


ORIGINAL: GIOMBO

Hi guys...... only 1 question.......... I'd like to use an external 2s 400mha lipo battery for EDT, does it work??

That question was already answered in this thread. Ray said No, there is no circuit to provide over draining the battery, also, the EDT allows charging the battery through the EDT, but that's based on a 9V battery. The 9V batteries last for years in the EDT, why complicate what works?

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.