Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > ARF or RTF
Reload this Page >

Is This Gonna Cause a Tip Stall on T/O?

Notices
ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

Is This Gonna Cause a Tip Stall on T/O?

Old 08-23-2022, 11:05 AM
GorillaToast

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Is This Gonna Cause a Tip Stall on T/O?

The plane is a Seagull Super Decathlon 120 ARF, 79" WS.

The left wing reads 0.0 both at the root and tip. I can twist it forward at the tip to get it to read 0.0, but I'll need to enlist the aid of my wife to do it while I try to shrink the covering on the bottom of the wing enough that it holds.
I'm an intermediate pilot and this is my first Decathlon. I've read that they are notorious for stalling and torque rolling on takeoff. I normally do long, low takeoffs, so I'm confident I have that aspect of the problem covered. One guy reported he thought he had all his ducks in a row and still flipped it over to an untimely death. Someone suggested he might have had a warped wing.

I know the little down arrow on the gauge makes it look like it's reading 1.3* of washout, but the angle line to the left of the arrow shows the meter is angled up, not down. I think the arrow is to show you which way to move the meter to get to 0.0.

Any thoughts?
Thanks.

Old 08-23-2022, 04:22 PM
cyclops2

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

I never had slow speed stalls. I fly with plenty of nose heavy COG at first. I even do hand tosses in dense 3 foot Orchard Grass. I fly smaller planes so stalls & damage are very rare. Until I get too daring, Stretching a dead engined wet fuel plane is a risky one.
Old 08-24-2022, 08:04 AM
mgnostic

Received 28 Likes on 25 Posts