Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > ARF or RTF
Reload this Page >

Kangke Waco Biplane

Notices
ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

Kangke Waco Biplane

Old 12-17-2012, 08:41 AM
  #626  
rstekeur
Member
 
rstekeur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ft myers, FL
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane



Does the Waco need Hi torque servos or can I use Futaba S3004's and maybe a Hi torque on the rudder?

Old 12-17-2012, 08:55 AM
  #627  
Twin_Flyer
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Westhampton Beach, NY
Posts: 859
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

Mine is still in its shipping box. Too many projects and a move got in the way.

If you look at the weight of a nitro engine and add the fuel you need to carry combined, it makes the gassers a lot more loveable.

I'm working on a CG ultimate now with a DLE 20. I only plan on carrying a 10 oz. fuel tank (on the CG) vs. the 16 once my YS120 had. Plus if you use a LiFe battery for the ignition as they are light. Another option would be to use a battery eliminator and run the ignition off the RX battery. they are designed to not allow RF noise from the battery into the RX so there is another way to save a few ounces. if the balance is an issue, install the servos in the rear of the plane to offset it.

Now that Evolution has the new 10CC gas engine, I am waiting to hear some real world results. More plans that can be converted if the results are good, not to mention an even smaller fuel use!

Bill S.
Old 12-17-2012, 09:07 AM
  #628  
rstekeur
Member
 
rstekeur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ft myers, FL
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane



I found that I have to be carefull with the gas or I'll never hear the end of it. I broght my hellcat to field this last sat to tune the engine and I forgot to de-fuel it so when I got home a little came out the vent line and thats all I heard from the wife is "that thing stinks" 

Old 12-17-2012, 09:37 AM
  #629  
Twin_Flyer
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Westhampton Beach, NY
Posts: 859
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

Put a few loops in the vent line near the tank. That should help keep it in the tank when its upside down or being worked on.

However, its not a bad idea to defuel anyway when your done for the day, and run the engine so the carbs dry. Couldn't hurt!

Bill S.
Old 12-17-2012, 02:28 PM
  #630  
JL1
Senior Member
My Feedback: (93)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mason, MI
Posts: 874
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

My Waco has an HS 605 (76 in/oz) on the rudder and 4 HS 425's on the ailerons. It weighs 16 pounds ready to go with dual batteries and switches for battery backup.
These servos have adequate thrust but I do not do 3D. Rolls, loops, Knife edge, spins and snap rolls and hammerhead stalls are my basic routine.
My fuel (Klotz oil and Alky) costs about $2-$3 per gallon for Alky ( Depends on where and when you buy it ) and the last time I bought oil it was $12 per quart. You only use 80% of a quart so my oil cost was Approx $10 per gallon. I have a lot of Mokis so I buy oil in case lots
I love the engines as they have lots of power after break in (3-5 hours for complete break in) and seem to be dead reliable. I have had one flame out in 10 years of flying them and that was when I installed the wrong plug.

I'm not trying to sell or promote anything, I just like the engines.
Old 12-18-2012, 05:43 AM
  #631  
rstekeur
Member
 
rstekeur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ft myers, FL
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

JL1, did you use a HS 425 on the elevator also? Has anyone used the Spektrum A6000 servos? there 90oz .14sec for about $24 each?
Old 12-18-2012, 06:39 AM
  #632  
Twin_Flyer
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Westhampton Beach, NY
Posts: 859
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

Where do you get your Alky?

All the race tracks around me have closed so as far as I know, there is no local source.

Bill S.
Old 12-18-2012, 06:57 AM
  #633  
JL1
Senior Member
My Feedback: (93)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mason, MI
Posts: 874
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

rstekeur, the elevators are powered by 2 HS 545 servos
Old 12-18-2012, 07:10 AM
  #634  
JL1
Senior Member
My Feedback: (93)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mason, MI
Posts: 874
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

Twin flyer, you may have to shop around a bit. Here are places I know of that may have it.
Karting supply shops, chemical supply companies ( may not sell in small quatities less than 55 gallon drums) , performance automotive retailers and shops, agriculteral fuel supply facilities, bulk fuel suppliers, performance engine builders to name a few.
If the chemical supply companies won't sell in small quantities they might tell you if some of their customers will.
Good luck'
Old 12-20-2012, 05:54 PM
  #635  
rstekeur
Member
 
rstekeur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ft myers, FL
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

The Waco arrived today, it is a nice arf. Anyone do a scale cockpit for it?
Old 12-21-2012, 03:58 AM
  #636  
JL1
Senior Member
My Feedback: (93)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mason, MI
Posts: 874
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

Here is the best way to set up your Waco, it really saves on Gas or Glow fuel. http://www.pilotbug.com/archives/2741

