Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets > Turbine Clinic > AMT Netherlands
 Can A123 bats be used with Version 2 Airstart ECU >

Can A123 bats be used with Version 2 Airstart ECU

Notices
AMT Netherlands Get support for AMT Netherlands products here.

Can A123 bats be used with Version 2 Airstart ECU

Old 01-21-2009, 11:27 PM
  #1  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (24)
 
Tom Antlfinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Fond du Lac, WI
Posts: 2,234
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can A123 bats be used with Version 2 Airstart ECU

Hi Bennie or Mark:

Can 3S1P A123 battery 2300maH (nominal 9.9v or about 10.8v fresh of the charger) be used with my Airstart Mercury HP with Version 2 ECU, or would a 4S1P 2300maH pack at about 13.2 nominal be better? Do I need to change anything in the menu, to change from the 10 Cell Nicad I have used, to the A123.

Engine #8N1010
Hardware: 2.13
Software: not sure of the letter after the 2 but looks like 2q D.

Also, I lost Bennie's email from a while back and can't remember whether Bennie uses 100/50% or 100/75% throttle ATV when setting up the failsafe. If you guys could run thru the failsafe setup sequence, I would appreciate it.

Thanks in advance....

Tom
Old 01-23-2009, 08:55 AM
  #2  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (24)
 
Tom Antlfinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Fond du Lac, WI
Posts: 2,234
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Can A123 bats be used with Version 2 Airstart ECU


Thanks for the answer via email, Bennie. For others to note, Bennie will supply information about adjusting the min/max voltages that the ECU uses to authorize a start, as well as steps to adjust the glow plug voltage for the different battery packs, i.e. 10 cell NiCd, 3 cell Lithium, or A123.
He also has a PDF file for setting up the ECU for 2 sec failsafe delay.
Old 04-29-2009, 03:56 PM
  #3  
My Feedback: (118)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 93
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Can A123 bats be used with Version 2 Airstart ECU

Hi there.... I'd like to know the answer(s) to all the questions as well. I am looking at using a A123 3 or 4 cell for my ECU on my Pegasus HP air start.
Here is my engine info.

Engine #NL 2446
Hardware: 2.09
Software: v 20 d

Thanks in advance!!!
Tony D.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.