Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > ARF or RTF
Reload this Page >

Black Horse Models Pitts 1/4 Scale

Notices
ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

Black Horse Models Pitts 1/4 Scale

Old 04-23-2011, 08:10 AM
bps
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Black Horse Models Pitts 1/4 Scale

I took advantage of a Hobby People sale this past winter and purchased a 1/4 scale Pitts arf by Black Horse Models. These planes are well covered and the construction apears to be above average. I rarely build arfs but this one caught my attention and being a full scale pilot my aviation heart as well. After a few months of this plane setting on my workbench ready to assemble while I considered the power plant I wanted to use, I have come to a decission. The DLE 30cc will be the one. I have a set of giant scale plans for a Nosen 310 and two DLE 30cc motors will be needed. This seemed to make the choice for the Pitts just a bit easier!

Here are some pictures of the installation of the DLE in this Pitts. I am going to look at a Pitts syle after market muffler as well. Maybe I will not have to cut out large holes inthe fiberglass cowl that comes with this kit. The firewall and surrounding structure will need some work as well, I just wanted to share the process here so that others considering the same project and or power plant could see how I am going about this. Maybe someone could improve this after looking at this conversion.

Also a picture of my landing gear and wheel pant construction. The kit method is poor at best. I have secured the pants on both sides of the axle with wheel collars and on the outer ones I have soldered a small piece of brass to accept sheet metal screws. Not high tech but secure.

More later.

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	ig11755.jpg
Views:	392
Size:	653.2 KB
ID:	1597851   Click image for larger version

Name:	xv65675.jpg
Views:	334
Size:	522.4 KB