[img][/img]
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Rp42487.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	48.9 KB
ID:	1832499  
Old 12-21-2012, 06:19 AM
  #637  
rstekeur
Member
 
rstekeur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ft myers, FL
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

You mean with a jet engine? I wonder why Kangkedecided to make the nose so long? Maybe I could strap about a dozen Estes rocket engines on it. lol
Old 12-21-2012, 06:49 AM
  #638  
JL1
Senior Member
My Feedback: (93)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mason, MI
Posts: 874
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

I bought mine at the Toledo show and I had a chance to talk to the designer. I noted the long nose and he said that his intention was a performance aircraft patterned after the Franklin plane but compromises were made in the interest of good flying qualities. When you fly this bird I think you will see what he meant. It is a really great flyer and, in my
case, it is my favorite.
By the way, my son and I had a "deal". he said if I ever found a Franklin Waco he would buy the Turbine. I'm still waiting
Old 12-21-2012, 07:22 AM
  #639  
SitNFly
Senior Member
My Feedback: (54)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Four Corners
Posts: 701
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

This is a nice plane but who carries Kangke anymore?
Old 12-21-2012, 07:38 AM
  #640  
rstekeur
Member
 
rstekeur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ft myers, FL
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

kangkeusa.com there listed for $499 but on sale for $449. I got mine from someone on RCG, it was never started. I needed another plane like a hole in the head, but it was a deal I couldn't pass up. I just got done building a H9 Hellcat with a dle20 that I haven't flown yet
Old 12-21-2012, 07:48 AM
  #641  
rstekeur
Member
 
rstekeur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ft myers, FL
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

JL1 I see your using a HS 605 on the rudder, is that working ok? In the manual they recomend a 90oz servo on the rudder. Sounds like your flying abilities are ahead of mine. I'm doing loops, rolls, and landing in 1 piece, but love every minute of it.
Old 12-21-2012, 08:05 AM
  #642  
JL1
Senior Member
My Feedback: (93)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mason, MI
Posts: 874
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

rstekeur, the 605 is adequate but barely. I have been going to put a stronger one in but just haven't got around to it.
Landing in one piece ! how do I do that ?
I should have put the word "attempted" in front of my list. Often times they are more of an attempt than an accomplisment.
Old 12-21-2012, 08:09 AM
  #643  
rstekeur
Member
 
rstekeur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ft myers, FL
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

Have you ever used a spektrum a6000 there listed at 90oz at 6v and are $23.99. I haven't, I'm still tring to decide on servo's that won't break the bank
Old 12-21-2012, 08:12 AM
  #644  
JL1
Senior Member
My Feedback: (93)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mason, MI
Posts: 874
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

I have not used them, my servos are mostly Hitec with some Futaba and Jr's in the mix.
Old 12-21-2012, 04:31 PM
  #645  
rstekeur
Member
 
rstekeur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ft myers, FL
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

Can anyone tell me what the wing lock looks like that goes in the top wing, the instructions are very vauge
Old 12-21-2012, 04:44 PM
  #646  
rstekeur
Member
 
rstekeur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ft myers, FL
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane



Reading back it looks like some people glued the top wing halfs together. that would seem a little safer to me. Is it reccomended with a gas motor

Old 12-22-2012, 11:19 AM
  #647  
apalsson
My Feedback: (1)
 
apalsson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Coffs Harbour NSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,306
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane


ORIGINAL: rstekeur

Can anyone tell me what the wing lock looks like that goes in the top wing, the instructions are very vauge
I didn't bother with it and fixed the wing halfs together with epoxy
The 40cc landed the plane right on correct CG with no extra weights to balance the plane. More than enough power swinging a 22x10 prop
Old 12-22-2012, 04:35 PM
  #648  
Twin_Flyer
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Westhampton Beach, NY
Posts: 859
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

Any prop clearance issues with that 40 CC?

What size tank do you run?

Also, as someone else suggested not to use a standard tank with a gas stopper but rather a gas specific tank, what brand did you go with? Cant say I ever had anyone else mention not using a gas stopper style, but I am new to this type of fuel so, doesn't hurt to ask and learn!

Thanks
Bill S.
Old 12-22-2012, 04:58 PM
  #649  
apalsson
My Feedback: (1)
 
apalsson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Coffs Harbour NSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,306
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

Hi Bill,

I used the stock tank but replaced the stopper because I wasn't too sure about the included one.
I have plenty ground clearance because I stiffened up that soft landing gear
Old 12-22-2012, 05:45 PM
  #650  
rstekeur
Member
 
rstekeur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ft myers, FL
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane



I want to replace the aluminum tubes with brass or copper lines so I can solder the small barbs on the ends to keep the fuel lines from coming off, I didn't have any luck trying to solder the aluminum lines. I'm new with gas, but I've read the fuel lines expand with age and can come off the lines. Has anyone tried a 3 blade prop for clearance?


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.